Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Advice for a specific setup...
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1602
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Fri Nov 14, 2014 11:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alright, I have a strange issue. This happens virtually in VBox and on real hardware. If I try to bring down ntp or ppp, it tries to bring in the entire X-server and everything. NTP should not require X since it runs at startup. PPP should work on the shell also. When I do "emerge -pv ppp" it has two pages of pulls (133 total) and most of it is X, media, etc. All I have in my make.conf for USE is "-systemd -gnome acpi bindist mmx sse sse2 ssse3 sse4_1". I have no package.use file yet. I am using the kde profile. So what am I doing wrong here?

Oh, and trying to emerge apps-misc/screen also tries dragging down X. Screen is for the shell anyway, which really has me confused.

*EDIT*

Oh, and for some reason GRUB2 is pulling media-libs/libpng. Seems odd for a boot-loader. Is this correct?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54097
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Nov 15, 2014 9:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The_Great_Sephiroth,

Use emerge with the --tree option to see dependancies.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1602
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Sat Nov 15, 2014 3:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alright, this is what I get when I use "emerge --tree -a ppp". I had to take a picture since the laptop in question is not live yet.
Screenshot
As you can see, it appears to want to drag in all kinds of things just for PPP support. PPP is compiled in my kernel. Below are the steps I used to arrive here.

  • Partition disk and format partitions
  • Mount partitions, unzip the tgz to it
  • Did the chroot
  • Set USE flags in make.conf to "-systemd -gnome acpi bindist mmx sse sse2 ssse3 sse4_1"
  • Selected the profile for KDE
  • Selected my locale after generating it per the guide
  • Built kernel, other core things, installed GRUB2
  • Unmounted, rebooted
  • Attempted to install PPP

That's a general run-down, but I can give exact details if needed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1602
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2014 7:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So am I misreading this information or is it actually pulling all of this down for a reason?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54097
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2014 8:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The_Great_Sephiroth,

Something that ppp deponds on has a GUI. As you have the KDE profile selected, portage wants to build the GUI for that dependency.
As you don't even have Xorg yet, portage wants to build you a whole GUI.

Code:
net-dialup/ppp-2.4.7:0/2.4.7  USE="gtk ipv6 pam -activefilter -atm -dhcp -eap-tls -radius" 0 KiB


Try
Code:
USE-gtk emerge -pv net-dialup/ppp
gtk is the Gnome Toolkit, which will provide a GUI for ppp.
If that gets you a smaller package list, if you run the emerge like that portage will not remember the -gtk.
If you really don't want a GUI, turn off gtk for net-dialup/ppp in package.use
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7651
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2014 8:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Typing service 8) : make that
Code:
USE="-gtk" emerge -pv net-dialup/ppp
or with recent 8) knowledge update
Code:
USE=-gtk emerge -pv net-dialup/ppp

_________________
Defund the FCC.


Last edited by DONAHUE on Sun Nov 16, 2014 10:05 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54097
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2014 8:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DONAHUE,

The quotes are only needed for multiple flags but I did miss the =.
Well caught, thank you.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1602
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2014 10:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had left GTK in there because it used to be the GIMP toolkit and did not mind it being used by apps that needed it. I see now that it is no longer referenced as the GIMP toolkit but they say it isn't the Gnome toolkit, yet Gnome devs keep it up. Odd. I don't mind setting the use flag, but I normally pull down GIMP. Will GIMP work without GTK? If so, fine by me!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7651
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2014 10:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
USE=-gtk emerge -pv net-dialup/ppp
changes nothing; it just shows what could happen if USE=-gtk emerge net-dialup/ppp were to be run.
If GIMP means gimp, the GNU Image Manipulation Program,
Code:
USE=-gtk emerge -pv gimp
USE=gtk emerge -pv gimp
will inform.
profiles and use flags can be changed and changed back, sometimes painlessly; sometimes painfully.
_________________
Defund the FCC.


Last edited by DONAHUE on Sun Nov 16, 2014 11:03 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1602
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2014 11:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh I see how that works now! Man that changes things, thanks! I'll report success once I have the laptop up with no issues. You guys have been great since I started playing with Gentoo two or three weeks back.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1602
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Tue Nov 18, 2014 7:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alright, I built X yesterday and built KDE today. I am now building some of the KDE meta-packages. However, I saw something that bugs the crap out of me. I saw it install a package named "config-printer-gnome". I have "-gnome -gtk" in my make.conf file in the USE flags. I also saw something about gkt+ being installed. What gives? I did not enable either of those in package.use and do not want Gnome components on my system.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54097
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Nov 18, 2014 9:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The_Great_Sephiroth,

Show us the output of
Code:
emerge --info
and the content of package.use

You can grep /var/log/emerge.log for gnome things. There is a list of every package emerged and unmerged there.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1602
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Wed Nov 19, 2014 1:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alright, here is the output in a picture. No GTK or Gnome stuff listed under USE.
Screenshot

Here is something disturbing. Multiple Gnome packages have been merged without my knowledge and with my USE flags set to include both -gnome and -gtk. I do not have anything in package.use about Gnome, so I am not sure how it got pulled.
Screenshot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrbassie
l33t
l33t


Joined: 31 May 2013
Posts: 771
Location: over here

PostPosted: Wed Nov 19, 2014 1:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You could emerge gentoolkit and have a look at equery belongs/depends <package>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1602
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Wed Nov 19, 2014 1:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Already figured it out. Why the heck does kde-base/print-manager depend upon the Gnome print stuff? That MUST be a bug. Am I to understand that I cannot print in KDE in Gentoo without Gnome components or is there a way around this? I now have two days compiling X and KDE, and now I just want to zero the disk again because I don't know if I can ever get the Gnome stuff all the way off. Then again, I don't want to wind up reinstalling only to have Gnome on here again.

Don't get me wrong, I am not against Gnome, I just do not like it. I like KDE. If I liked Gnome I'd probably be on a Mac (very similar to Gnome) going to Gentoo, not a Debian PC going to Gentoo. I'm not trying to rant, just frustrated that this got pulled without asking me or anything despite my USE flags.

*EDIT*

Alright, it stems deeper than that. If GTK is installed, it, for unknown reasons, will install the Gnome printer configuration instead of the KDE one. I have GTK masked in my USE flags, but it got pulled by another package. This is what caused the print manager to pull the Gnome one.

Now what I want to know is how GTK AND Gnome got pulled despite being masked in my USE flags?

*EDIT*

Alright, so it appears that x11-misc/xscreensaver depends on x11-libs/gtk+ which in turn depends on GTK. Why the heck does the core X server depend on something from a desktop that runs on top of it? That kind of forces you to have Gnome regardless of your desktop choice. I also see that alsa-tools depends on GTK and qtgui does also. How can I stop these things from being pulled? I don't want ANY Gnome on my system.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 3664

PostPosted: Wed Nov 19, 2014 2:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The_Great_Sephiroth wrote:
Why the heck does the core X server depend on something from a desktop that runs on top of it?
For x11-base/xorg-server I cannot see such dependencies: http://sources.gentoo.org/cgi-bin/viewvc.cgi/gentoo-x86/x11-base/xorg-server/xorg-server-1.15.0.ebuild
Getting rid of gnome packages needs some deeper analyzing their dependencies.

Also, x11-libs/gtk+ will not pull in gnome packages by itself
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1602
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Wed Nov 19, 2014 4:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It won't? I see x11-libs/gtk+-3.12.2 depending on GTK. I came to this with "equery depends gtk+". Doesn't that mean that the library depends on GTK?

*EDIT*

I misread your question. The problem here is the print manager. If the print manager detects GTK, it uses the Gnome version, otherwise the KDE version. I already figured that out, which is what led me to figuring out what pulled GTK in. No GTK means no Gnome stuff.

*EDI*T

I figured it out. I had "-gtk" in the USE flags. I added "-gtk+" and then did "emerge -av world" and NO gnome packages were listed. So apparently I need to add both to my USE flags top prevent GTK from being pulled in, which in turn leads to more stuff being pulled. Correct me if I am wrong.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrbassie
l33t
l33t


Joined: 31 May 2013
Posts: 771
Location: over here

PostPosted: Wed Nov 19, 2014 6:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do
Code:
emerge -pv xscreensaver


and note that one of the dependencies is:
Code:
[ebuild  N     ] gnome-base/libglade-2.6.4-r2:2.0  USE="-static-libs {-test} -tools" ABI_X86="(64) (-32) (-x32)" PYTHON_SINGLE_TARGET="python2_7 (-pypy)" PYTHON_TARGETS="python2_7 (-pypy)" 348 kB


Which is pulled in with or without the gdm flag enabled.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1602
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Wed Nov 19, 2014 9:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I saw that, but if you do not do "-gtk" AND "-gtk+", ppp will pull in a GTK+ control applet or something. Then when you merge the print manager, you get the Gnome print manager instead of the KDE one.

However, this bothers me. I like the X screensavers and they do not pull Gnome stuff in Debian. Why does it do it here? Considering the fact that it is an X component, it should not pull anything from any desktop that sits on top of X, right? With that said, how do I get screensavers without Gnome? tying such a core component to a DE that you do not use is strange. Is it possible to somehow pull the X screensavers without the Gnome stuff?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 8291
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Wed Nov 19, 2014 11:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

GTK toolkit is used by Gnome, correct. But it does not mean GTK = Gnome.
_________________
My Gentoo installation notes.
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 3664

PostPosted: Thu Nov 20, 2014 8:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The_Great_Sephiroth wrote:
I like the X screensavers and they do not pull Gnome stuff in Debian. Why does it do it here?
There is a hard dependency to libglade: http://sources.gentoo.org/cgi-bin/viewvc.cgi/gentoo-x86/x11-misc/xscreensaver/xscreensaver-5.30.ebuild
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1602
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Thu Nov 20, 2014 1:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jag, I understand that GTK does not mean Gnome, but what I am seeing is that packages will pull a KDE version in, unless GTK is detected. So once GTK is on the system it means that even a KDE app would work, it pulls the Gnome version in. Is there a way to stop that?

Charles, thanks for the link. I guess I don't get screensavers. This changes a lot for me. I know it may seem silly to many, but I enjoy having screensavers on my systems. I simply do not want Gnome stuff on my system. I need to figure out what to do now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
steveL
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 5153
Location: The Peanut Gallery

PostPosted: Thu Nov 20, 2014 2:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The_Great_Sephiroth wrote:
I like the X screensavers and they do not pull Gnome stuff in Debian. Why does it do it here?
..
I know it may seem silly to many, but I enjoy having screensavers on my systems. I simply do not want Gnome stuff on my system. I need to figure out what to do now.

That's not silly. Whoever's trying to tell you that is feeding you a crock, likely as justification for breaking what used to work fine.

Just patch the ebuild in a local overlay. It's easy, and lots of people do it, all the time, so you won't have any trouble getting help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1602
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Thu Nov 20, 2014 7:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, Steve! I'll do that in my virtual system tonight. If I can get it to work, I will do it on the laptop tomorrow. I zeroed my disk and reinstalled. I have the core X server (xorg-server) installed and am stuck because the minimal support K desktop pulls xscreensaver, which pulls the Gnome stuff and GTK.

I do want to offer my reason for disliking Gnome. I have toyed with Gnome before and believed it was pretty good, but I have a HUGE disdain for them now due to them falling in love with systemd. My whole point of moving to Gentoo was to escape systemd and if Gnome pulls in, how long until my systemd-free, KDE system is required to pull systemd as some dependency? I suppose if systemd ever takes over all distros and we're all running the same exact distro I'll be stuck with Windows until a new "Linux" is built.

Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54097
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Nov 20, 2014 8:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The_Great_Sephiroth,

Quote:
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
That wolud be a great tagline.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 3 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum