Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
no Module NVIDIA Corporation GT218 [GeForce 210]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
chekdalaypa
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Dec 2008
Posts: 38
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Mon Feb 23, 2015 7:56 pm    Post subject: no Module NVIDIA Corporation GT218 [GeForce 210] Reply with quote

Hi There,

I am having a problem and don't know how to fix.

My gentoo install works however I am having issues with my Nvidia 210.

I followed the wiki's on Xorg, Gnome & Nvidia

when I boot I get an error:
Code:
etc/init.d/../conf.d/modules: line 25: nvidia: command not found


and then it loads to the command line.

I previously did:
# nvidia-xconfig
# nano -w /etc/X11/xorg.conf
# eselect opengl set nvidia
#lsmod | grep nvidia
#rmmod nvidia
#modprobe nvidia

I get no error messages.

However, I then checked lsmod and nvidia does not show in the list.

not sure what to do here.

any suggestions?
_________________
Chekdalaypa Chimchumoushkin

Current system to be worked on:
Lenovo Think Centre core 2 E8400
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42592
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Feb 23, 2015 8:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

chekdalaypa,

This suggests that you have installed the nvidia module for one kernel but you are booting another.

What is the output of
Code:
readlink /usr/src/linux
Thats the kernel that you built nvidia for.
What does
Code:
uname -a
show?
This tells about the kernel you are running.
Code:
$ uname -a
Linux Grytpype-Thynne 3.10.1-hardened-r1 #5 SMP Tue Apr 8 21:29:16 CEST 2014 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2130 CPU @ 3.40GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux

Here its
Quote:
3.10.1-hardened-r1
and I've built it
Quote:
#5
times., most recently at
Quote:
Tue Apr 8 21:29:16 CEST 2014

Dot the versions match - does the build date and time look right?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chekdalaypa
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Dec 2008
Posts: 38
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Mon Feb 23, 2015 9:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good afternoon NeddySeagoon,

NeddySeagoon wrote:
chekdalaypa,

This suggests that you have installed the nvidia module for one kernel but you are booting another.

What is the output of
Code:
readlink /usr/src/linux
Thats the kernel that you built nvidia for.
What does
Code:
uname -a
show?
This tells about the kernel you are running.
Code:
$ uname -a
Linux Grytpype-Thynne 3.10.1-hardened-r1 #5 SMP Tue Apr 8 21:29:16 CEST 2014 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2130 CPU @ 3.40GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux

Here its
Quote:
3.10.1-hardened-r1
and I've built it
Quote:
#5
times., most recently at
Quote:
Tue Apr 8 21:29:16 CEST 2014

Dot the versions match - does the build date and time look right?


Currently I am running off the livedvd, so when i entered those commands the outputs did not match up. So I rebooted and the commands gave
Code:
readlink /usr/src/linux

linux-3.17.7-gentoo
Code:
uname -a

linux-3.17.7-gentoo and #1
The listed date seems to be correct.

from the livedvd how can I run "uname -a" and get the desired output? Or is that possible?

thank you,
_________________
Chekdalaypa Chimchumoushkin

Current system to be worked on:
Lenovo Think Centre core 2 E8400
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 5593

PostPosted: Mon Feb 23, 2015 9:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What is the content of your /etc/conf.d/modules?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42592
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Feb 23, 2015 9:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

chekdalaypa,

You cannot modprobe the nvidia module when you are running from the liveCD.
You can only modprobe sucessfully from outside of the chroot, while on the liveCD.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chekdalaypa
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Dec 2008
Posts: 38
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Mon Feb 23, 2015 9:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ant P. wrote:
What is the content of your /etc/conf.d/modules?


Hi There,

The content of /etc/conf.d/modules
Code:
# You can define a list modules for a specific kernel version,
# a released kernel version, a main kernel version or just a list.
# The most specific versioned variable will take precedence.
#modules_2_6_23_gentoo_r5="ieee1394 ohci1394"
#modules_2_6_23="tun ieee1394"
#modules_2_6="tun"
#modules_2="ipv6"
#modules="ohci1394"

# You can give modules a different name when they load - the new name
# will also be used to pick arguments below.
#modules="dummy:dummy1"

# Give the modules some arguments if needed, per version if necessary.
# Again, the most specific versioned variable will take precedence.
#module_ieee1394_args="debug"
#module_ieee1394_args_2_6_23_gentoo_r5="debug2"
#module_ieee1394_args_2_6_23="debug3"
#module_ieee1394_args_2_6="debug4"
#module_ieee1394_args_2="debug5"

# You should consult your kernel documentation and configuration
# for a list of modules and their options.

_________________
Chekdalaypa Chimchumoushkin

Current system to be worked on:
Lenovo Think Centre core 2 E8400
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chekdalaypa
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Dec 2008
Posts: 38
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Tue Feb 24, 2015 1:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ant P. wrote:
What is the content of your /etc/conf.d/modules?


here it is again with everything, you can see nvidia at the bottom.

Code:
# You can define a list modules for a specific kernel version,
# a released kernel version, a main kernel version or just a list.
# The most specific versioned variable will take precedence.
#modules_2_6_23_gentoo_r5="ieee1394 ohci1394"
#modules_2_6_23="tun ieee1394"
#modules_2_6="tun"
#modules_2="ipv6"
#modules="ohci1394"

# You can give modules a different name when they load - the new name
# will also be used to pick arguments below.
#modules="dummy:dummy1"

# Give the modules some arguments if needed, per version if necessary.
# Again, the most specific versioned variable will take precedence.
#module_ieee1394_args="debug"
#module_ieee1394_args_2_6_23_gentoo_r5="debug2"
#module_ieee1394_args_2_6_23="debug3"
#module_ieee1394_args_2_6="debug4"
#module_ieee1394_args_2="debug5"

# You should consult your kernel documentation and configuration
# for a list of modules and their options.

nvidia


From the wiki for Nvidia I have followed all the steps, but there is no nvidia.conf. Was that supposed to be automatically generated?
_________________
Chekdalaypa Chimchumoushkin

Current system to be worked on:
Lenovo Think Centre core 2 E8400
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42592
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Feb 24, 2015 6:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

chekdalaypa,

Like the example line
Code:
#modules="ohci1394"

Your entry should be
Code:
modules="nvidia"

Its a space separated list of modules to load.

The entry is not needed. When you start Xorg and the nvidia Xorg driver loads, it will load the kernel module, if its not already loaded.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chekdalaypa
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Dec 2008
Posts: 38
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Tue Feb 24, 2015 7:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
chekdalaypa,

Like the example line
Code:
#modules="ohci1394"

Your entry should be
Code:
modules="nvidia"

Its a space separated list of modules to load.

The entry is not needed. When you start Xorg and the nvidia Xorg driver loads, it will load the kernel module, if its not already loaded.



Thank you. I see what you are writing. However I was following the wiki.

If I understand what you are writing and if it was to be done correctly then it should read modules="nvidia".

How I got on all this was following what is written in the wiki's for XORG, Gnome & Nvidia.

Somehow I have screwed up my install and I do not know what to do.

You write "the entry is not needed", so I will remove nvidia from that file. Its odd that the NVidia wiki says to put it in.
_________________
Chekdalaypa Chimchumoushkin

Current system to be worked on:
Lenovo Think Centre core 2 E8400
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum