Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
eth0 doesn't exist after first gentoo installation
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Nadebu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Dec 2014
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Thu Dec 04, 2014 7:54 pm    Post subject: eth0 doesn't exist after first gentoo installation Reply with quote

Hello everyone,

This is my first time ever installing any kind of Linux OS - and gentoo is really awesome..

[Coming from a 6 years Windows Sys Admin]

This is on VMware Workstation for testing purposes..

I've managed to successfully compile the kernel and boot into gentoo,

yet while I go to ifconfig -a I can't see eth0 anywhere.

I've emerged dhcpcd while I was on the livecd, and I've also edited conf.d and used rc-update to shove it to load on start-up.

From what I've understood, my kernel doesn't load the right module.. I've tried alot of methods yet I'm still stuck with this.

here's my lspci : http://i62.tinypic.com/2hofl0w.jpg
lsmod on liveCD : http://i59.tinypic.com/2qt9ts1.png
lsmod on Gentoo : http://i57.tinypic.com/ouce8h.png

Thanks in advance,
Nadav
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xaviermiller
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 23 Jul 2004
Posts: 8070
Location: ~Brussels - Belgique

PostPosted: Thu Dec 04, 2014 8:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

With newer udev or systemd, the ethernet interface is not named eth0, but for example en4ps3.

Can you provide the output of ifconfig ?
_________________
Kind regards,
Xavier Miller
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nadebu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Dec 2014
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Thu Dec 04, 2014 8:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey, thanks alot for your fast reply!

here's my ifconfig -a :

http://i58.tinypic.com/33u78lg.png
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43747
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Dec 04, 2014 8:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nadebu,

Welcome to Gentoo.

Your lsmod images are truncated. No matter,
That PCnet32 network interface is very old. It maay not be made in your kernel.

Heres what the kernel help says
Code:
  ┌──────────────────────────────── AMD PCnet32 PCI support ─────────────────────────────────┐
  │ CONFIG_PCNET32:                                                                          │ 
  │                                                                                          │ 
  │ If you have a PCnet32 or PCnetPCI based network (Ethernet) card,                         │ 
  │ answer Y here and read the Ethernet-HOWTO, available from                                │ 
  │ <http://www.tldp.org/docs.html#howto>.                                                   │ 
  │                                                                                          │ 
  │ To compile this driver as a module, choose M here. The module                            │ 
  │ will be called pcnet32.                                                                  │ 
  │                                                                                          │ 
  │ Symbol: PCNET32 [=n]                                                                     │ 
  │ Type  : tristate                                                                         │ 
  │ Prompt: AMD PCnet32 PCI support                                                          │ 
  │   Location:                                                                              │ 
  │     -> Device Drivers                                                                    │ 
  │       -> Network device support (NETDEVICES [=y])                                        │ 
  │         -> Ethernet driver support (ETHERNET [=y])                                       │ 
  │           -> AMD devices (NET_VENDOR_AMD [=y])                                           │ 
  │   Defined at drivers/net/ethernet/amd/Kconfig:58                                         │ 
  │   Depends on: NETDEVICES [=y] && ETHERNET [=y] && NET_VENDOR_AMD [=y] && PCI [=y]        │ 
  │   Selects: CRC32 [=y] && MII [=y]

So
Code:
modprobe pcnet32
is a good start. Does you ethernet appear then?

If not, what does grep PCNET32 /usr/src/linux/.config show?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nadebu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Dec 2014
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Thu Dec 04, 2014 8:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey :)

I've tried modprobe pcnet32.. didn't work.

Here's the output of grep PCNET32:

CONFIG_PCNET32=m
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43747
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Dec 04, 2014 8:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nadebu,

CONFIG_PCNET32=m is a good sign.

What error did you got from modprobe?
A return to the command prompt with no output means that it worked.

What interfaces does
Code:
ifconfig -a
list after the modprobe?
Code:
dmesg | grep -A10 eth0
may well show eth0 being renamed.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nadebu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Dec 2014
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Thu Dec 04, 2014 8:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey,

By "didn't work" I meant as I didn't get the networking to work yet :D

The command executed fine.

Here is dmesg, I see it was renamed to a whole different name?

http://postimg.org/image/ro6je50xd/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43747
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Dec 04, 2014 8:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nadebu,

Thats udev taking eth0 and ripping its head off.
The feature is called persistent device naming.

You can either disable persistent device naming or go with the new name.
Code:
dhcpcd eno16777736
should bring up the interface, if you have dhcpcd installed.
I think the name wrapped in your console image.

As the interface was renamed before root was mounted (your modprobe loaded a module that was already loaded), I guess that you are either using systemd or don't have dhcpcd installed.
openrc with dhcpcd would tave started the interface, even though its been renamed.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nadebu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Dec 2014
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Thu Dec 04, 2014 9:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It worked, thanks alot!

I have in init.d/net a configuration called "config_eth0=dhcp"

while I was on chroot on livecd.

should I change it to the new interface name and add "dhcp"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7249
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Thu Dec 04, 2014 9:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you using systemd.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xaviermiller
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 23 Jul 2004
Posts: 8070
Location: ~Brussels - Belgique

PostPosted: Thu Dec 04, 2014 9:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

With openrc, you can simply add dhcpcd as boot service, and remove net.eth" services, as described in TIP: Complete network stack without net.* scripts
_________________
Kind regards,
Xavier Miller
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WWWW
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Nov 2014
Posts: 143

PostPosted: Fri Dec 05, 2014 12:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

remarkable from win straight to gentoo!

It is worth mentioning that both Gentoo (linux in general in the kernel) and vmware do have virtual interfaces solutions. If you get to know this now that you are using a VM it opens up more option for networking in the future. Not to mention that you'll familiarize with modern net VM solutions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum