Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
net-misc/DHCPCD-UI
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 2583

PostPosted: Wed Nov 19, 2014 10:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

UberLord wrote:
I had a look at it this morning, but it looked fine to me?
On "Configure interface" it looks ok for me too. The incident for me is on "Configure ssid". Did you check this also?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6737
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Wed Nov 19, 2014 10:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good catch, fixed here.
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6737
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Wed Nov 19, 2014 4:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

charles17 wrote:
Another difference between dhcpcd-qt and dhcpcd-gtk, is this by design or also from the bug?

Qt gui shows wlan and ethernet http://i.imgur.com/4pQpIkZ.png
Ethernet not listed by gtk gui only http://i.imgur.com/a4FYgW5.png


And this is also fixed here
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 2583

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2014 2:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just tried the live 9999.ebuild from https://github.com/tokiclover/bar-overlay/tree/master/net-misc/dhcpcd-ui and running into unknown repository problems
Quote:
# emerge -avt =net-misc/dhcpcd-ui-9999
Code:
These are the packages that would be merged, in reverse order:

Calculating dependencies  .... done!
[ebuild     U *] net-misc/dhcpcd-ui-9999::bar [0.7.4::gentoo] USE="gtk -debug -gtk3 -icons% -libnotify -qt4" 0 kB

Total: 1 package (1 upgrade), Size of downloads: 0 kB

Would you like to merge these packages? [Yes/No]
>>> Verifying ebuild manifests

>>> Emerging (1 of 1) net-misc/dhcpcd-ui-9999 from bar
>>> Unpacking source...
unknown repository:
 * ERROR: net-misc/dhcpcd-ui-9999::bar failed (unpack phase):
 *   (no error message)
 *
 * Call stack:
 *     ebuild.sh, line  93:  Called src_unpack
 *   environment, line 1916:  Called die
 * The specific snippet of code:
 *               fossil clone "${FOSSIL_URI}" "${repo}" || die;
 *
 * If you need support, post the output of `emerge --info '=net-misc/dhcpcd-ui-9999::bar'`,
 * the complete build log and the output of `emerge -pqv '=net-misc/dhcpcd-ui-9999::bar'`.
 * The complete build log is located at '/var/tmp/portage/net-misc/dhcpcd-ui-9999/temp/build.log'.
 * The ebuild environment file is located at '/var/tmp/portage/net-misc/dhcpcd-ui-9999/temp/environment'.
 * Working directory: '/var/tmp/portage/net-misc/dhcpcd-ui-9999/work'
 * S: '/var/tmp/portage/net-misc/dhcpcd-ui-9999/work/dhcpcd-ui-9999'

>>> Failed to emerge net-misc/dhcpcd-ui-9999, Log file:

>>>  '/var/tmp/portage/net-misc/dhcpcd-ui-9999/temp/build.log'
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6737
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2014 2:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The repository is fine for me.
Try removing the cached repository from portage for a fresh copy. I don't know off hand where it's stored though.
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 2583

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2014 3:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can emerge version 0.7.4 from that repository, no problem
Quote:
# emerge -avt =net-misc/dhcpcd-ui-0.7.4::bar

But the 9999.ebuild fails with that message regarding "unknown repository: "
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6737
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2014 4:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When I meant repository I meant mine, not the overlay :)

Basically the 9999 ebuild works by creating a local fossil repository and syncing it with my upstream master.
You need to find this and delete it.

The ebuld has this code
Code:
   local distdir="${PORTAGE_ACTUAL_DISTDIR:-${DISTDIR}}"/fossil-src
local repo="${distdir}"/${PN}.fossil


So it might be /usr/portage/distfiles/fossil-src - find and delete that folder and re-try.
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 2583

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2014 4:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

All deleted. Another emerge
Quote:
# emerge -avt =net-misc/dhcpcd-ui-9999::bar
only creates an empty 'fossil' sub directory and fails again
Quote:
$ ls -al /usr/portage/distfiles/fossil-src/fossil/
total 0
drwxr-sr-x 2 portage portage 48 Dec 2 17:16 .
drwxr-sr-x 3 portage portage 72 Dec 2 17:16 ..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6737
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2014 4:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looks like an error your side somewhere, maybe an issue trying to talk to my server.
Does this work?

Code:

cd /tmp
mkdir fossil-test
cd fossil-test
fossil clone http://roy.marples.name/projects/dhcpcd-ui dhcpcd-ui.fossil
mkdir src
cd src
fossil open ../dhcpcd-ui.fossil

_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 2583

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2014 4:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep, that works. So I might have some misconfiguration?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6737
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2014 4:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Don't know sorry.
Could be an issue with the ebuild, which I don't use myself. Try taking it upstream.
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 2583

PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2014 4:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now as the live ebuild got fixed I could emerge dhcpcd-ui from the fossil. It pulled in gnome-base/librsvg, as the first gnome package on this machine.
With dhcpcd-ui (so far testing with the gtk ui) I get the alphabetically ordered SSIDs from last scan and I can switch between the SSIDs.

But it always prompts for psk even when psk is already stored in wpa_supplicant.conf. I'd rather like it to prompt for psk only when needed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6737
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2014 4:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can just hit the enter key or press OK.
You always get the dialogue as you may want to change the password.
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 2583

PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2014 4:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok. Another question is about the prefs window. Here it always starts partly hidden behind the lxpanel: http://i.imgur.com/QCzVqZy.png
How could this be adjusted?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6737
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2014 4:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unsure.
I just ask the window to popup where the mouse is.
The Window Manager is responsible for placing it so that it's entirely visible.

On my NetBSD system I use lxpanel-0.5.10 and OpenBox-3.5.2 and the preferences dialog is positioned perfectly by both dhcpcd-gtk and dhcpcd-qt.
On my Linux System I use KDE-4.something and again both are positioned perfectly.
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6737
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Thu Dec 04, 2014 2:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

emerge the 9999 ebuild to get sexy wireless signal strength icons in the system tray now.
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 2583

PostPosted: Mon Dec 08, 2014 8:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

UberLord wrote:
I just ask the window to popup where the mouse is.
The Window Manager is responsible for placing it so that it's entirely visible.
So I have to check Fluxbox' understanding of positioning the windows.

Regarding the status display https://wiki.gentoo.org/images/f/f7/Dhcpcd-ui_status.png, how do you think about appending the SSID to the first line? »wlp8s0: Associated with Fritz!Box Guest«

Thanks for the icons improvement!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6737
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Mon Dec 08, 2014 10:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The SSID is supposed to be shown there.
The fact it's absent I believe is an error in the Linux kernel.
I have seen this myself from time to time where the kernel says to dhcpcd "I have associated" and a subsequent call from dhcpcd to the kernel to get the SSID associated to returns a blank string - for both nl80211 and WEXT interfaces.

Glad you like the new icons :)
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 2583

PostPosted: Mon Dec 08, 2014 12:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

UberLord wrote:
The SSID is supposed to be shown there.
The fact it's absent I believe is an error in the Linux kernel.
But at the same time, wpa_supplicant (same screenshot) seems to have it. Can't you get it from wpa_supplicant?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6737
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Mon Dec 08, 2014 2:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I *could* do this, but that doesn't fix per SSID profiles in dhcpcd as dhcpcd doesn't directly talk to wpa_supplicant and probably never will. dhcpcd-{gtk,qt} talks to wpa_supplicant AND dhcpcd (in case you were wondering).
Also, I may grow support for non wpa_supplicant based solutions in the future, such as say OpenBSD where the WPA part is in the kernel.
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 2583

PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2014 7:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

charles17 wrote:
UberLord wrote:
I just ask the window to popup where the mouse is.
The Window Manager is responsible for placing it so that it's entirely visible.
So I have to check Fluxbox' understanding of positioning the windows.

Problem is the same (windows behind panel) even without windows manager, just with startx, pure x11 and lxpanel.

Also strange seems that windows started from dhcpcd-gtk icon do not have window handlers (left and right bottom corners) while windows started from other system tray icons do have them.
On http://i.imgur.com/Bh7QedK.png windows on the left are opened from wpa_gui systray icon. Windows on the right are from dhcpcd-ui.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6737
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2014 10:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

charles17 wrote:
charles17 wrote:
UberLord wrote:
I just ask the window to popup where the mouse is.
The Window Manager is responsible for placing it so that it's entirely visible.
So I have to check Fluxbox' understanding of positioning the windows.

Problem is the same (windows behind panel) even without windows manager, just with startx, pure x11 and lxpanel.


Chances are you're using twm. Try OpenBox?

Quote:

Also strange seems that windows started from dhcpcd-gtk icon do not have window handlers (left and right bottom corners) while windows started from other system tray icons do have them.
On http://i.imgur.com/Bh7QedK.png windows on the left are opened from wpa_gui systray icon. Windows on the right are from dhcpcd-ui.


Not strange.
My windows have the DIALOG hint, the wpa_gui ones do not. Dialogues are not normally resizable.
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 2583

PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2014 10:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

UberLord wrote:
Chances are you're using twm. Try OpenBox?
With Openbox (never tried before) window positions are ok. So I agree the problem must be something with fluxbox.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 2583

PostPosted: Sun Dec 14, 2014 7:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

UberLord wrote:
Glad you like the new icons :)

Just realized the system tray icon sometimes changes to the blinking state. Users may wonder why it is blinking.
How do you think about offering one more option here https://wiki.gentoo.org/images/6/67/Greyed_out.png displaying the status messages like http://i.imgur.com/WtjkrUh.png?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6737
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Sun Dec 14, 2014 11:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It blinks to show something changed or renewed, like say a DHCP lease.
Status messages are displayed, you need to ensure it's been emerged with notify support and you have a notification display daemon running. Im not sure that LX starts the display daemon by default so you need to do that.
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 2 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum