Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Screen resolution change
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
catchpole
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Sep 2014
Posts: 103
Location: Leeds UK

PostPosted: Sun Mar 01, 2015 1:33 pm    Post subject: Screen resolution change Reply with quote

I wanted to change the resolution of my monitor. The maximum available in the settings is 1024 x768.
My monitor has better reslolutions available but I can't see them.

So I tried following the Xorg Configuration at:
http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Xorg/Configuration
I changed the /usr/scr/linux/make menuconfig to account for an NVIDIA video card although there were no specific cards listed.

My card is:
Quote:
VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation NV5 [Riva TNT2 Model 64 / Model 64 Pro] (rev 15)


I tried the suggested command "nvidia-xconfig but got an error "-bash: nvidia-xconfig: command not found.

After a reboot the maximum resolution was still the same.

It was suggested to emerge xrandr to find the available screen resolution so I did that and got an error which I don't understand:

Quote:
It might be possible to slove this slot collision by applying all of the following changes:
- x11-libs/libdrm-2.4.58 (Change USE: +video_cards_radeon +video_cards_intel)

What do I do with it? How do I apply this change?


I understand the next error. just add the flag to the "package.use" file.
Quote:
The following USE changes are necessary to proceed:
(see "package.use" in the portage(5) man page for more details)
#required by x11-drivers/xf86-video-vmware-13.0.1-r1
#required by @preserved-rebuild (argument)
=x11-libs/libdrm-2.4.58 video_cards_vmware


I don't know what to do with the following information>
Quote:
Use --autounmask-write to write changes to config files (honoring CONFIG_PROTECT).
Carefully examine the list of proposed changes, paying special attention to mask or keyword changes that may expose experimental or unstable packages.


I think I've got myself into a bit of a mess (again)
Its harder to learn when your 70 years old. (That's my excuse!)
_________________
Noob
With experience of Mint and trying to learn more by intalling Gentoo
Motherboard = MS-7211- MICRO-STAR INTERNATIONAL CO., LTD
CPU = Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.80GHz version: 15.4.9
Memory = 2GB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 6972
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sun Mar 01, 2015 2:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

First, you need to fix your /etc/portage/make.conf. Make sure there is an entry
Code:
VIDEO_CARDS="nouveau vesa"
Then run
Code:
emerge -a --depclean
I believe it will clean out unused graphics drivers. Then proceed with
Code:
emerge -1 x11-drivers/xf86-video-nouveau
After this you should be able to start X using nouveau driver, provided you followed wiki and configured your kernel properly for nouveau.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
catchpole
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Sep 2014
Posts: 103
Location: Leeds UK

PostPosted: Mon Mar 02, 2015 6:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Jaglover,

I did the first two commands.
After the second one I got a recommendation to use another command.
Quote:
emerge --update --newuse --deep --with-bdeps=y @world

There was a message on the screen after a long compile which was left on overnight.

Quote:
>>> No outdated packages were found on your system.

* Regenerating GNU info directory index...
* Processed 106 info files.

!!! existing preserved libs:
>>> package: x11-libs/libdrm-2.4.58
* - /usr/lib/libdrm_radeon.so.1
* - /usr/lib/libdrm_radeon.so.1.0.1
* used by /usr/lob/xorg/modules/drivers/radeon_drv.so (x11-drivers/xf86-video-ati-7.3.0)
Use emerge @preserved-rebuild to rebuild packages using these libraries

* IMPROTANT: 3 config files in '/etc' need updating.
* See the CONFIGURATION FILES section of the emerge
* man page to learn how to update config files.

* IMPORTANT: 3 news items need reading for repository 'gentoo'.
* Use eselect news to read news items.

* After world updates, it is important to remove obsolete packages with
* emerge --depclean. Refer to 'man emerge' for more information.



After reading the man page I did:
Quote:
find /etc -name '._cfg????_*'

Three files were identified:
Quote:
/etc/._cfg0000_rc.conf
/etc/conf.d/._cfg0000_xdm
/etc/conf.d/._cfg0000_keymaps


I had a quick look at the first one "cfg0000_rc.conf" and compared it with the original "rc.conf" but I couldn't figure out the difference but there are eight more lines in the newer one.

What do I do to update these files?
_________________
Noob
With experience of Mint and trying to learn more by intalling Gentoo
Motherboard = MS-7211- MICRO-STAR INTERNATIONAL CO., LTD
CPU = Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.80GHz version: 15.4.9
Memory = 2GB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 6972
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Mon Mar 02, 2015 1:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The command to update configuration files is etc-update, there is also dispatch-conf, run one of these. Then follow up with
Code:
emerge -a --depclean
.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
catchpole
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Sep 2014
Posts: 103
Location: Leeds UK

PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2015 5:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Jaglover,

Thanks very much for your help and advice.
Everything is tidied up now.

Can I check the available screen resolutions without installing "xrandr"?
_________________
Noob
With experience of Mint and trying to learn more by intalling Gentoo
Motherboard = MS-7211- MICRO-STAR INTERNATIONAL CO., LTD
CPU = Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.80GHz version: 15.4.9
Memory = 2GB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 6972
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2015 1:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You should now have only two graphics drivers in your system, nouveau and vesa. Inspect your /var/log/Xorg.0.log. If everything went right you should see nouveau in use. You should also see what resolutions are valid.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
catchpole
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Sep 2014
Posts: 103
Location: Leeds UK

PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2015 2:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Jaglover,

The present resolution is 1024x768.
According to the log, 1280x1024@75Hz is supported but I can't see in from the GUI.
Also the GUI doesn’t show the refresh rate in the text box. It shows 0.0 Hz.

I would like to see what the higher resolution looks like.
How can I make it available in the GUI?

I'll use the command line if I have to.
_________________
Noob
With experience of Mint and trying to learn more by intalling Gentoo
Motherboard = MS-7211- MICRO-STAR INTERNATIONAL CO., LTD
CPU = Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.80GHz version: 15.4.9
Memory = 2GB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 6972
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Wed Mar 04, 2015 1:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In past switching resolutions in X was as easy as hitting Ctr+Alt+'+' or '-'. I even do not know if it still works, I have my resolution fixed to my LCD. Otherwise xrandr is the utility to manipulate everything related to your display(s).
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
catchpole
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Sep 2014
Posts: 103
Location: Leeds UK

PostPosted: Wed Mar 04, 2015 6:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Jaglover,

The ctrl+alt+"+", "-" just act as a zoom control.

I had tried to emerge xrandr and it looked OK with the pretend option but when I did it for real I got:
Quote:
emerge xrandr

econf failed

Call stack:
ebuild.sh, line 93: Called src_configure
envrionment, line 3131: Called xorg-2_src_configure
environment, line 3884: Called autotools-utils_src_configure
environment, line 653: Called econf '--docdir=/usr/share/doc/xrandr-1.4.1'
phase-helpers.sh, line 584: Called die
The specific snippet of code:
die "econf failed"

If you need support, post the output of:
'emerge --info '=x11-apps/xrandr-1.4.1::gentoo'`,
the complete build log and the output of
'merge -pqv 'x11-apps/xrandr-1.4.1::gentoo'`,
The complete build log is located at '/var/tmp/portage/x11-apps/xrandr-1.4.1/temp/build.log',
The ebuild environment file is located at '/var/tmp/portage/x11-1.4.1/tmp/environment'.
Working directory: '/var/tmp/portage/x11-apps/xrandr-1.4.1_build'
S: '/var/tmp/portage/x11-apps/xrandr-1.4.1/work/xrandr-1.4.1'


When I tried looking at the files, they don't exist but I found a log in the "working directory".
This can be found at:https://bpaste.net/show/ec3751c067ad

I don't understand the last line.
_________________
Noob
With experience of Mint and trying to learn more by intalling Gentoo
Motherboard = MS-7211- MICRO-STAR INTERNATIONAL CO., LTD
CPU = Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.80GHz version: 15.4.9
Memory = 2GB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 6972
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Wed Mar 04, 2015 12:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

According to your log nouveau is not used because KMS is not enabled, Xorg falls back on vesa. http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Nouveau
Post your kernel conf if you need help.
Code:
zcat /proc/config.gz | wgetpaste

_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
catchpole
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Sep 2014
Posts: 103
Location: Leeds UK

PostPosted: Wed Mar 04, 2015 2:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Jaglover,

I tried to enable KMS with "make menuconfig" and got an error:
Quote:
HOSTCC scripts/basic/fixdep
* gcc-config: Active gcc profile is invalid!
gcc-config: error: could not run/locate 'gcc'
scripts/Makefile.host:118: recipe for target 'scripts/basic/fixdep' failed
make[1]: *** [scripts/basic/fixdep] Error 1
Makefile:428: recipe for target 'scripts_basic' failed
make: *** [scripts_basic] Error 2


I'm getting confused now!
_________________
Noob
With experience of Mint and trying to learn more by intalling Gentoo
Motherboard = MS-7211- MICRO-STAR INTERNATIONAL CO., LTD
CPU = Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.80GHz version: 15.4.9
Memory = 2GB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 6972
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Thu Mar 05, 2015 1:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This means you cleaned out your old GCC and haven't activated your new GCC yet. Run
Code:
gcc-config -l
to see available versions and to set a working GCC.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
catchpole
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Sep 2014
Posts: 103
Location: Leeds UK

PostPosted: Thu Mar 05, 2015 7:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Jaglover,

When I tried the command:
zcat /proc/config.gz | wgetpaste
I got an error:
Quote:
gzip: /proc/config.gz: No such file or directory
No input read. Nothing to paste. Aborting.
I checked in "proc" and there is no config file.

I managed to sort out the "gcc" file and then emerged "xrandr".
However when I ran the xrandr command, higher resolution (1280x1024@75Hz) didn't appear on the list:
Quote:
my-user@GentooBox ~ $ xrandr
xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default
Screen 0: minimum 640 x 480, current 1024 x 768, maximum 1024 x 768
default connected 1024x768+0+0 0mm x 0mm
1024x768 0.0*
800x600 0.0
640x480 0.0


I can see the higher resolution in the log file in the "working directory"https://bpaste.net/show/ec3751c067ad
Quote:
Working directory: '/var/tmp/portage/x11-apps/xrandr-1.4.1_build'

Have I missed something out?
_________________
Noob
With experience of Mint and trying to learn more by intalling Gentoo
Motherboard = MS-7211- MICRO-STAR INTERNATIONAL CO., LTD
CPU = Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.80GHz version: 15.4.9
Memory = 2GB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
catchpole
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Sep 2014
Posts: 103
Location: Leeds UK

PostPosted: Thu Mar 05, 2015 10:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

EDIT
When I tried to inspect the log file again ('/var/tmp/portage/x11-apps/xrandr-1.4.1_build') it had disappeared.

I guess that the "emerge xranr" has wiped it out.
The log file seemed to refer to "vesa" and not "nouveau" so I don't have any reference any more. (That I know of)
_________________
Noob
With experience of Mint and trying to learn more by intalling Gentoo
Motherboard = MS-7211- MICRO-STAR INTERNATIONAL CO., LTD
CPU = Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.80GHz version: 15.4.9
Memory = 2GB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 6972
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Thu Mar 05, 2015 12:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

catchpole,

both logs you posted are Xorg logs. Your problem is KMS is not working for some reason. To understand why we need to see your kernel configuration.

You can wgetpaste /usr/src/linux/.config.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
catchpole
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Sep 2014
Posts: 103
Location: Leeds UK

PostPosted: Fri Mar 06, 2015 6:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Jaglover,

The output of "wgetpasete /usr/src/linux/.config" can be found at:
https://bpaste.net/show/f622d7207512
_________________
Noob
With experience of Mint and trying to learn more by intalling Gentoo
Motherboard = MS-7211- MICRO-STAR INTERNATIONAL CO., LTD
CPU = Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.80GHz version: 15.4.9
Memory = 2GB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 6972
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Fri Mar 06, 2015 1:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have no nouveau experience myself, you may have too many framebuffer related options activated which deny nouveau framebuffer from loading. Inspect your dmesg to see what's wrong. Here is some reading, too http://nouveau.freedesktop.org/wiki/KernelModeSetting/
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum