Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Where is hostname set now???
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Budoka
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jun 2012
Posts: 667
Location: Tokyo, Japan

PostPosted: Tue Jan 13, 2015 8:59 pm    Post subject: Where is hostname set now??? Reply with quote

A change came down with networkmanager a while back.

Quote:
* Messages for package net-misc/networkmanager-0.9.10.1_pre20141101:

* Ifnet plugin is now disabled because of it being unattended
* and unmaintained for a long time, leading to some unfixed bugs
* and new problems appearing. We will now use upstream 'keyfile'
* plugin.
* Because of this, you will likely need to reconfigure some of
* your networks. To do this you can rely on Gnome control center,
* nm-connection-editor or nmtui tools for example once updated
* NetworkManager version is installed.
* You have psk-flags=1 setting in above files, you will need to
* either reconfigure affected networks or, at least, set the flag
* value to '0'.


After this update my hostname is no longer being picked up from /etc/conf.d/hostname where it was defined as instructed in the original AMD64 Manual.

In another thread https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-1007716-postdays-0-postorder-asc-start-25.html it was indicated that I should now use /etc/Networkmanager/Networkmanager.conf. This did not exist on my system so I created it and populated it with
Quote:
[main]
plugins=keyfile

[keyfile]
hostname=YourHostname
of course defining the hostname I want to use.

Although it fixed the rc error indicating no networkmanager.conf file exists my system is still not picking up the hostname.

Then I found this https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/NetworkManager which indicates the hostname can be defined in /etc/dhcp/dhclient.conf but that doesn't work either. What gives?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
comprookie2000
Developer
Developer


Joined: 25 Jul 2004
Posts: 921
Location: Sun City Center, Florida

PostPosted: Tue Jan 13, 2015 10:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I added it to;
Code:

cat /etc/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.conf
[keyfile]
hostname=heater
dhcp=dhcpcd
unmanaged-devices=mac:00:22:64:32:35:02

_________________
http://dev.gentoo.org/~dabbott/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ppurka
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Dec 2004
Posts: 3256

PostPosted: Sat Jul 11, 2015 8:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

comprookie2000 What are they doing, breaking configurations that have been working for over a decade!! It looks like every other developer comes up with some inane method of breaking any existing configuration.

This bug affected me badly and it was really hard to figure out what was causing it. I initially thought that the hostname init script wasn't working. It not only affected my hostname by changing it to same weird "new-host" that is not present anywhere in /etc, but it also broke my existing bluetooth configurations.

Many thanks for this solution. Really appreciated.
_________________
emerge --quiet redefined | E17 vids: I, II | Now using kde5 | e is unstable :-/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum