Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Emerging GNOME without modemmanager use flag
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jhon987
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Nov 2013
Posts: 225

PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2014 9:41 am    Post subject: Emerging GNOME without modemmanager use flag Reply with quote

Hi,
I'm using KDE by default (so I use kde profile) but I want to play around with GNOME, the thing is kde works well without modemanager, ppp, ipv6 and other unnecessary packages which is part of the reason why I love using Gentoo - I can exclude the superfluous.

However when I try to emerge gnome here's what I get:
Code:

# emerge -aD gnome-base/gnome-light

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!

emerge: there are no ebuilds built with USE flags to satisfy ">=net-misc/networkmanager-0.9.8[modemmanager]".
!!! One of the following packages is required to complete your request:
- net-misc/networkmanager-0.9.10.1_pre20141101::gentoo (Change USE: +modemmanager, this change violates use flag constraints defined by net-misc/networkmanager-0.9.10.1_pre20141101: 'modemmanager? ( ppp ) exactly-one-of ( nss gnutls ) exactly-one-of ( dhclient dhcpcd )')
(dependency required by "gnome-base/gnome-control-center-3.12.1-r1" [ebuild])
(dependency required by "gnome-base/gnome-light-3.12.0" [ebuild])
(dependency required by "gnome-base/gnome-light" [argument])


it would be easiest to just use these use flags yet, since this is Gentoo, I'd rather not too. I've tried creating /etc/portage/profile/use.mask and set it there but to no avail, I also tried specifically masking net-misc/networkmanager but also didn't work.

is there any way this could be done? (is there a way to mask specific use flag?)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
flipnode
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Oct 2004
Posts: 172
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun Dec 28, 2014 3:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes, you can add the package and the removed use flag for that package

/etc/portage/package.use

http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki//etc/portage/package.use
_________________
I think Gentoo is great!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jhon987
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Nov 2013
Posts: 225

PostPosted: Sun Dec 28, 2014 12:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

flipnode wrote:
yes, you can add the package and the removed use flag for that package

/etc/portage/package.use

http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki//etc/portage/package.use


Thanks for replying, however, this doesn't works in this case, check out the code I posted...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
flipnode
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Oct 2004
Posts: 172
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Dec 29, 2014 2:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If i'm not mistaken you need to switch your profile to the Desktop profile

Code:
#eselect profile list

Then
Code:
#eselect profile set <num here for Desktop profile>

Then run your command again for gnome
_________________
I think Gentoo is great!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
flipnode
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Oct 2004
Posts: 172
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Dec 29, 2014 2:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The other option if you do not want to change your profile is to do the following

Modify
Code:
/etc/portage/make.conf
add to USE="dbus gtk gnome qt4 kde"


gt4 and kde are probably set by your profile already

then

Code:

emerge gnome-base/gnome-light

_________________
I think Gentoo is great!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jhon987
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Nov 2013
Posts: 225

PostPosted: Mon Dec 29, 2014 3:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

flipnode wrote:
The other option if you do not want to change your profile is to do the following

Modify
Code:
/etc/portage/make.conf
add to USE="dbus gtk gnome qt4 kde"


gt4 and kde are probably set by your profile already

then

Code:

emerge gnome-base/gnome-light


My friend, you're missing the point here. I know I can emerge GNOME. I just don't want it to bring modemmanager along with it!
it seems though as if modemmanager (for some unknown reason) has been hardcoded as a dependency for gnome, see what happens when I remove it after I've already emerged gnome:

Code:
# emerge -Ca modemmanager
 * This action can remove important packages! In order to be safer, use
 * `emerge -pv --depclean <atom>` to check for reverse dependencies before
 * removing packages.

>>> These are the packages that would be unmerged:

 net-misc/modemmanager
    selected: 1.4.0
   protected: none
     omitted: none

All selected packages: =net-misc/modemmanager-1.4.0

>>> 'Selected' packages are slated for removal.
>>> 'Protected' and 'omitted' packages will not be removed.

Would you like to unmerge these packages? [Yes/No]
>>> Waiting 5 seconds before starting...
>>> (Control-C to abort)...
>>> Unmerging in: 5 4 3 2 1
>>> Unmerging (1 of 1) net-misc/modemmanager-1.4.0...
>>> needed   sym /usr/lib64/libmm-glib.so.0
>>> needed   obj /usr/lib64/libmm-glib.so.0.2.0
 * Updating desktop mime database ...
 * Updating shared mime info database ...
 * Updating icons cache ...                                            [ ok ]

 * GNU info directory index is up-to-date.

!!! existing preserved libs:
>>> package: net-misc/modemmanager-1.4.0
 *  - /usr/lib64/libmm-glib.so.0
 *  - /usr/lib64/libmm-glib.so.0.2.0
 *      used by /usr/bin/gnome-control-center (gnome-base/gnome-control-center-3.12.1-r1)
 *      used by /usr/lib64/NetworkManager/libnm-wwan.so (net-misc/networkmanager-0.9.10.1_pre20141101)
 *      used by /usr/libexec/geoclue (app-misc/geoclue-2.1.10)
Use emerge @preserved-rebuild to rebuild packages using these libraries
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
flipnode
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Oct 2004
Posts: 172
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Dec 29, 2014 3:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jhon987 wrote:
flipnode wrote:
The other option if you do not want to change your profile is to do the following

Modify
Code:
/etc/portage/make.conf
add to USE="dbus gtk gnome qt4 kde"


gt4 and kde are probably set by your profile already

then

Code:

emerge gnome-base/gnome-light


My friend, you're missing the point here. I know I can emerge GNOME. I just don't want it to bring modemmanager along with it!
it seems though as if modemmanager (for some unknown reason) has been hardcoded as a dependency for gnome, see what happens when I remove it after I've already emerged gnome:

Code:
# emerge -Ca modemmanager
 * This action can remove important packages! In order to be safer, use
 * `emerge -pv --depclean <atom>` to check for reverse dependencies before
 * removing packages.

>>> These are the packages that would be unmerged:

 net-misc/modemmanager
    selected: 1.4.0
   protected: none
     omitted: none

All selected packages: =net-misc/modemmanager-1.4.0

>>> 'Selected' packages are slated for removal.
>>> 'Protected' and 'omitted' packages will not be removed.

Would you like to unmerge these packages? [Yes/No]
>>> Waiting 5 seconds before starting...
>>> (Control-C to abort)...
>>> Unmerging in: 5 4 3 2 1
>>> Unmerging (1 of 1) net-misc/modemmanager-1.4.0...
>>> needed   sym /usr/lib64/libmm-glib.so.0
>>> needed   obj /usr/lib64/libmm-glib.so.0.2.0
 * Updating desktop mime database ...
 * Updating shared mime info database ...
 * Updating icons cache ...                                            [ ok ]

 * GNU info directory index is up-to-date.

!!! existing preserved libs:
>>> package: net-misc/modemmanager-1.4.0
 *  - /usr/lib64/libmm-glib.so.0
 *  - /usr/lib64/libmm-glib.so.0.2.0
 *      used by /usr/bin/gnome-control-center (gnome-base/gnome-control-center-3.12.1-r1)
 *      used by /usr/lib64/NetworkManager/libnm-wwan.so (net-misc/networkmanager-0.9.10.1_pre20141101)
 *      used by /usr/libexec/geoclue (app-misc/geoclue-2.1.10)
Use emerge @preserved-rebuild to rebuild packages using these libraries


My bad.
The modemmanager depend is being used by the following packages. As we dig deeper here.

Code:

app-misc / geoclue : A geoinformation D-Bus service

gnome-base / gnome-control-center : GNOME's main interface to configure various aspects of the desktop

gnome-extra / cinnamon-control-center : Cinnamons's main interface to configure various aspects of the desktop

gnome-extra / nm-applet : GNOME applet for NetworkManager

net-misc / networkmanager : Universal network configuration daemon for laptops, desktops, servers and virtualization hosts

_________________
I think Gentoo is great!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dlaor
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Jan 2008
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Mon Dec 29, 2014 4:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It looks to me as if, as you have already noticed from emerge's output, networkmanager and modemmanager are hard dependencies of gnome-control-center, which is itself a fundamental part of gnome.

The commit

http://sources.gentoo.org/cgi-bin/viewvc.cgi/gentoo-x86/gnome-base/gnome-control-center/files/gnome-control-center-3.12.1-optional-r1.patch?revision=1.1&view=markup

shows that Gentoo's gnome-team has tried to make these managers optional, but that it turned out to be too hard; they write

Quote:
Dropped mm from this revision of the patch since it appears more
complicated than ever to split it from the network panel.


In conclusion, the answer to jhon987's original question seems to be: "It is not possible at this moment. It might be possible, but you will have to do some work."

Hope this helps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jhon987
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Nov 2013
Posts: 225

PostPosted: Tue Dec 30, 2014 8:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dlaor wrote:
It looks to me as if, as you have already noticed from emerge's output, networkmanager and modemmanager are hard dependencies of gnome-control-center, which is itself a fundamental part of gnome.

The commit

http://sources.gentoo.org/cgi-bin/viewvc.cgi/gentoo-x86/gnome-base/gnome-control-center/files/gnome-control-center-3.12.1-optional-r1.patch?revision=1.1&view=markup

shows that Gentoo's gnome-team has tried to make these managers optional, but that it turned out to be too hard; they write

Quote:
Dropped mm from this revision of the patch since it appears more
complicated than ever to split it from the network panel.


In conclusion, the answer to jhon987's original question seems to be: "It is not possible at this moment. It might be possible, but you will have to do some work."

Hope this helps.


Thank you! I had a feeling this would be the final answer, though I've decided to give it a shot anyways...
Also thanks Gentoo devs who at least tried, perhaps they'll succeed in a later version.

If I may add, this is my personal opinion I wish to express:
You know, up to now, I wasn't really involved or took any side with what's going on around GNOME and systemd recently, but lately I've found there are 2 things which really discourage my support in either of which.
Namely, when they make (IMHO) silly decisions as the one in question on this thread, or when systemd forcibly make you have ipv6 enabled in kernel (https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-7394544.html) - this kind of things really gets to me, it takes all the fun and the well deserved satisfaction out of running Linux, Gentoo in particular, since what's the point in going through all the trouble of learning a new system (Linux) and go through the tedious process of installing / compiling Gentoo when you can't control what stays in and what goes out :?: :?: :?:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum