Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[Solved] Why can't I move or resize my KDevelop window?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
genterminl
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Feb 2005
Posts: 482
Location: Connecticut, USA

PostPosted: Sat Feb 07, 2015 10:59 pm    Post subject: [Solved] Why can't I move or resize my KDevelop window? Reply with quote

I just installed KDevelop (4.5.2 on kde 4.14.3) on a mostly amd64 install with a few ~amd64 packages. All other applications behave fine. KDevelop comes up filling about 2/3 of one of my two monitors, but it seems to think it is maximized, as the maximize, move, and resize menu items are disabled, and there is no restore item. There is a minimize button at the top right, but no restore or maximize button. If I grab the title bar with the mouse and try to drag, I get the four pointed mouse pointer, but the window does not move. There seems to be no border around the window to grab to resize. If it truly thought it were maximized, I would expect a "restore" button or menu, but I can't find one.

I have two monitors connected to a single nVidia card, using the nVidia drivers, but I have no other problems with moving or sizing windows on the single X window spread across the two monitors.

Using Application Specific Settings, I am able to force it off the edge of the screen, so I can now move the window easily, but still no ability to resize.

I'd appreciate any suggestions how to fix this, or where to dig for more information about what the underlying problem is.

Thanks.

Jack


Last edited by genterminl on Mon Feb 09, 2015 10:56 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 5594

PostPosted: Sun Feb 08, 2015 12:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You could try `xprop` or `xwininfo` on the window, see if it's forcing those settings in some way. That'd give you a clue on how to override them too.

Seems odd that it'd do that on first run though, have you installed it before? It might be picking up old settings if so.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
genterminl
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Feb 2005
Posts: 482
Location: Connecticut, USA

PostPosted: Sun Feb 08, 2015 4:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is the first time I've installed kdevelop. I'm currently upgrading to 4.6.0-r1 just in case it was a known issue, although I doubt it.

xprop:
_NET_WM_USER_TIME(CARDINAL) = 5000833
_NET_WM_ICON_GEOMETRY(CARDINAL) = 2134, 0, 127, 32
_NET_WM_ALLOWED_ACTIONS(ATOM) = _NET_WM_ACTION_MOVE, _NET_WM_ACTION_MINIMIZE, _NET_WM_ACTION_SHADE, _NET_WM_ACTION_CHANGE_DESKTOP, _NET_WM_ACTION_CLOSE
_KDE_NET_WM_FRAME_STRUT(CARDINAL) = 2, 2, 23, 4
_NET_FRAME_EXTENTS(CARDINAL) = 2, 2, 23, 4
_NET_WM_DESKTOP(CARDINAL) = 0
_KDE_NET_WM_ACTIVITIES(STRING) = "ce1bbb7b-dc75-4282-b60a-9e4ef10d1f0c"
WM_STATE(WM_STATE):
                window state: Normal
                icon window: 0x0
_NET_WM_STATE(ATOM) =
_NET_WM_SYNC_REQUEST_COUNTER(CARDINAL) = 37748894
_KDE_OXYGEN_BACKGROUND_PIXMAP(CARDINAL) = 0
_KDE_OXYGEN_BACKGROUND_GRADIENT(CARDINAL) = 1
_NET_STARTUP_ID(UTF8_STRING) = "0"
WM_WINDOW_ROLE(STRING) = "MainWindow"
_KDE_NET_WM_USER_CREATION_TIME(CARDINAL) = 4985296
XdndAware(ATOM) = BITMAP
_MOTIF_DRAG_RECEIVER_INFO(_MOTIF_DRAG_RECEIVER_INFO) = 0x6c, 0x0, 0x5, 0x0, 0x0, 0x0, 0x0, 0x0, 0x0, 0x0, 0x0, 0x0, 0x10, 0x0, 0x0, 0x0
_NET_WM_NAME(UTF8_STRING) = "kmymoney-git – KDevelop"
WM_CLIENT_LEADER(WINDOW): window id # 0x2400004
_NET_WM_PID(CARDINAL) = 18990
_NET_WM_WINDOW_TYPE(ATOM) = _NET_WM_WINDOW_TYPE_NORMAL
_MOTIF_WM_HINTS(_MOTIF_WM_HINTS) = 0x3, 0x3e, 0x7e, 0x0, 0x0
WM_PROTOCOLS(ATOM): protocols  WM_DELETE_WINDOW, WM_TAKE_FOCUS, _NET_WM_PING, _NET_WM_SYNC_REQUEST
WM_NAME(COMPOUND_TEXT) = "kmymoney-git – KDevelop"
WM_LOCALE_NAME(STRING) = "en_US.UTF-8"
WM_CLASS(STRING) = "kdevelop", "Kdevelop"
WM_HINTS(WM_HINTS):
                Client accepts input or input focus: True
                Initial state is Normal State.
                bitmap id # to use for icon: 0x2400023
                window id # of group leader: 0x2400004
WM_NORMAL_HINTS(WM_SIZE_HINTS):
                user specified location: 102, 123
                program specified location: 102, 123
                user specified size: 1146 by 798
                program specified size: 1146 by 798
                program specified minimum size: 657 by 406
                window gravity: Static
WM_CLIENT_MACHINE(STRING) = "ffortso4"
WM_COMMAND(STRING) = { "kdevelop" }
I don't see anything that looks suspicious to me, but there is plenty there I don't fully understand. I'll also emerge xwininfo to see if it provides any additional information.

UDPATE: no useful info from xwininfo, and no changes (other than times and id's) from xprop for kdevelop 4.6.0 (with kdevplatform 1.6.0-r1)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
genterminl
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Feb 2005
Posts: 482
Location: Connecticut, USA

PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2015 10:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I finally found some useful information. If I ssh in from another box, kdevelop works just fine. The only significant difference in xprop output matches the behavior. (I added the line wrapping just for better visibility.)
working:
_NET_WM_ALLOWED_ACTIONS(ATOM) =
     _NET_WM_ACTION_MOVE, _NET_WM_ACTION_RESIZE, _NET_WM_ACTION_MINIMIZE,
     _NET_WM_ACTION_SHADE, _NET_WM_ACTION_MAXIMIZE_VERT, _NET_WM_ACTION_MAXIMIZE_HORZ,
     _NET_WM_ACTION_FULLSCREEN, _NET_WM_ACTION_CHANGE_DESKTOP, _NET_WM_ACTION_CLOSE
no resize:
_NET_WM_ALLOWED_ACTIONS(ATOM) =
     _NET_WM_ACTION_MOVE, _NET_WM_ACTION_MINIMIZE, _NET_WM_ACTION_SHADE,
     _NET_WM_ACTION_CHANGE_DESKTOP, _NET_WM_ACTION_CLOSE
The resize and maximize actions are missing. Now I just need to figure out where these differences are coming from.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
genterminl
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Feb 2005
Posts: 482
Location: Connecticut, USA

PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2015 10:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I call it "phase of the moon and blue magic dust."

After some googling, trying to figure out where these things might get set, I finally found my way to the Window Manager Settings dialog (from the context menu from right click on the title bar), Window Rules page. There were several entries for kdevelop. I figure some were from my attempts to fix this over the past days, but some may well have been from a forgotten earlier time. I just deleted them all, and now things seem to be working as expected.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum