Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Getting a black screen for vnc.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
manu_leo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2014
Posts: 457
Location: India

PostPosted: Fri Jan 02, 2015 1:50 pm    Post subject: Getting a black screen for vnc. Reply with quote

Hi Experts, I am completely confused as to how to get this fixed. When I try to connect using VNC, the connection is established, but I see a black screen with an X on it. The vga card is Matrox. I have installed xfce as the GUI enviornment.

Please let me know if I am missing something here. Appreciate all your help in advance.

Quote:
lspci | grep -i vga
06:03.0 VGA compatible controller: Matrox Electronics Systems Ltd. MGA G200eW WPCM450 (rev 0a)


Quote:
$ cat ~/.vnc/xstartup
#!/bin/sh
[ -x /etc/vnc/xstartup ] && exec /etc/vnc/xstartup
vncconfig -iconic &
xterm -geometry 80x24+10+10 -ls -title "$VNCDESKTOP Desktop" &
gnome-session &
exec startxfce4 --with-ck-launch
#startxfce4


Quote:

/etc/init.d/vnc status
* status: started
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6228
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Fri Jan 02, 2015 2:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

manu_leo ...

No idea about vnc but looking at the above script anything subsequent to the 'exec' will nolonger be executed.

Code:
% cat test.sh
#!/bin/sh
exec echo "hello"
echo "goodbye"
% sh ./test.sh
hello

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43742
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri Jan 02, 2015 2:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

manu_leo,

How do you start your vncserver?

The black screen with an X (the mouse pointer) sounds like raw X. No appr, no window manager.

As you mention the video card, I think you are going te be in for a suprise. vnc on Linux does not normally run in "screen scraper" mode.
Starting a VNC server sets up a pixel buffer in main memory on the host. Indeed, any user can start a number of VNC servers on a host and they are all kept separate.

I don't recognise your ~/.vnc/xstartup as a vncserver startup file but its a while since I used vnc.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
manu_leo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2014
Posts: 457
Location: India

PostPosted: Fri Jan 02, 2015 3:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Neddy, appreciate your help.

I log into the user account, start the vnc server using 'vncserver' and then configure the password vncpasswd. Once this is done, I exit and then configure the /etc/conf.d/vnc file with the username followed by port numbers.

The X I see is because vnc is not able to find appropriate enviornment to use . I configure xfce for this purpose. Do I need to install gnome to make it work ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43742
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri Jan 02, 2015 4:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

manu_leo,

vncserver reads a config file on startup.

When its running, it will appear in your process list with all the options tat have been passed to it.
There will be a number of child processes too.

What does
Code:
ps -Alf
tell about vncserver and its children?
You may need a very wide terminal.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
manu_leo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2014
Posts: 457
Location: India

PostPosted: Fri Jan 02, 2015 4:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I see the vnc running for all the users.

Quote:

0 S vayala 29063 1 0 80 0 - 4858 - 2014 ? 00:00:00 Xvnc :2 -desktop X -httpd /usr/share/tightvnc/classes -auth /home/vayala/.Xauthority -geometr
0 S asri 29181 1 0 80 0 - 4858 - 2014 ? 00:00:00 Xvnc :3 -desktop X -httpd /usr/share/tightvnc/classes -auth /home/asri/.Xauthority -geometry
0 S ctait 29241 1 0 80 0 - 6961 - 2014 ? 00:00:00 Xvnc :5 -desktop X -httpd /usr/share/tightvnc/classes -auth /home/ctait/.Xauthority -geometry
0 S efabian 29271 1 0 80 0 - 4858 - 2014 ? 00:00:00 Xvnc :6 -desktop X -httpd /usr/share/tightvnc/classes -auth /home/efabian/.Xauthority -geomet
0 S fandrea 29302 1 0 80 0 - 4858 - 2014 ? 00:00:00 Xvnc :7 -desktop X -httpd /usr/share/tightvnc/classes -auth /home/fandrea/.Xauthority -geomet
0 S ken 29334 1 0 80 0 - 4858 - 2014 ? 00:00:00 Xvnc :8 -desktop X -httpd /usr/share/tightvnc/classes -auth /home/ken/.Xauthority -geometry 1
0 S ksilva 29368 1 0 80 0 - 4858 - 2014 ? 00:00:00 Xvnc :9 -desktop X -httpd /usr/share/tightvnc/classes -auth /home/ksilva/.Xauthority -geometr
0 S nryzhko+ 29406 1 0 80 0 - 4858 - 2014 ? 00:00:00 Xvnc :10 -desktop X -httpd /usr/share/tightvnc/classes -auth /home/nryzhkova/.Xauthority -geo
0 S rwillis 29441 1 0 80 0 - 4858 - 2014 ? 00:00:00 Xvnc :11 -desktop X -httpd /usr/share/tightvnc/classes -auth /home/rwillis/.Xauthority -geome
0 S tpapami+ 29477 1 0 80 0 - 4858 - 2014 ? 00:00:00 Xvnc :12 -desktop X -httpd /usr/share/tightvnc/classes -auth /home/tpapamichalis/.Xauthority
0 S whan 29513 1 0 80 0 - 4858 - 2014 ? 00:00:00 Xvnc :13 -desktop X -httpd /usr/share/tightvnc/classes -auth /home/whan/.Xauthority -geometry
0 S wsuen 29548 1 0 80 0 - 4858 - 2014 ? 00:00:00 Xvnc :14 -desktop X -httpd /usr/share/tightvnc/classes -auth /home/wsuen/.Xauthority -geometr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43742
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri Jan 02, 2015 5:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

manu_leo,

I wan looking for the command line, which is truncated here.
Try cat /proc/<PID>/cmdline
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
manu_leo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2014
Posts: 457
Location: India

PostPosted: Fri Jan 02, 2015 5:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am sorry, but I dint got the last part u mentioned. For me as well, the initial part is truncated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43742
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri Jan 02, 2015 6:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

manu_leo,

Try
Code:
cat /proc/<PID>/cmdline
where <PID> is
29063 for user vayala, for example.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
manu_leo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2014
Posts: 457
Location: India

PostPosted: Fri Jan 02, 2015 6:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
cat /proc/120000/cmdline
cat: /proc/120000/cmdline: No such file or directory


this is wht I get Neddy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43742
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri Jan 02, 2015 7:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

manu_leo,

Process 120000 can't exist. The process ID is a 16 bit positive integer.

From your earlier ps -Alf paste
Code:
0 S vayala 29063 1 0 80 0 - 4858 - 2014 ? 00:00:00 Xvnc :2 -desktop X -httpd /usr/share/tightvnc/classes -auth /home/vayala/.Xauthority -geometr


vayala is the user
29063 is the process ID
1 is the parent process ID

So for a worked example.
Code:
cat /proc/29063/cmdline

_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum