Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
thinkpad w540 intel and nvidia not work
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
zjiel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Feb 2015
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2015 10:16 am    Post subject: thinkpad w540 intel and nvidia not work Reply with quote

I am not able to make my display work on w540. i use XFCE4, the screen is black when i exec startx

My kernel version:
3.18.3-gentoo #24 SMP Wed Feb 4 13:13:07 CST 2015 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4800MQ CPU @ 2.70GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux

VGA cards:
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 4th Gen Core Processor Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 06)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GK107GLM [Quadro K1100M] (rev a1)

Relative kernel config:

[*] Laptop Hybrid Graphics - GPU switching support

│ <*> Intel 8xx/9xx/G3x/G4x/HD Graphics │ │
│ │ [*] Enable modesetting on intel by default │ │
│ │ [*] Enable legacy fbdev support for the modesetting intel driver

/etc/portage/make.conf
VIDEO_CARDS="intel i965 nvidia"

I have communicated with the Lenovo, they said i can not disable intel or nvidia thru BIOS. My BIOS version is 2.14.

# dmesg | grep -i intel
[ 0.000000] Reserving Intel graphics stolen memory at 0x7da00000-0x7f9fffff
[ 0.033305] smpboot: CPU0: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4800MQ CPU @ 2.70GHz (fam: 06, model: 3c, stepping: 03)
[ 0.033624] Performance Events: PEBS fmt2+, 16-deep LBR, Haswell events, full-width counters, Intel PMU driver.
[ 0.518995] fbcon: inteldrmfb (fb0) is primary device
[ 1.604096] i915 0000:00:02.0: fb0: inteldrmfb frame buffer device
[ 6.010727] e1000e: Intel(R) PRO/1000 Network Driver - 2.3.2-k
[ 6.010729] e1000e: Copyright(c) 1999 - 2014 Intel Corporation.
[ 6.176124] e1000e 0000:00:19.0 eth0: Intel(R) PRO/1000 Network Connection
[ 483.826392] nvidia(PO) bbswitch(O) x86_pkg_temp_thermal kvm_intel kvm e1000e ptp pps_core
[ 483.959092] nvidia(PO) bbswitch(O) x86_pkg_temp_thermal kvm_intel kvm e1000e ptp pps_core


# dmesg | grep -i nvidia
[ 412.901219] nvidia: module license 'NVIDIA' taints kernel.
[ 412.916610] [drm] Initialized nvidia-drm 0.0.0 20130102 for 0000:01:00.0 on minor 1
[ 412.916615] NVRM: loading NVIDIA UNIX x86_64 Kernel Module 346.35 Sat Jan 10 21:27:15 PST 2015
[ 483.826390] No drm_driver.set_busid() implementation provided by nvidia_frontend_exit_module [nvidia]. Use drm_dev_set_unique() to set the unique name explicitly.
[ 483.826392] nvidia(PO) bbswitch(O) x86_pkg_temp_thermal kvm_intel kvm e1000e ptp pps_core
[ 483.959088] No drm_driver.set_busid() implementation provided by nvidia_frontend_exit_module [nvidia]. Use drm_dev_set_unique() to set the unique name explicitly.
[ 483.959092] nvidia(PO) bbswitch(O) x86_pkg_temp_thermal kvm_intel kvm e1000e ptp pps_core

I take the following url as a reference:

https://gist.github.com/fbrozovic/9102118

# cat /proc/acpi/bbswitch
0000:01:00.0 OFF
# echo ON > /proc/acpi/bbswitch && cat /proc/acpi/bbswitch
0000:01:00.0 ON
# echo OFF > /proc/acpi/bbswitch

But seems not work for gentoo.

I have tried bbswitch and bumblebee, still not work.

any ideas or comments are appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NForce
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Nov 2009
Posts: 79
Location: Kaunas, Lithuania

PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2015 3:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have similar setup
Code:

00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 4th Gen Core Processor Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 06)
01:00.0 3D controller: NVIDIA Corporation GM107M [GeForce GTX 850M] (rev ff)

and everything is working just fine. It seems that you can't get your intel card working. Make sure you have all the kernel config options from this page: http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Intel.
Also, eselect opengl must be set this way:
Code:
nforce@nforce-laptop ~ $ eselect opengl list
Available OpenGL implementations:
  [1]   nvidia
  [2]   xorg-x11 *

Once you have working intel setup, you can use bumblebee to enable nvidia card - it is as simple as just emerging bumblebee
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zjiel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Feb 2015
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Feb 05, 2015 12:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thx for your reply, i follow the url before. but same result.

# more /var/log/Xorg.0.log | grep EE
(WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
[ 1072.507] (EE) NVIDIA(0): Failed to initialize the GLX module; please check in your X
[ 1072.507] (EE) NVIDIA(0): log file that the GLX module has been loaded in your X
[ 1072.507] (EE) NVIDIA(0): server, and that the module is the NVIDIA GLX module. If
[ 1072.507] (EE) NVIDIA(0): you continue to encounter problems, Please try
[ 1072.507] (EE) NVIDIA(0): reinstalling the NVIDIA driver.
[ 1072.898] (EE) NVIDIA(0): Failed to assign any connected display devices to X screen 0.
[ 1072.898] (EE) NVIDIA(0): Set AllowEmptyInitialConfiguration if you want the server
[ 1072.898] (EE) NVIDIA(0): to start anyway
[ 1072.914] (EE) NVIDIA(0): Failing initialization of X screen 0
[ 1075.184] (EE) intel(G0): [drm] failed to set drm interface version: Permission denied [13].
[ 1075.184] (EE) intel(G0): Failed to claim DRM device.
[ 1075.258] (EE) /dev/dri/card1: failed to set DRM interface version 1.4: Invalid argument
[ 1075.304] (EE) /dev/dri/card1: failed to set DRM interface version 1.4: Invalid argument
[ 1075.438] (EE) Server terminated successfully (0). Closing log file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NForce
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Nov 2009
Posts: 79
Location: Kaunas, Lithuania

PostPosted: Thu Feb 05, 2015 10:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, you can tell from the log file, that your X server is configured to use nvidia card. Make sure it uses intel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Helmering
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Dec 2011
Posts: 57
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Thu Feb 05, 2015 10:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i'm using a thinkpad W520 where Optimus/Bumblebee is working fine.

First check:
What happens if you change your BIOS settings from optimus to integrated graphics, or dedicated graphics.

Ralf

/Edit:/
sorry, I didn't recognize this:
"I have communicated with the Lenovo, they said i can not disable intel or nvidia thru BIOS. My BIOS version is 2.14."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum