Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Delete icon (and sources) from GNOME's Applications menu?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ShadowOne333
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Oct 2014
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Thu Oct 16, 2014 4:49 pm    Post subject: Delete icon (and sources) from GNOME's Applications menu? Reply with quote

Good day, Gentoo community.

I've recently been using a modified version of Gentoo with GNOME and I wanted to install Google Chrome as my default browser.
Emerging didn't work for me since the version I have of Gentoo is quite old (last sync was over 2 years ago) and I don't want to emerge --sync to update.
I did that previously and ended up with a corrupted make.profile and could not emerge anything anymore, had to reinstall gentoo from zero.

Out of that...
I tried to install Chrome manually following these instructions:
https://forums.kali.org/showthread.php?1283-How-to-install-Latest-Google-Chrome&s=57a0e54b3e4429ca7e180be3a0a4be40

And I ended up with a faulty Google Chrome icon under Applications -> Internet that doesn't even open anything.

Is there anyway in which I could remove such icon and everything related to it?

I don't know how to access that part of Gnome to delete it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7230
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Thu Oct 16, 2014 9:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

See if you have a Chrome*.desktop in /usr/share/applications and ~/.share/applications and delete it.

You can also grab x11-misc/menulibre and use that graphical menu editor to disable/remove extra entries, if alacarte doesn't work for you.

I think one of the things you have to get used to with Gentoo is doing that emerge --sync and updating the world fairly frequently. You'll end up not being able to emerge anything anyway if you're really out of date...
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShadowOne333
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Oct 2014
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Thu Oct 16, 2014 9:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eccerr0r wrote:
See if you have a Chrome*.desktop in /usr/share/applications and ~/.share/applications and delete it.

You can also grab x11-misc/menulibre and use that graphical menu editor to disable/remove extra entries, if alacarte doesn't work for you.

I think one of the things you have to get used to with Gentoo is doing that emerge --sync and updating the world fairly frequently. You'll end up not being able to emerge anything anyway if you're really out of date...

Thanks for the response!
I already searched that path and there is nothing related to Chrome in there.
All the other Apps are there but that one.

Also, I don't seem to have any ~/.share/applications path, and trying to grab menulibre ends in nothing to download.
I already tried:
Code:
eix menulibre
eix menu

and I couldn't find anything close to that name
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7230
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Fri Oct 17, 2014 12:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

menulibre should be in portage. Just make sure you unmask the menulibre-13.04.17.ebuild version, the older ones don't appear to work properly on my newer builds...

... which is a problem because you haven't emerge --sync'ed... :?

If you still have an ancient install and have gnome2, you should also have alacarte installed - and that should be usable to delete menu items.


Using Gentoo you should play with and learn how to debug these merge conflicts. Running emerge --sync should work without any problems. Use emerge --pretend to get the potential packages that will be updated, and don't touch /etc/make.profile unless the profile you used disappears. (You can use eselect profile to choose new ones).
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShadowOne333
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Oct 2014
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2014 3:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eccerr0r wrote:
menulibre should be in portage. Just make sure you unmask the menulibre-13.04.17.ebuild version, the older ones don't appear to work properly on my newer builds...

... which is a problem because you haven't emerge --sync'ed... :?

If you still have an ancient install and have gnome2, you should also have alacarte installed - and that should be usable to delete menu items.


Using Gentoo you should play with and learn how to debug these merge conflicts. Running emerge --sync should work without any problems. Use emerge --pretend to get the potential packages that will be updated, and don't touch /etc/make.profile unless the profile you used disappears. (You can use eselect profile to choose new ones).


Hey thanks for replying!

I did install Alacarte, ran it and edited what I wanted and what not from the menu, but the menu itself doesn't update.
Alacarte does save the selected apps and if I boot it again it shows me the apps I have previously selected, although the main Applications Menu (or any other) do not change at all.

I am using Alacarte 0.13.2. Any suggestions as to how to update it?
13.3 gives me:
Code:
emerge alacarte
!!! Repository 'x-portage' is missing masters attribute in '/usr/local/portage/metadata/layout.conf'
!!! Set 'masters = gentoo' in this file for future compatibility

 * IMPORTANT: 5 news items need reading for repository 'gentoo'.
 * Use eselect news to read news items.

 * Last emerge --sync was 2y 43d 15h 4m 25s ago.
Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild  NS   ~] gnome-base/gnome-menus-3.2.0.1-r1 [2.30.5] USE="introspection python -debug {-test}"
[ebuild     U ~] x11-misc/alacarte-0.13.3 [0.13.2]
[blocks B      ] <gnome-base/gnome-menus-3.0.1-r1:0 ("<gnome-base/gnome-menus-3.0.1-r1:0" is blocking gnome-base/gnome-menus-3.2.0.1-r1)

 * Error: The above package list contains packages which cannot be
 * installed at the same time on the same system.

  (gnome-base/gnome-menus-3.2.0.1-r1::x-portage, ebuild scheduled for merge) pulled in by
    >=gnome-base/gnome-menus-3.2.0.1:3[introspection] required by (x11-misc/alacarte-0.13.3::x-portage, ebuild scheduled for merge)

  (gnome-base/gnome-menus-2.30.5::x-portage, installed) pulled in by
    >=gnome-base/gnome-menus-2.11.1:0 required by (gnome-base/gnome-control-center-2.32.1-r1::x-portage, installed)
    >=gnome-base/gnome-menus-2.27.92:0 required by (gnome-base/gnome-panel-2.32.1-r3::x-portage, installed)


For more information about Blocked Packages, please refer to the following
section of the Gentoo Linux x86 Handbook (architecture is irrelevant):

http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-x86.xml?full=1#blocked


And with 13.4 I get EAPI=5 not supported.

PS: I managed to delete the faulty Google-Chrome icon from the menu by following this:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/GNOME_Tips#Group_menus.2C_System_menus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum