Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
World update borks system AGAIN!!![SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Budoka
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jun 2012
Posts: 667
Location: Tokyo, Japan

PostPosted: Mon Jan 12, 2015 7:54 pm    Post subject: Re: World update borks system AGAIN!!! Reply with quote

Budoka wrote:
Helmering wrote:
Budoka wrote:

After my update I noticed that for some odd reason the entry line in terminal changed from my laptop name to "new-host-2". Seemed a little odd so I rebooted and bam...I can't get into any DE. Like I said they may or may not be related I haven't any idea.


Thats most likely a problem with the last Networkmanager Update. It doesn't use ifnet any longer. There was a recent "News" for that.

Try chainging /etc/Networkmanager/Networkmanager.conf in something like that (Define your hostname):

    [main]
    plugins=keyfile

    [keyfile]
    hostname=YourHostname


Your login issue:
Can you start a X-session by typing startx as user/root? /Edit: Your blue screen seems to be a running X-Session
Did dispatch-conf eventually overwrite /usr/share/config/kdm/kdmrc?

Ralf




This was the message kicked out when NetworkManager was updated:

Quote:
* Messages for package net-misc/networkmanager-0.9.10.1_pre20141101:

* Ifnet plugin is now disabled because of it being unattended
* and unmaintained for a long time, leading to some unfixed bugs
* and new problems appearing. We will now use upstream 'keyfile'
* plugin.
* Because of this, you will likely need to reconfigure some of
* your networks. To do this you can rely on Gnome control center,
* nm-connection-editor or nmtui tools for example once updated
* NetworkManager version is installed.
* You have psk-flags=1 setting in above files, you will need to
* either reconfigure affected networks or, at least, set the flag
* value to '0'.


But I don't have a /etc/Networkmanager/Networkmanager.conf file and I see now that my host name has reverted back to what it was before. But I am looking at it chrooted in the RescueCD. I don't seem to have any problem connecting to a wifi network so I guess it is safe to leave this as is? I also am assuming it isn't related to my DE problem?


Hi Ralf. I am having really strange problems with this. I know it sounds crazy but this will often change on reboot. The system has picked up my original host name from someplace and will use it. Then I reboot and it is the "newhost" thing.Then I'll reboot again and it is my hostname. etc etc etc It is driving me nuts! What should I do with this config file.

I am not having any problems with the network but only connect via WiFi so can't speak to Eth0 yet. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Budoka
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jun 2012
Posts: 667
Location: Tokyo, Japan

PostPosted: Tue Jan 13, 2015 8:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks everyone for the help with the KDE stuff. I will mark this as solved and break off the Network Manager stuff into another thread.

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-7682748.html#7682748
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum