Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
net-misc/DHCPCD-UI
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 2583

PostPosted: Wed Dec 17, 2014 11:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

UberLord wrote:
Status messages are displayed, you need to ensure it's been emerged with notify support and you have a notification display daemon running.
Seems impossible to me to find a fulfilment for virtual/notification-daemon without dbus.
But as a workaround I can easily have the wpa-gui flashing its notifications (without such notify stuff and dbus): http://i.imgur.com/Ejv0ZWy.png
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6737
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Wed Dec 17, 2014 12:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wpa_gui is written in Qt and used QSystemTrayIcon which can notify by itself
dhcpcd-gtk is written in GTK+ and for notification to work, a notify library is required as gtk does not support this natively
dhcpcd-qt is written in Qt and used QSystemTrayIcon which can notify by itself or optionally link to the KDE notification framework

:)

So use dhcpcd-qt and you're golden.
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 2583

PostPosted: Wed Dec 17, 2014 2:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

UberLord wrote:
dhcpcd-qt is written in Qt and used QSystemTrayIcon which can notify by itself or optionally link to the KDE notification framework

:)

So use dhcpcd-qt and you're golden.
Did you mean to use dhcpcd-qt without libnotify? I've tried that, but not getting any notifications like I am getting from wpa_gui. Only the icon changing.
Tried with openbox + lxpanel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6737
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Wed Dec 17, 2014 2:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes.

For the life of me I can't remember how to take screen grabs to show you how mine looks though.
Like the wpa_gui bubble though, just different text.
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 2583

PostPosted: Wed Dec 17, 2014 3:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

UberLord wrote:
Yes.

For the life of me I can't remember how to take screen grabs to show you how mine looks though.
For screenshots I am using
Quote:
$ sleep 10 && import -window root /tmp/screenshot$(date +%F,%T).png

UberLord wrote:
Like the wpa_gui bubble though, just different text.
That's what I expected, but I don't get them. wpa_gui does, dhcpcd-qt doesn't.
Is there any other dependencies I might be missing?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 2583

PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2015 8:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Coming back to this question ...

UberLord wrote:
dhcpcd-qt is written in Qt and used QSystemTrayIcon which can notify by itself or optionally link to the KDE notification framework

:)

So use dhcpcd-qt and you're golden.

It's still not working with dhcpcd-qt. How could I debug the QSystemTrayIcon stuff?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6737
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2015 12:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good question. I'm not too sure and am going on holiday today so it maybe a while to reply with a proper answer.
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 2583

PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2015 12:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is not too urgent for me, no reason to spoil your holidays.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
depontius
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 May 2004
Posts: 3376

PostPosted: Wed Aug 12, 2015 2:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please help my with my face-palm.

I'm attempting to bring up a new laptop using dhcpcd to control the networking. So far it seems OK, except it's sitting here standalone, which really means that it properly detected that ethernet isn't plugged in. There is an open wireless network available, but I would expect to need to do something to connect to that.

I've built the gtk (not gtk3) version of dhcpcd-ui, and when I try to start it, nothing happens. I get:
Code:
** Message: Connecting ...
** Message: Status changed to opened
** Message: Connected to dhcpcd-6.9.0
** Message: Status changed to disconnected
** Message: eth0: Link is down
** Message: wlan0: Not associated

The prompt does not return - it's still executing. I would expect all of this behavior, including the messages, but I also would have hoped that either some GUI would pop up or something would appear in the icewm systray.

I'm sure this is something really simple I've missed - below the level of the wiki. Can anyone provide a clue-stick? BTW, wpa_supplicant is installed, wheel and I are enabled, etc.

:
_________________
.sigs waste space and bandwidth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6737
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Wed Aug 12, 2015 2:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't use IceWM, but I would expect an icon to appear in the system tray.

Generally you don't see an icon if dhcpcd-gtk cannot find an icon to load ..... I don't know why this should be the case for IceWM.
I don't actually use the ebuild myself .... maybe I should update my portage and try the ebuild out.

EDIT: But if there was no icon to be found, dhcpcd-ui should produce a message on the console as well.
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
depontius
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 May 2004
Posts: 3376

PostPosted: Wed Aug 12, 2015 2:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

UberLord wrote:
I don't use IceWM, but I would expect an icon to appear in the system tray.

Generally you don't see an icon if dhcpcd-gtk cannot find an icon to load ..... I don't know why this should be the case for IceWM.
I don't actually use the ebuild myself .... maybe I should update my portage and try the ebuild out.

EDIT: But if there was no icon to be found, dhcpcd-ui should produce a message on the console as well.


What icon is it looking for? I would have expected a console message too, though perhaps there was an ignored message from the ebuild.

I went with gtk for simplicity, but it would be easy enough to use qt4. Would that have an easier time, or is it still looking for some icon? How do you expect icons to have been supplied?
_________________
.sigs waste space and bandwidth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6737
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Wed Aug 12, 2015 3:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The icons should be supplied by the ebuild.
They should also be theme overrideable.

From memory, if the Qt SystemTray component cannot find an icon, it suffers the same fate, but it might be more noisy as well.
Try it and report back - I'm very busy right now in my personal life so can't be much help immediately.
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
depontius
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 May 2004
Posts: 3376

PostPosted: Wed Aug 12, 2015 3:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've gotten further. I'm not at home, so this thing isn't plugged in for eth0. I hadn't properly configured wpa_supplicant, which is why dhcpcd-ui failed to show. Once I fixed that, it did.

However at this point I can't bring up the wireless using dhcpcd-ui - it doesn't show an available interfaces. However I can start wpa_gui and bring wireless up wih that. I can run, though it may not be the way I eventually want to be doing this. I hope your being busy is fun, or at least fruitful.
_________________
.sigs waste space and bandwidth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 2583

PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2017 8:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Finally, commit 43f5c510450633d249f596fcc4f74255df76bb73 has removed all qt support from dhcpcd-ui ( bug 630638 ). Would be very nice getting qt5 support for this package.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6737
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2017 8:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

charles17 wrote:
Would be very nice getting qt5 support for this package.


I don't have a QT5 environment to develop in.
Nor do I have Enlightenment or a few others I'd like.

:(
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mir3x
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Jun 2012
Posts: 427

PostPosted: Fri Oct 20, 2017 8:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I quickly ported dhcpcd to qt5 as exercise.
But how to use it ?
I tried normal gtk version from portage.
It says -
Code:
** Message: Connecting ...
** Message: Status changed to down

** (dhcpcd-gtk:19015): CRITICAL **: dhcpcd_open: No such file or directory


Similar I get in my qt version:
Code:
Connecting ...
Status changed to down
dhcpcd_open: Invalid argument
dhcpcd_open: No such file or directory

Another question, that kde notification should be replaced by qtdbus ?

[Moderator edit: added [code] tags to preserve output layout. -Hu]
_________________
Installation aborted to prevent system self-destruction
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 2583

PostPosted: Fri Oct 20, 2017 9:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mir3x wrote:
I quickly ported dhcpcd to qt5 as exercise.
Will you please provide us your qt5 coding?

mir3x wrote:
But how to use it ?
See the screenshots on https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Dhcpcd-ui#Usage?
Select ssid from the list shown here and enter PSK only if needed.

mir3x wrote:
I tried normal gtk version from portage.
It says -
** Message: Connecting ...
** Message: Status changed to down

** (dhcpcd-gtk:19015): CRITICAL **: dhcpcd_open: No such file or directory


Similar I get in my qt version:
Connecting ...
Status changed to down
dhcpcd_open: Invalid argument
dhcpcd_open: No such file or directory

Another question, that kde notification should be replaced by qtdbus ?

Please avoid dbus. In qt4 (I am still using that version) it works without dbus or other *kit cruft.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mir3x
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Jun 2012
Posts: 427

PostPosted: Fri Oct 20, 2017 9:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

https://github.com/mir3x/dhcpcd-ui

I updated only dhcpcd-qt.pro
and some *.cpp files.

Anyway should work 4 u.

For me its the same error, maybe I need relogin.

EDIT: still doesn;t work with gtk or qt.
I used 0.7.5-r1 version.
_________________
Installation aborted to prevent system self-destruction
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6737
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Fri Oct 20, 2017 9:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dhcpcd needs to be running in master mode.
This means that the dhcpcd service needs to be added to a runlevel and no net.* service should start dhcpcd.
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6737
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Fri Oct 20, 2017 9:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why didn't you fork my github mirror? https://github.com/rsmarples/dhcpcd-ui

If you fork it and reapply your changes to it then it makes it easier for me to review the changes as a whole.

I'm trying to get both a QT4 and QT5 env up so I can look at getting this working.
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mir3x
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Jun 2012
Posts: 427

PostPosted: Fri Oct 20, 2017 10:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

UberLord wrote:
Why didn't you fork my github mirror? https://github.com/rsmarples/dhcpcd-ui



https://github.com/mir3x/dhcpcd-ui-1 (doenst exist anymore)

I thought u r dead or abandoned project :D.

EDIT: oops, I need update it to your newest git

EDIT2: here is latest version
https://github.com/mir3x/dhcpcd-ui
_________________
Installation aborted to prevent system self-destruction
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6737
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Fri Oct 20, 2017 11:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah, that's better :)
Those changes look straight forward. I just need to get a QT4 and QT5 envionments so I can verify it works on both, but I don't see any problems.

It's not a dead project, but it's a very slow project as it works well enough.
Ideally I should find time to work on dhcpcd-curses and start dhcpcd-efl, but I doubt that will happen soon.
If anyone can help out with that, it would be awesome :)
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 2583

PostPosted: Fri Oct 20, 2017 11:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mir3x wrote:
EDIT2: here is latest version
https://github.com/mir3x/dhcpcd-ui

Do you also have an ebuild for qt5 version?
Here is last version before qt4 removal: https://github.com/gentoo/gentoo/blob/61b861acd7b49083dab687e133f30f3331cb7480/net-misc/dhcpcd-ui/dhcpcd-ui-0.7.5-r1.ebuild
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6737
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Fri Oct 20, 2017 7:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I merged your changes with a small cleanup here:
https://github.com/rsmarples/dhcpcd-ui/commit/a22159aa57ad5eb0bfb203529a16e2392daab49a

Thanks!
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6737
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Sat Oct 21, 2017 3:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Added some support for Qt-5.9 where I can set a custom icon for system stray notifications.
Seems to work well, some testing would be nice :)
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 3 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum