Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] How do I make Firefox look nicer in KDE?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
P1neapple
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Jul 2014
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Wed Jan 28, 2015 8:40 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] How do I make Firefox look nicer in KDE? Reply with quote

Firefox looks pretty ugly, because it is using GTK, while I'm using KDE.

I already installed the x11-themes/gtk-engines-qtcurve (with the mozilla USE flag enabled)

Re-logged in, rebooted, and Firefox still looks bad.

Apparently there is supposed to be a new option in "System Settings" in KDE, but I can't find it :cry:

So how do I make Firefox look nicer on KDE?
_________________
Gentoo currently running in Virtualbox, hoping to switch to real hardware soon...


Last edited by P1neapple on Thu Jan 29, 2015 8:19 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Apheus
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Jul 2008
Posts: 418

PostPosted: Wed Jan 28, 2015 9:25 am    Post subject: Re: How do I make Firefox look nicer in KDE? Reply with quote

P1neapple wrote:
I already installed the x11-themes/gtk-engines-qtcurve


Did you also select the theme for gtk+2 in systemsettings - application appearance - GTK?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
P1neapple
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Jul 2014
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Wed Jan 28, 2015 9:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Like I said, the option is not there :/

Edit: I believe it may have something to do with my "-gtk" global useflag (I don't want to rebuild too much) :/
(I just checked and kde-base/systemsettings has a gtk USE flag available (uh oh))
_________________
Gentoo currently running in Virtualbox, hoping to switch to real hardware soon...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Apheus
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Jul 2008
Posts: 418

PostPosted: Wed Jan 28, 2015 10:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, the "GTK" control panel appears when systemsettings has the "gtk" use flag.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mir3x
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Jun 2012
Posts: 427

PostPosted: Wed Jan 28, 2015 7:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My firefox has qtcurve theme, but i dont have installed gtk-engines-qtcurve.
Its just qtcurve (1.8..18, with gtk enabled, and in kde settings pointed to use qtcurve for gtk programs)
_________________
Installation aborted to prevent system self-destruction
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Apheus
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Jul 2008
Posts: 418

PostPosted: Wed Jan 28, 2015 7:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There has been some repackaging - it seems both backends are now provided by x11-themes/qtcurve.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
P1neapple
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Jul 2014
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Wed Jan 28, 2015 9:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So I need to enable the gtk USE flag anyway. Do I need to enable it globally, or only for systemsettings (whatever systemsettings configures might need gtk support too)?
_________________
Gentoo currently running in Virtualbox, hoping to switch to real hardware soon...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Apheus
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Jul 2008
Posts: 418

PostPosted: Wed Jan 28, 2015 9:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think you need it only for systemsettings and x11-themes/qtcurve. Then you can uninstall x11-themes/gtk-engines-qtcurve. The qtcurve version in x11-themes/qtcurve is more current anyway.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
P1neapple
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Jul 2014
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Thu Jan 29, 2015 5:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the heads up about x11-themes/qtcurve

I'll try to set the gtk use flag from systemsettings only, and see if it works :D
_________________
Gentoo currently running in Virtualbox, hoping to switch to real hardware soon...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
P1neapple
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Jul 2014
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Thu Jan 29, 2015 8:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alright, I compiled systemsettings with the gtk USE flag which pulled in a dependency that added the option. At first it didn't work, but I just switched themes, and switched back to qtcurve, applied, and Firefox looks a lot better now :D

I also now installed x11-themes/oxygen-gtk which looks slightly better in my opinion (I recommend it to anyone who wants an alternative)
_________________
Gentoo currently running in Virtualbox, hoping to switch to real hardware soon...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devsk
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 24 Oct 2003
Posts: 2858
Location: Bay Area, CA

PostPosted: Fri Jan 30, 2015 2:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

x11-themes/oxygen-gtk installs in two slots, one for gtk2 and one for gtk3. Make sure to install both. All your gtk apps will look much better rendered in QT in KDE than they look natively on Gnome. But then, I am getting into subjective tastes...;-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum