Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
ddclient doesn't appear to be working [solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
evoweiss
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 07 Sep 2003
Posts: 1676
Location: Edinburgh, UK

PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2015 12:05 pm    Post subject: ddclient doesn't appear to be working [solved] Reply with quote

Hi everybody,

For a long time I've been using ddclient to update my dynamic dns provider. I haven't changed any settings, etc. and, if I use the current ip address I can ssh in from another system without any problems, but using my dyndns address is not working. I confirmed that the ip address on dynamic dns matches, so I am not sure where to go.

Best,

Alex


Last edited by evoweiss on Thu Jan 15, 2015 1:05 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xaviermiller
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 23 Jul 2004
Posts: 7896
Location: ~Brussels - Belgique

PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2015 12:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

Which provider did you use? are you sure it is still working?

At my side, I had do leave DynDNS for an other provider because the free support was gone.
_________________
Kind regards,
Xavier Miller
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
evoweiss
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 07 Sep 2003
Posts: 1676
Location: Edinburgh, UK

PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2015 12:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

xaviermiller wrote:
Hello,

Which provider did you use? are you sure it is still working?

At my side, I had do leave DynDNS for an other provider because the free support was gone.


I was using DynDNS so perhaps I've fallen victim to the same thing. What have you turned to as a replacement?

Best,

Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xaviermiller
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 23 Jul 2004
Posts: 7896
Location: ~Brussels - Belgique

PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2015 12:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use anydns.info, which was listed by my Fritz!box modem as available dyn dns services.
_________________
Kind regards,
Xavier Miller
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
evoweiss
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 07 Sep 2003
Posts: 1676
Location: Edinburgh, UK

PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2015 12:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

xaviermiller wrote:
I use anydns.info, which was listed by my Fritz!box modem as available dyn dns services.


I'll look into that and see if other services are available, too.

Best,

Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xaviermiller
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 23 Jul 2004
Posts: 7896
Location: ~Brussels - Belgique

PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2015 12:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I see that in my modem:
Quote:
namemaster.de
no-ip.com
selhost.de
STRATO AG
tzo.com

_________________
Kind regards,
Xavier Miller
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
evoweiss
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 07 Sep 2003
Posts: 1676
Location: Edinburgh, UK

PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2015 1:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

xaviermiller wrote:
I see that in my modem:
Quote:
namemaster.de
no-ip.com
selhost.de
STRATO AG
tzo.com


Yup... that did it. All is well again.

Best,

Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum