Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
xorg won't start - no screens found
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mlybarger
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Sep 2002
Posts: 463

PostPosted: Mon Nov 10, 2014 11:42 pm    Post subject: xorg won't start - no screens found Reply with quote

i installed xorg-x11 and when i run startx, it says there are no screens found.

seems the customary thing to do is paste the wgetpaste url of the log and some lspci info.

Code:

lightning ~ # lspci | grep -i vga
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Cedar [Radeon HD 5000/6000/7350/8350 Series]


wgetpaste /var/log/Xorg.0.log
https://bpaste.net/show/58616c4132fe

dmesg
https://bpaste.net/show/ef274b81a64d

and my kernel config.
https://bpaste.net/show/705f25a59cc6

i've tried to enable framebuffer in the kernel and change settings on drm drivers and such, but when i do, my system hangs on switching to radeonfb some such driver from VESA.

any thoughts are most certainly appreciated.

thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7130
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Tue Nov 11, 2014 12:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looks like you're missing video drivers.

Are you planning to use fglrx ati-drivers (closed source) or xf86-video-ati (oss) drivers? Or do you want to stick (or have to stick) with FB/VESA drivers?

What do you have as your make.conf's VIDEO_CARDS statement? You should set the video card you have there, either VIDEO_CARDS="ati" or "fglrx" and re-merge --oneshot xorg-drivers.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mlybarger
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Sep 2002
Posts: 463

PostPosted: Tue Nov 11, 2014 1:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks for the response. i plan to use whatever video driver will work for x/kde. i had VIDEO_CARDS set in make.conf to radeon, but i change to ati. i re-emerged xorg-drivers, but it didn't look like it did much and sure didn't help. i have the same output when i run startx.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7130
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Tue Nov 11, 2014 2:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Make sure you also use --deep and --newuse when emerging them, did the xf86-video-ati package get built?
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShanaXXII
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jun 2014
Posts: 281
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Tue Nov 11, 2014 2:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mark_lybarger wrote:
thanks for the response. i plan to use whatever video driver will work for x/kde. i had VIDEO_CARDS set in make.conf to radeon, but i change to ati. i re-emerged xorg-drivers, but it didn't look like it did much and sure didn't help. i have the same output when i run startx.

After changing your make.conf doing a # emerge -uNDa @world should work everything out. ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7090
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Tue Nov 11, 2014 2:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mark_lybarger wrote:
thanks for the response. i plan to use whatever video driver will work for x/kde. i had VIDEO_CARDS set in make.conf to radeon, but i change to ati. i re-emerged xorg-drivers, but it didn't look like it did much and sure didn't help. i have the same output when i run startx.

I believe you need KMS for radeon but KMS was not found according your log. Then again, ati will probably not work without xorg.conf.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mlybarger
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Sep 2002
Posts: 463

PostPosted: Wed Nov 12, 2014 1:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i went through the long rebuild of emerge --newuse --deep --oneshot xorg-drivers. same error, no screens found.

i thought the radeon cards were open source and as such worked easily. this is challenging and frustrating to say the least.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7130
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Wed Nov 12, 2014 1:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If it still says "failed to load module, module does not exist" and remerged xorg-drivers with dependencies, then something is really screwed up in your make.conf:

Code:

[    18.700] (II) LoadModule: "ati"
[    18.700] (WW) Warning, couldn't open module ati
[    18.700] (II) UnloadModule: "ati"
[    18.700] (II) Unloading ati
[    18.701] (EE) Failed to load module "ati" (module does not exist, 0)


You can try emerge -1 xf86-video-ati and see what it does but this is shouldn't be necessary. Do you happen to have two make.conf's in /etc/ and /etc/portage/ ?

Ultimately no drivers got compiled:
Code:

[    18.701] (II) LoadModule: "modesetting"
[    18.701] (WW) Warning, couldn't open module modesetting
[    18.701] (II) UnloadModule: "modesetting"
[    18.701] (II) Unloading modesetting
[    18.701] (EE) Failed to load module "modesetting" (module does not exist, 0)
[    18.701] (II) LoadModule: "fbdev"
[    18.701] (WW) Warning, couldn't open module fbdev
[    18.701] (II) UnloadModule: "fbdev"
[    18.701] (II) Unloading fbdev
[    18.701] (EE) Failed to load module "fbdev" (module does not exist, 0)
[    18.701] (II) LoadModule: "vesa"
[    18.701] (WW) Warning, couldn't open module vesa
[    18.701] (II) UnloadModule: "vesa"
[    18.701] (II) Unloading vesa
[    18.701] (EE) Failed to load module "vesa" (module does not exist, 0)
[    18.701] (EE) No drivers available.


IMHO all drivers have their weirdnesses. All things being equal I might have to say Intel has the best drivers at the moment, and ATI second. That's only because I've been having issues with my antiquated ATI Radeon 8500/9000M chips...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eflothmeier
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Sep 2014
Posts: 58
Location: Tucson, AZ

PostPosted: Wed Nov 12, 2014 3:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

in my case

I had
VIDEO_CARDS="nv"

and got it up & running

Since I have an nvidia card, Xorg.conf documetation states
that it shoud properly be:

VIDEO_CARDS="nouveau"

in your make.conf

after changing I did

# emerge --update --deep --newuse @world
# emerge --depclean
# revdep-rebuild

Now my Xorg.0.log tail reads:

[ 69.664] (II) NOUVEAU driver
[ 69.664] (II) NOUVEAU driver for NVIDIA chipset families :
[ 69.664] RIVA TNT (NV04)
[ 69.664] RIVA TNT2 (NV05)
[ 69.664] GeForce 256 (NV10)
[ 69.664] GeForce 2 (NV11, NV15)
[ 69.664] GeForce 4MX (NV17, NV18)
[ 69.664] GeForce 3 (NV20)
[ 69.664] GeForce 4Ti (NV25, NV28)
[ 69.664] GeForce FX (NV3x)
[ 69.664] GeForce 6 (NV4x)
[ 69.664] GeForce 7 (G7x)
[ 69.664] GeForce 8 (G8x)
[ 69.664] GeForce GTX 200 (NVA0)
[ 69.664] GeForce GTX 400 (NVC0)
[ 69.664] (--) using VT number 7

[ 69.667] (EE) [drm] KMS not enabled
[ 69.667] (EE) No devices detected.
[ 69.667] (EE)
Fatal server error:
[ 69.667] (EE) no screens found(EE)
[ 69.667] (EE)
Please consult the The X.Org Foundation support
at http://wiki.x.org
for help.

I'm trying to find out more on KMS. after that
the lines are the same as yours

Erich
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7130
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Wed Nov 12, 2014 3:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

eflothmeier, since you got the userland driver built properly, the problem is a bit different - you still have a kernel problem. When building the kernel, you need DRM_NOUVEAU enabled, and it looks by default it uses KMS.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eflothmeier
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Sep 2014
Posts: 58
Location: Tucson, AZ

PostPosted: Fri Nov 14, 2014 3:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes,
I fixed it. KMS (Kernal Mode Setting) wasn't set up properly
in the kernel. I rebult it with the nouveau setting. Now the screen
pixel resolution is so high that it's hard to read.

I also have a radeon/ati box, and I remember having to
install firmware blobs to get it to work

Erich
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum