System hangs at bootup No Panic!!!
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
bobkat
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Fri Oct 04, 2002 1:28 am    Post subject: System hangs at bootup No Panic!!! Reply with quote

Hello everyone,

This is my first time installing gentoo, and i must say it's a cool process. I am installing from stage1 1.4_rc1. I have searched through these forums for someone with a similar problem to myself, but i haven't found one like mine yet. I am running a laptop p4 1.6 ghz, 256 mb RAM, 20 gig fujitsu hdd, and toshibd dvdrom. I compiled the kernel 2.4.19, and on boot the system hangs after the line that says something like this:

ide0 hda DMA hdb PIO
ide1 hdc DMA hdd PIO

it's not this exactly, but those are the main points. This line occurs in the boot CD kernel as well, and then the actual Fujitsu device and Toshiba devices are loaded, but this does not happen in the kernel i compiled. I've compiled the kernel 8 or 9 times with different options, but i can't seem to get it past this point. Is there someone out there with a vague idea of what's going on?

Let me know if you need any more information on how i've configured my system (though it never gets to the point in the boot process where it is running scripts, the system hangs before the drive devices are actually loaded). In my kernel as far as drive stuff goes i've compiled, devfs, reiserfs, jfs, ext3, ntfs support, mac support, dos support, nfs support, automounter, and that's about it. I am also compiling pcmcia support into the kernel. I say this because i've noticed a lot of people having problems with kernels hanging with pcmcia support enabled. I *did* also emerge pcmcia-cs... If you guys have any ideas I'd really appreciate it. Thanks!

Som
bobkat
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Fri Oct 04, 2002 1:32 am    Post subject: In addition Reply with quote