Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Systemd migration: No network at startup.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ch64
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Jun 2010
Posts: 297

PostPosted: Tue Sep 16, 2014 7:51 pm    Post subject: Systemd migration: No network at startup. Reply with quote

Hello.
I have migrated to systemd.
Now i have no network options given at boot. No XDM starting and no ntpdate after the network options.
So i want to add three services: net.eth3, XDM and ntpdate.

What to do?
I have made a file /usr/lib64/systemd/system/net.eth3.service
But when i put
# systemctl enable net.eth3.service
i get:
Code:

The unit files have no [Install] section. They are not meant to be enabled
using systemctl.
Possible reasons for having this kind of units are:
1) A unit may be statically enabled by being symlinked from another unit's
   .wants/ or .requires/ directory.
2) A unit's purpose may be to act as a helper for some other unit which has
   a requirement dependency on it.
3) A unit may be started when needed via activation (socket, path, timer,
   D-Bus, udev, scripted systemctl call, ...).
 

Here is the content of the net.eth3.service file:
Code:

[Unit]
Description=Static network service
After=local-fs.target
Documentation=man:ifconfig(8)
Documentation=man:route(8)

[Service]
Type=oneshot
RemainAfterExit=yes
ExecStart=/bin/ifconfig eth3 192.168.1.3 broadcast 192.168.1.255 netmask 255.255.255.0  up
ExecStart=/bin/route add default gw 192.168.1.1 eth3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shazeal
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 May 2006
Posts: 197
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Tue Sep 16, 2014 8:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You are going about it all wrong. Here is my setup for reference.

/etc/systemd/network/staticip.network
Code:
[Match]
Name=en*

[Network]
DNS=122.56.237.1
DNS=210.55.111.1

[Address]
Address=192.168.1.50/24

[Route]
Gateway=192.168.1.1


Make a file like this then run

Code:
systemctl enable systemd-networkd

_________________
CFLAGS="-OmgWTFR1CE --fun-lol-loops --march=asmx86go"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShanaXXII
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jun 2014
Posts: 281
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Wed Sep 17, 2014 12:20 am    Post subject: Re: Systemd migration: No network at startup. Reply with quote

ch64 wrote:
Hello.
I have migrated to systemd.

I was wondering how u got systemd working. I couldn't get it working.
My wireless connection also stopped working and my sound stopped working too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ch64
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Jun 2010
Posts: 297

PostPosted: Wed Sep 17, 2014 3:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Systemd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShanaXXII
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jun 2014
Posts: 281
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Wed Sep 17, 2014 10:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ch64 wrote:
http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Systemd

Yeah, I followed that. But it still started up openrc when i booted it.
I'm using GRUB2 and i changed it just like what the wiki said ---> GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX="init=/usr/lib/systemd/systemd"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ch64
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Jun 2010
Posts: 297

PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2014 3:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Normally it should init up systemd or nothing.
Somebody knows how to add XDM and ntpdate?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
deefster
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 19 Apr 2004
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Sat Sep 20, 2014 4:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ShanaXXII wrote:
ch64 wrote:
http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Systemd

Yeah, I followed that. But it still started up openrc when i booted it.
I'm using GRUB2 and i changed it just like what the wiki said ---> GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX="init=/usr/lib/systemd/systemd"



Setting that variable for Grub2 only sets what will happen when you generate a new /boot/grub/grub.cfg with grub2-mkconfig.

Look in your grub.cfg to see what your init line actually says.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum