Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[Solved] Cannot connect to wgetpaste?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54216
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2015 4:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mark2,

Please pastebin /var/log/Xorg.0.log so we can see what Xorg did when it started.

If you have a /etc/X11/xorg.conf pastebin that too.
Its OK not to have this file to start with.

Lastly, pastebin your kernel configurations file. It's at /usr/src/linux/.config
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mark2
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 May 2012
Posts: 293
Location: South Carolina

PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2015 4:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wgetpaste /var/log/Xorg.0.log provides:
Code:
http://dpaste.com/0A5AN6V

and wgetpaste /etc/X11/xorg.conf gives:
Code:
http://dpaste.com/1BRKNV4

Finally, wgetpaste /usr/src/linux/.config shows:
Code:
http://dpaste.com/2F63D23


Update 9/18: I looked at nvidia's web site and searching for drivers based on my hardware and OS, it says nvidia version 340.93. Yet I do an emerge and it pulls up version 340.76, but errors out saying that it can't use it unless the kernel is 3.18. Mine is 4.0.5.

Hope this is useful.
Thanks.
_________________
Thanks,
Mark
__________________________________________________________________
"Flying is learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss." - Douglas Adams
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mark2
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 May 2012
Posts: 293
Location: South Carolina

PostPosted: Sat Sep 19, 2015 1:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did modify my make.conf to take out nvidia in VIDEO_CARDS:
Code:
# These settings were set by the catalyst build script that automatically
# built this stage.
# Please consult /usr/share/portage/config/make.conf.example for a more
# detailed example.
CFLAGS="-march=athlon64 -O2 -pipe"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"
# WARNING: Changing your CHOST is not something that should be done lightly.
# Please consult http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/change-chost.xml before changing.
CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
# These are the USE flags that were used in addition to what is provided by the
# profile used for building.
USE="bindist mmx sse sse2 nvidia gtk -gnome -kde -minimal -qt4 dbus jpeg lock session startup-notification thunar udev svg X"
PORTDIR="/usr/portage"
DISTDIR="${PORTDIR}/distfiles"
PKGDIR="${PORTDIR}/packages"

MAKEOPTS="-j3"
INPUT_DEVICES="evdev"
VIDEO_CARDS="nouveau"
XFCE_PLUGINS="brightness clock trash"

#SYNC="rsync://rsync3.us.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage"

_________________
Thanks,
Mark
__________________________________________________________________
"Flying is learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss." - Douglas Adams
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54216
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Sep 19, 2015 3:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mark2,

The latest nvidia-drivers doen not support your GPU any more, so it never finds a graphics chip that it can use.
Code:
[ 10648.245] (WW) NVIDIA(0): The NVIDIA Quadro FX 580 GPU installed in this system is
[ 10648.245] (WW) NVIDIA(0):     supported through the NVIDIA 340.xx Legacy drivers. Please
[ 10648.245] (WW) NVIDIA(0):     visit http://www.nvidia.com/object/unix.html for more
[ 10648.245] (WW) NVIDIA(0):     information.  The 352.30 NVIDIA driver will ignore this
[ 10648.245] (WW) NVIDIA(0):     GPU. 

You need to tell portage to use the nvidia-drivers-340.xx versions.

Your xorg.conf is overly complete. To get you going.
Code:
Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
EndSection
is enough.

Code:
Section "InputDevice"
can be added later if you do not like a USA keymap.

Your kernel is correct for supporting nvidia-drivers.

Your problem in that the old nvidia drivers has not kept up with kernel development and only nVidia can fix it.
Code:
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 13442 Sep  5 14:31 nvidia-drivers-340.93.ebuild
shows that 340.93 has been in portace since 5 Sep.
Looking inside the ebuild shows
Code:
KEYWORDS="-* ~amd64 ~x86 ~amd64-fbsd ~x86-fbsd"
so its still in testing. That means its keyword masked for you.

You have learned to mask higher versions or you would not get version 340.76. You need to both mask and keyword nvidia-drivers to get nvidia-drivers-340.93.

The mask will prevent versions >= 341 being considered.
The keyword will allow portage to consider testing nvidia-drivers, so you get 340.93.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mark2
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 May 2012
Posts: 293
Location: South Carolina

PostPosted: Sun Sep 20, 2015 2:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

First off, thanks, NeddySeagoon, for taking the time to read through those pastes. I have trouble understanding what they are telling me. Although I can read through it, I just don't really know linux well enough at this level to make sense of it all without a degree of hand holding.

You've referred to the xorg.conf that shows
Code:
Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
EndSection

to say that is what I need to get going. But that IS what I have. So it should work from that standpoint as I understand it. Oh, and btw, I am in the USA so that keymap is ok and what I selected through the install.

But in my /etc/portage/package.mask/nvidia-drivers, I have
Code:
>=x11-drivers/nvidia-drivers-341.0.0


So do I also add
Code:
KEYWORDS="nvidia-drivers"

to that same file? If not, then which keywords and where? And when I take out the = sign in the preceeding code, and try to emerge --ask --verbose x11-drivers/nvidia-drivers, I still am showing the 352.30 like so
Code:
[ebuild   UD x11-drivers/nvidia-drivers-340.76::gentoo [352.30::gentoo] USE="X acpi multilib tools -pax_kernel -uvm (-gtk2%*) (-gtk3%)" 0KiB
Total: 1 package (1 downgrade), Size of downloads: 0KiB
Would you like to merge these packages? [Yes/No]

Well, the keyword nvidia-drivers does not work in the /etc/portage/package.mask/nvidia-drivers file. So where does it go? And if I have 352.30 installed, how do I get rid of it?

[edit]Ok, so I found I should create a file /etc/portage/package.accept_keywords and call it nvidia. But I haven't found the correct keyword to add to it because I keep getting the same error as above.[/edit]

Thanks,
Mark
_________________
Thanks,
Mark
__________________________________________________________________
"Flying is learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss." - Douglas Adams
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54216
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Sep 20, 2015 10:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mark2,

The rest ouf your xorg.conf file is either incorrect or not required.
All of your Input Devices will use the evdev driver and will be auto added.
You may not even have the mouse and keyboard drivers you have called up installed.
You might not have the /dev entries where you xorg.conf says they are attached either.
Minimal is good.
If you want to change keyboards or do key swapping, or add extra mouse buttons, set up a left handahd mouse, do that after Xorg works.
Then it will be obvious that you don't have any mouse and/or keyboard in Xorg because you messed up xorg.conf.

Your /etc/portage/package.mask/nvidia-drivers is correct.
Keywords use similar formats but go in a different file.

Read
Code:
man portage
Near the top is a section headed /etc/portage/ which lists all the files and directories that can appear in /etc/portage/.
Notice package.accept_keywords which is the new name for package.keywords.
Now skip down a lot and you will come to another /etc/portage/ heading, this time with an explaination of what goes in each file and what each file does.

Read about package.accept_keywords / package.keywords.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mark2
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 May 2012
Posts: 293
Location: South Carolina

PostPosted: Sun Sep 20, 2015 7:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, things got a little more interesting. I was able to finally figure out how to set the KEYWORDS. And I got version 340.93 to successfully install.

At the end, it tells me that I need to update a config file: /etc/udev/udev.conf needs updating and to look at man emerge under Configuration Files to see how to update. I did that and it said to add CONFIG_PROTECT_MASK="/etc/udev/udev.conf" to make .conf. I did that and re-ran emerge x11-drivers/nvidia-drivers. Still went through successfully, but same message at the end. I did notice in one pause while it was doing the extract that a message line stated that there was an incorrect kernel configuration, but it did complete successfully and installed the nvidia module.

However, when I modprobe nvidia I get an error that it could not insert 'nvidia': Unknown symbol in module, or unknown parameter (see dmesg). So I did dmesg nvidia, pasted it and got the output here: http://dpaste.com/2AT5H9T

Maybe I need to reconfigure the kernel?

Thanks,
Mark
_________________
Thanks,
Mark
__________________________________________________________________
"Flying is learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss." - Douglas Adams
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tony0945
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 5127
Location: Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Sun Sep 20, 2015 8:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You should have a file with a name something like /var/log/portage/elog/x11-drivers:nvidia-drivers-340.93:20150920-201008.log This has the messages that were issued during the emerge. Please pastebin it. The name won't be exactly that because a timestamp is embedded in it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mark2
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 May 2012
Posts: 293
Location: South Carolina

PostPosted: Sun Sep 20, 2015 8:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, Tony0945.

Sorry, I do not have /var/log/portage/elog/<with that long name>. The only thing in ../elog directory is one file called Summary.log and it didn't look like it had anything to do with our subject.

I did look through my latest paste and found this line:
Code:
[   14.267144] nvidia: module license 'NVIDIA' taints kernel.


but I've not finished reading it yet. The link is in my last post above.

Thanks,
Mark
_________________
Thanks,
Mark
__________________________________________________________________
"Flying is learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss." - Douglas Adams
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54216
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Sep 20, 2015 8:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mark2,

Heres all your missing symbols.
Code:
[   14.283504] nvidia: Unknown symbol drm_open (err 0)
[   14.283549] nvidia: Unknown symbol drm_poll (err 0)
[   14.283589] nvidia: Unknown symbol drm_pci_init (err 0)
[   14.283695] nvidia: Unknown symbol drm_gem_prime_handle_to_fd (err 0)
[   14.283738] nvidia: Unknown symbol drm_gem_private_object_init (err 0)
[   14.283787] nvidia: Unknown symbol drm_gem_mmap (err 0)
[   14.283817] nvidia: Unknown symbol drm_ioctl (err 0)
[   14.283845] nvidia: Unknown symbol i2c_del_adapter (err 0)
[   14.283883] nvidia: Unknown symbol drm_gem_object_free (err 0)
[   14.283936] nvidia: Unknown symbol drm_read (err 0)
[   14.283991] nvidia: Unknown symbol drm_gem_handle_create (err 0)
[   14.284026] nvidia: Unknown symbol drm_prime_pages_to_sg (err 0)
[   14.284085] nvidia: Unknown symbol i2c_add_adapter (err 0)
[   14.284114] nvidia: Unknown symbol drm_pci_set_busid (err 0)
[   14.284182] nvidia: Unknown symbol drm_pci_exit (err 0)
[   14.284231] nvidia: Unknown symbol drm_release (err 0)
[   14.284260] nvidia: Unknown symbol drm_gem_prime_export (err 0)


Grepping the kernel source for drm_poll shows
Code:
 /usr/src/linux $ grep -R drm_poll ./*
./drivers/gpu/drm/drm_fops.c:unsigned int drm_poll(struct file *filp, struct poll_table_struct *wait)
./drivers/gpu/drm/drm_fops.c:EXPORT_SYMBOL(drm_poll);
among lots of other things.
So drm_poll is declared in and exported from the file ./drivers/gpu/drm/drm_fops.c, in full, that's
/usr/src/linux/drivers/gpu/drm/drm_fops.c
Maybe all the drm_symboles come from the same kernel option.

Looking at your kernel .config at http://dpaste.com/2F63D23 you have

Code:
# Direct Rendering Manager
#
# CONFIG_DRM is not set

You need that. The menu item is
Code:
<*> Direct Rendering Manager (XFree86 4.1.0 and higher DRI support)  --->

All the things inside the menu can be off. Only
Code:
< >   Nouveau (NVIDIA) cards
must be off, as its the kernel part of the driver for the open source nVidia driver. It will grab your card and prevent nvidia from loading.

Repeating the above for i2c_del_adapter gives.
Code:
./drivers/i2c/i2c-core.c:void i2c_del_adapter(struct i2c_adapter *adap)
./drivers/i2c/i2c-core.c:EXPORT_SYMBOL(i2c_del_adapter);

Which I think you have.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mark2
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 May 2012
Posts: 293
Location: South Carolina

PostPosted: Sun Sep 20, 2015 8:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you NeddySeagoon, I saw those but didn't quite know what to do about it. I will go back into the kernel configuration and make changes there.

Btw, I changed my default paste service back to bpaste, and find that it has begun working once more. So I ran the dmesg nvidia once more and it had a little more (about 20 more lines), but not sure if they were important or not. But here is the link to that: https://bpaste.net/show/921c418d4363.

Also, btw, did anyone notice last night that the forum was down? I could not get in for several hours.

Thanks,
Mark
_________________
Thanks,
Mark
__________________________________________________________________
"Flying is learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss." - Douglas Adams
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54216
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Sep 20, 2015 8:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mark2,

It looks like the same stuff repeated, as if modprobe tried to load nvidia several times before it gave up.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mark2
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 May 2012
Posts: 293
Location: South Carolina

PostPosted: Sun Sep 20, 2015 9:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon,

Yes, you are right. I've made the change for DRM, but I've no idea where to find the i2c_del_adapter settings. I am just about ready to make && make modules_install.

[edit]Ooops, I found i2c_del_adapter stuff.[/edit]

Thanks,
Mark
_________________
Thanks,
Mark
__________________________________________________________________
"Flying is learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss." - Douglas Adams
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mark2
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 May 2012
Posts: 293
Location: South Carolina

PostPosted: Sun Sep 20, 2015 9:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also remembered setting the nouveau (Nvidia) in the DRM. I had gone through the Xorg guide and it's on the wiki here: https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Xorg/Guide.

Why? Does the wiki need to be updated, or am I missing something here? Not unusual in my case... :)

Thanks,
Mark
_________________
Thanks,
Mark
__________________________________________________________________
"Flying is learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss." - Douglas Adams
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mark2
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 May 2012
Posts: 293
Location: South Carolina

PostPosted: Sun Sep 20, 2015 9:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, rebooted after all that and still no joy. Cannot modprobe nvidia and now it looks like there even more missing symbols.

Here is another paste: https://bpaste.net/show/8fb771908649

Thanks,
Mark
_________________
Thanks,
Mark
__________________________________________________________________
"Flying is learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss." - Douglas Adams
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54216
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Sep 20, 2015 9:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mark2,

The wiki page makes the unstated assumption that you will be using open source drivers for Xorg.
So the following is correct.
Code:
Device Drivers --->
   Graphics support --->
      Direct Rendering Manager (XFree86 4.1.0 and higher DRI support) --->
         <*>  Nouveau (nVidia) cards


The nvdia-drivers wiki page should tell you to turn it off if its on.

Its all a question of where do you start from. If you start from a clean kernel configuration, then both pages are correct.
as
Code:
< >  Nouveau (nVidia) cards
is off. Nouveau users need to turn it on and its already off for nvidia-drivers users.
Neither page is adequate for switching between the two options.

Feel free to fix the wiki.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mark2
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 May 2012
Posts: 293
Location: South Carolina

PostPosted: Sun Sep 20, 2015 10:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon,

Hmmm, so since I installed the nvidia-drivers-340.93, I guess I need to change my make.conf again and take out nouveau and put back in nvidia in VIDEO_CARDS as the Gentoo page on Nvidia states. Then run emerge @module-rebuild. And keep going per instructions.

Ah well, in progress...

Thanks,
Mark
_________________
Thanks,
Mark
__________________________________________________________________
"Flying is learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss." - Douglas Adams
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mark2
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 May 2012
Posts: 293
Location: South Carolina

PostPosted: Sun Sep 20, 2015 11:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Still can't load modprobe nvidia. See https://bpaste.net/show/ea76c219cd48

Thanks,
Mark
_________________
Thanks,
Mark
__________________________________________________________________
"Flying is learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss." - Douglas Adams
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tony0945
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 5127
Location: Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Mon Sep 21, 2015 12:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mark2 wrote:
NeddySeagoon,

Hmmm, so since I installed the nvidia-drivers-340.93, I guess I need to change my make.conf again and take out nouveau and put back in nvidia in VIDEO_CARDS as the Gentoo page on Nvidia states. Then run emerge @module-rebuild. And keep going per instructions.

Ah well, in progress...

Thanks,
Mark


Absolutely! Whenever you change your make.conf, you should run "emerge -auvND @world" to pick up the changes. I've also found it helpful when changing x11-drivers to "emerge -1 $(qlist -IC x11-drivers)" just to make sure that they are all rebuilt properly. That is probably overkill, but with all the time you have already spent, it's not much.

I don't know why you don't have elog files. It's some portage setting, I suppose. I don't know which setting. I've always had them. They often contain error messages about the kernel. In this case, the log may well have complained about the missing CONFIG_DRM. That sort of thing isn't automatically though. The ebuild dev has to put the check into the ebuild.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mark2
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 May 2012
Posts: 293
Location: South Carolina

PostPosted: Mon Sep 21, 2015 3:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tony0945 wrote:

Absolutely! Whenever you change your make.conf, you should run "emerge -auvND @world" to pick up the changes. I've also found it helpful when changing x11-drivers to "emerge -1 $(qlist -IC x11-drivers)" just to make sure that they are all rebuilt properly. That is probably overkill, but with all the time you have already spent, it's not much.


Thanks, Tony0945.

I did all that, followed with the world update. When I tried the "emerge -1qlist -IC x11-drivers)", it had something in it about nouveau which didn't look right to me, so I instead did an emerge --depclean and it unmerged 19 things. The next time I did the "emerge -1qlist -IC x11-drivers)", it did just fine and also emerged an ev-dev package along with it. I thought it might now be able to run startx, but the error was different this time. It complains that it cannot 'insert nvidia: Exec format error'. I will Google that to see what gives.

I think I'm getting close.

Thanks,
Mark
_________________
Thanks,
Mark
__________________________________________________________________
"Flying is learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss." - Douglas Adams
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tony0945
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 5127
Location: Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Mon Sep 21, 2015 1:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Regarding no elog files, see the handbook wiki here https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Handbook:AMD64/Full/Portage In particular:
Quote:
Logging features
Ebuild logging

Portage can create per-ebuild log files, but only when the PORT_LOGDIR variable is set to a location that is writable by Portage (through the Portage user). By default this variable is unset. If PORT_LOGDIR is not set, then there will not be any build logs with the current logging system, though users may receive some logs from the new elog support.


Strangely enough, I do not have that set in my make.conf, but I do have these lines:
Quote:
PORTAGE_ELOG_CLASSES="info error log"
PORTAGE_ELOG_SYSTEM="save"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54216
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Sep 21, 2015 4:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mark2,

Code:
Exec format error
covers a multitude of things.

dmesg may say more.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mark2
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 May 2012
Posts: 293
Location: South Carolina

PostPosted: Mon Sep 21, 2015 9:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, well, first things first.

Tony0945: I added the lines to make.conf and ran "emerge -auvDN @world" which said there was nothing to do.

NeddySeagoon: I did modprobe nvidia then dmesg nvidia | wgetpaste, which produced this link: https://bpaste.net/show/9b7f938f011c.

I see this at the end which I had not seen before. Looks significant.
Code:
[15475.902419] nvidia: disagrees about version of symbol module_layout
[15503.556735] nvidia: disagrees about version of symbol module_layout
[15536.990472] nvidia: disagrees about version of symbol module_layout
[80110.760939] nvidia: disagrees about version of symbol module_layout

_________________
Thanks,
Mark
__________________________________________________________________
"Flying is learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss." - Douglas Adams
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54216
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Sep 21, 2015 9:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mark2,

You still have
Code:
[  232.788343] nvidia: Unknown symbol drm_open (err 0)
[  232.788388] nvidia: Unknown symbol drm_poll (err 0)
...
which suggests that you are not running your new kernel.

Check the time/date in
Code:
uname -a
thats the build time/date of the running kernel.

Did you forget to mount /boot for the kernel install?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mark2
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 May 2012
Posts: 293
Location: South Carolina

PostPosted: Mon Sep 21, 2015 11:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Something very unexpected happened. I found this thread where the OP outlined his steps to solve his problem:
Code:
#genkernel all
#emerge nvidia-drivers
#modprobe nvidia
#nvidia-xconfig
#startx


I did the same and my xfce desktop appeared. Also, my dual monitors are working. I want to switch to this new environment as I have been using a Mac book to troubleshoot and post to this forum. I need to install Firefox.

I hope this will continue upon a reboot, but I will post the results of
Code:
uname -a
The time and date are Sep 7 14:34:31.

I didn't forget to mount /boot, I don't think. I was in the Live CD installing at the time. And I guess I have to be running my new kernel; it's the only one I've got on the system as it is a complete 'wipe the drive and start over'.
_________________
Thanks,
Mark
__________________________________________________________________
"Flying is learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss." - Douglas Adams
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum