Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
KDE 4: Power Management configuration [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
KWhat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Sep 2005
Posts: 622
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Fri Dec 02, 2011 11:15 pm    Post subject: KDE 4: Power Management configuration [SOLVED] Reply with quote

Quote:

Power Management configuration module could not be loaded.
The Power Management Service appears not to be running.
This can be solved by starting or scheduling it inside "Startup and Shutdown"


When I restart the power management server i get a brief message about no suitable back end plugins or something like that. what did i miss?


Last edited by KWhat on Sun Aug 12, 2012 2:12 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
loki99
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 10 Oct 2003
Posts: 2056
Location: Vienna, €urope

PostPosted: Wed Mar 21, 2012 5:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same here!

Does anyone have an idea?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Goverp
l33t
l33t


Joined: 07 Mar 2007
Posts: 804

PostPosted: Thu Mar 22, 2012 9:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

A couple of wild guesses:

  1. Do you have acpid running in your default runlevel?
  2. Do you have sys-power/pmtools installed?

If the answer is yes to both, sorry, not sure where you go next.
_________________
Greybeard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
loki99
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 10 Oct 2003
Posts: 2056
Location: Vienna, €urope

PostPosted: Thu Mar 22, 2012 1:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks! I had to install pmtools and add acpid to default, but still no luck.

:?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
0x001A4
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Jan 2006
Posts: 263
Location: Mississauga, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2012 1:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had the same problem and starting udev and adding it to the default runlevel solved it for me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jowr
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Dec 2008
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2012 11:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was able to resolve this by installing upower which does not appear to be a dependancy. Note the upower in the following:

laptop ~ # solid-hardware query 'IS Battery'
virtual QStringList Solid::Backends::UPower::UPowerManager::allDevices() error: "org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.ServiceUnknown"
laptop ~ #
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KWhat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Sep 2005
Posts: 622
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Sun Aug 12, 2012 1:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well I finally solved this. I noticed that upower was not listed as part of the `ps -e` process list so I tired to run it manually to see what would happen. basically it came up with the error "(upower:6205): libupower-glib-WARNING **: Couldn't connect to system bus: Failed to connect to socket /var/run/dbus/system_bus_socket: No such file or directory". This is caused by udev not running at startup. A quick rc-update and everything works.

I think this thread as sucessfully covered every possible problem with PowerDevil starting. Thanks ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fbcyborg
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 16 Oct 2005
Posts: 3056
Location: ROMA

PostPosted: Thu Dec 26, 2013 4:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello!

I bumped into this problem too.
Unfortunately I cannot see the battery icon working anymore since one of the recent updates.

I have gentoo-sources-3.12.6 and kde-4.11.2-r1.
upower doesn't seems to have an init.d script and it is not running. What is strange is that I didn't modify anything so far.

This is what happens to me.

I receive the following error at the top of my screen after login:

KDE Power Management System:
Code:
KDE Power Management System could not be initialized. The backend reported the following error: No valid Power Management backend plugins are available. A new installation might solve this problem. Please check your system configuration


And then, if I go to System Settings->Power Management, the pane on the right is greyed out and there is a message:
Code:
Power Management configuration module could not be loaded. The Power Management Service appears not to be running. This can be solved by starting or scheduling it inside "Startup and Shutdown"

But the Power management is shown as running in the Service Manager section.

One more thing:
the device notifier is no longer working also. Indeed, every time I plug an USB drive, nothing happens anymore. There's also another problem: the brightness control is broken as well.

Could you help me please?


EDIT: it looks like there's a bug here. But it's old..
_________________
[HOWTO] Come criptare la /home usando cryptsetup e luks
[HOWTO] Abilitare il supporto al dom0 XEN su kernel 3.X
Help answer the unanswered
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fbcyborg
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 16 Oct 2005
Posts: 3056
Location: ROMA

PostPosted: Mon Dec 30, 2013 9:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK,
I've also tried to add udev in the default runlevel, install pmtools but the problem is still there.
UPower was already installed. ACPID is already in the default runlevel.

But I guess the problem is this:

Code:
upower -d

(upower:5408): libupower-glib-WARNING **: Couldn't enumerate devices: Failed to execute program /usr/libexec/dbus-daemon-launch-helper: Success

(upower:5408): UPower-WARNING **: failed to enumerate: Failed to execute program /usr/libexec/dbus-daemon-launch-helper: Success


So I've found the following solution here:

Code:
emerge --noconfmem dbus dbus-glib polkit consolekit pambase sudo

_________________
[HOWTO] Come criptare la /home usando cryptsetup e luks
[HOWTO] Abilitare il supporto al dom0 XEN su kernel 3.X
Help answer the unanswered
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lubo777
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Mar 2006
Posts: 17
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria

PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2014 7:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

fbcyborg wrote:
OK,
I've also tried to add udev in the default runlevel, install pmtools but the problem is still there.
UPower was already installed. ACPID is already in the default runlevel.

But I guess the problem is this:

Code:
upower -d

(upower:5408): libupower-glib-WARNING **: Couldn't enumerate devices: Failed to execute program /usr/libexec/dbus-daemon-launch-helper: Success

(upower:5408): UPower-WARNING **: failed to enumerate: Failed to execute program /usr/libexec/dbus-daemon-launch-helper: Success


So I've found the following solution here:

Code:
emerge --noconfmem dbus dbus-glib polkit consolekit pambase sudo


fbcyborg thank you very much for the Information, it solved my problem also!
:D
_________________
Sawyer MINI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fbcyborg
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 16 Oct 2005
Posts: 3056
Location: ROMA

PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2014 8:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh! LOL :lol:

You're welcome! :D I completely forgot this thread! :D it was one year ago!

Cheers!
_________________
[HOWTO] Come criptare la /home usando cryptsetup e luks
[HOWTO] Abilitare il supporto al dom0 XEN su kernel 3.X
Help answer the unanswered
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum