Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Wireless doesn't use offered ip via dhcp [Solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Tankred
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Aug 2003
Posts: 36
Location: NRW (Germany)

PostPosted: Mon Feb 23, 2015 10:31 pm    Post subject: Wireless doesn't use offered ip via dhcp [Solved] Reply with quote

My wireless adapter is connected to my accesspoint (192.168.178.1) which provides ip's over dhcp.
However my wireless adapter seem not to accept the provided ip.

Code:
dhcpcd[3805]: version 6.6.7 starting
dhcpcd[3805]: DUID 00:01:00:01:1c:7b:c5:a4:74:d4:35:f9:1a:01
dhcpcd[3805]: wlp0s20u5u1: IAID 00:26:bf:07
dhcpcd[3805]: wlp0s20u5u1: soliciting a DHCP lease
dhcpcd[3805]: wlp0s20u5u1: offered 192.168.178.23 from 192.168.178.1
dhcpcd[3805]: wlp0s20u5u1: soliciting an IPv6 router
dhcpcd[3805]: wlp0s20u5u1: probing for an IPv4LL address
dhcpcd[3805]: wlp0s20u5u1: using IPv4LL address 169.254.47.9
dhcpcd[3805]: wlp0s20u5u1: adding route to 169.254.0.0/16
dhcpcd[3805]: forked to background, child pid 3830


If i set the ip, broadcast and gateway manually with ifconfig it works fine.
Any ideas what goes wrong with dhcpcd?

iwconfig:
Code:

wlp0s20u5u1  IEEE 802.11abgn  ESSID:"xxxxxxxx" 
          Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.472 GHz  Access Point: xx:xx:xx:xx:x:xx   
          Bit Rate=43.3 Mb/s   Tx-Power=20 dBm   
          Retry short limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off
          Power Management:off
          Link Quality=39/70  Signal level=-71 dBm 
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:6  Invalid misc:235   Missed beacon:0


ifconfig:
Code:
wlp0s20u5u1: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet 169.254.47.9  netmask 255.255.0.0  broadcast 169.254.255.255
        inet6 fe80::c24a:ff:fe26:bf07  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x20<link>
        ether c0:4a:00:26:bf:07  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 330  bytes 102491 (100.0 KiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 23  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 100  bytes 32850 (32.0 KiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0


/edit: topic solved


Last edited by Tankred on Tue Feb 24, 2015 8:16 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6228
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Mon Feb 23, 2015 11:15 pm    Post subject: Re: Wireless doesn't use offered ip via dhcp Reply with quote

Tankred wrote:
Any ideas what goes wrong with dhcpcd?

Tankred ... can you show us how the network (netifrc) and dhcpcd are configured ....

Code:
# egrep -v '(^#|^$)' /etc/dhcpcd.conf
# cat /etc/conf.d/net

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tankred
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Aug 2003
Posts: 36
Location: NRW (Germany)

PostPosted: Tue Feb 24, 2015 6:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

egrep -v '(^#|^$)' /etc/dhcpcd.conf
Code:
persistent
option rapid_commit
option domain_name_servers, domain_name, domain_search, host_name
option classless_static_routes
option ntp_servers
require dhcp_server_identifier
slaac private
nohook lookup-hostname


cat /etc/conf.d/net
Code:
modules_wlp0s20u5u1="wpa_supplicant"
wpa_timeout_wlp0s20u5u1=30
iwconfig_wlp0s20u5u1_mode="Managed"
dhcpcd_wlp0s20u5u1="-t 10"
config_wlp0s20u5u1="dhcp"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 2583

PostPosted: Tue Feb 24, 2015 7:53 am    Post subject: Re: Wireless doesn't use offered ip via dhcp Reply with quote

Tankred wrote:
My wireless adapter is connected to my accesspoint (192.168.178.1) which provides ip's over dhcp.
However my wireless adapter seem not to accept the provided ip.
Is your AP configured to "only accept known devices"?
I'm having same problem with Fritz!Box and a dual booting (windows 7 and gentoo) laptop. The AP accepts the wlan device only from the one or the other OS. When I boot the other OS the device needs to be registerd again as new device. And the wlan device cannot be registered twice as it's always the same MAC address.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tankred
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Aug 2003
Posts: 36
Location: NRW (Germany)

PostPosted: Tue Feb 24, 2015 8:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have indeed a Fritz!Box but the box is configured to accept all new devices.

Fortunately the problem seems to be solved, as my wireless adapter now accepts the ip provided by the fritz!box. All i have done is to reemerge udev-init-scripts which solved the problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum