Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
KDE 4.12 unusable after fresh install (solved?)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Spanik
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Dec 2003
Posts: 454
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2015 9:14 pm    Post subject: KDE 4.12 unusable after fresh install (solved?) Reply with quote

OK, I installed on a blank SSD, from scratch. Followed the handbook, only stable packages. Installed the Gentoo base install, xorg-drivers, xorg-server (twm and xterm to test X) and then kdebase-meta.

Profile is "default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop/kde"

Make looks like this

Code:
# These settings were set by the catalyst build script that automatically
# built this stage.
# Please consult /usr/share/portage/config/make.conf.example for a more
# detailed example.
CFLAGS="-march=native -O2 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"
# WARNING: Changing your CHOST is not something that should be done lightly.
# Please consult http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/change-chost.xml before changing.
CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
# These are the USE flags that were used in addition to what is provided by the
# profile used for building.
MAKEOPTS="-j5"
USE="bindist mmx sse sse2 X alsa audiofile caps cdparanoia cups dbus dvd dvb dvdr exif flac fftw ffmpeg ieee1394 imagemagick kde ladspa mp3 mp4 nptl ogg -oss pdf -portaudio posix -pulseaudio scanner -semantic-desktop -systemd tiff -wayland xine ssl"
VIDEO_CARDS="nouveau"
INPUT_DEVICES="evdev"
PORTDIR="/usr/portage"
DISTDIR="${PORTDIR}/distfiles"
PKGDIR="${PORTDIR}/packages"

GENTOO_MIRRORS="ftp://ftp.uni-erlangen.de/pub/mirrors/gentoo"

SYNC="rsync://rsync15.de.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage"


Prior to kdebase-meta I emerged dbus and added it to default. Also emerged polkit before I ran kdebase-meta. Had some trouble with Perl needing XML::Parser and at-spi2-core but managed to get through that.

If I start kdm I get the loginscreen as usual:
http://users.skynet.be/sb262617/forum_gentoo/login.JPG

Login goes fine but the desktop looks like this:

http://users.skynet.be/sb262617/forum_gentoo/desktop.JPG

I don't have any taskbar excpt a little corner at the left.

But when I click on that part I get this:

http://users.skynet.be/sb262617/forum_gentoo/click_taskbar.JPG

And a right click on the desktop brings up this:

http://users.skynet.be/sb262617/forum_gentoo/right_click.JPG

To check if the problem was with KDE or X I emerged LXDE and this starts withtout a problem. (just wrong keymap)

http://users.skynet.be/sb262617/forum_gentoo/lxde.JPG

So the problem is clearly with KDE. But I don't have any idea where to look. So far KDE always worked directly if X worked. But now X is directly well configured, resolution is correct, mouse and keyboard work etc.
_________________
Expert in non-working solutions


Last edited by Spanik on Thu Mar 05, 2015 8:03 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i92guboj
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 10306
Location: Córdoba (Spain)

PostPosted: Wed Mar 04, 2015 11:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd try removing ~/.kde*, and whatever else is related to kde under ~/.local and ~/.config (or just try with a newly created user to be sure).

Otherwise, I can't really suggest anything. I've been away from kde for some time now. But dealing with leftovers from old versions has never been a strength of it.
_________________
Gentoo Handbook | My website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Spanik
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Dec 2003
Posts: 454
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Thu Mar 05, 2015 8:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Removing those didn't change anything.

I tried to open the "System settings" and managed to navigate through a very broken visual display. But the underlying entries seemed to work. I managed to get to "desktop effects" and after disabling all of them (which I do anyway) I got a bit better. So I went further in this entry and changed on the "advanced" tab the "Compositing type" from "OpenGL 2.0" to "Xrender" and suddenly everything went normal.

So it is "solved" but I'm not very confident why.
_________________
Expert in non-working solutions
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i92guboj
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 10306
Location: Córdoba (Spain)

PostPosted: Thu Mar 05, 2015 8:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh, then it was video corruption.

It was hard to tell by the screenshot but I am glad you found it.

The nouveau driver is quite unstable for me. So unstable that it is hardly usable (and I don't use compositing).
_________________
Gentoo Handbook | My website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum