Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
winbind and networkmanager
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
zebbedi
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Sep 2003
Posts: 118

PostPosted: Tue Jan 13, 2015 8:38 am    Post subject: winbind and networkmanager Reply with quote

I have a new laptop at work, which i've configured to logon to the windows domain using samba / winbind. I'm using a wireless connection on it so set it up using networkmanager.

If i login using a local account, which starts the wireless then the Active Directory authentication works perfectly in another terminal. However as soon as i log out of that account it no longer works (presumably because the wireless connection is dropped). I've configured samba and pam_winbind to use cached logins, which doesn't seem to work when the connection is dropped.

How can I work round this? It seems like i need the connection to authenticate, but I can't start the connection until I've authenticated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PeGa!
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 May 2005
Posts: 96
Location: Capital Federal, Buenos Aires, Argentina

PostPosted: Wed Jan 14, 2015 7:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It happened to me some time ago but after a partition failure I reinstalled and now it is working. I'm not saying this is a solution, but I cannot say exactly what happened in the middle.

Some ideas:

- network manager service installed and running in default runlevel (that is, rc-update add NetworkManager default)
- I don't have networkmanager-qt, nor kde-misc/networkmanagement (I had networkmanagement before)
- I have plasma-nm
- Maybe install some cli client for NetworkManager?
- swtich to wicd? (terrible, but it could work)

Hope that helps,

Cheers!
_________________
If it moves, it needs an ebuild.

Adopt an unanswered post.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zebbedi
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Sep 2003
Posts: 118

PostPosted: Wed Jan 14, 2015 8:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've set the connection to be a 'sytem' connection which i think has resolved it. But i've also now got a docking station with a wired connection so haven't tested it 100%. I need to check it with no network connection to make sure i can still log in at all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PeGa!
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 May 2005
Posts: 96
Location: Capital Federal, Buenos Aires, Argentina

PostPosted: Wed Jan 14, 2015 3:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can set an anacron script (or a custom initscript with a big sleep inside) to write a file if it can ping or connect to an external server.

The initscript way:

Code:
#!/bin/bash
start(){
  sleep 120
  ping -c1 google.com > /tmp/nettest.`date +%Y.%m.%d.%H.%M.log` 2>&1
}


Just an idea. Hope that helps.

Edit: You can also try to connect from the external network to a single port, like ssh.
Edit 2: That script above is by no means a valid init script. Please use the appropriate template, that is the working part.
_________________
If it moves, it needs an ebuild.

Adopt an unanswered post.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum