Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
32bit chroot environment
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
PhanLord
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Nov 2002
Posts: 175

PostPosted: Wed Mar 17, 2004 2:03 pm    Post subject: 32bit chroot environment Reply with quote

I have couple of question regarding chrooted 32bit environment

how can i make it start at boot time ?
can i have a sshd running in that environment and what is the easiest way to do it ?
(I would like to make this 32bit environment as transparent as possible
so i can start programs through rssh calls and so on)

What about OpenGL ? will 32bit gl libraries be able to deal with 64bit kernel modules ? (Nvidia)

thats for now :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gebner
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Jan 2004
Posts: 100
Location: Wien, EU

PostPosted: Wed Mar 17, 2004 8:48 pm    Post subject: Re: 32bit chroot environment Reply with quote

PhanLord wrote:
(I would like to make this 32bit environment as transparent as possible
so i can start programs through rssh calls and so on)


I'd suggest dchroot for that, then you can type as a normal user:
Code:
dchroot sh -l


app-admin/dchroot/dchroot-0.08.ebuild (I've filed a bug for the ebuild)
Code:
SLOT="0"
LICENSE="GPL-2"
KEYWORDS="x86 amd64"
DESCRIPTION="Execute commands under different root filesystems"
SRC_URI="mirror://debian/pool/main/d/dchroot/dchroot_${PV}.tar.gz"
HOMEPAGE="http://www.debian.org/"
DEPEND="virtual/glibc sys-apps/help2man"
RDEPEND="virtual/glibc"

src_compile() {
   econf || die
   emake || die

   # The man page doesn't get built by default, so make install would fail
   # without this
   make dchroot.1
}

src_install() {
   einstall || die
}

_________________
clue = if 0 == 0 then clue else error "The poster didn't have any clue when he posted this."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PhanLord
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Nov 2002
Posts: 175

PostPosted: Wed Mar 17, 2004 11:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i tryed this dchroot program but i have trouble running
java (32bit) with it it looks like when invoking single commands path is containing only:

/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin


if i just run dchroot and get shell i have java in the path.

any solutons for this ?

(main reason is to run eclipse in that environment
curretn unstalbe 64buit releases of eclipse are really unstable :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gebner
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Jan 2004
Posts: 100
Location: Wien, EU

PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2004 12:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

PhanLord wrote:
any solutons for this ?


It seems that dchroot doesn't execute the commands in a shell, so they don't get the environment from the chroot.
You could try this:

Code:
dchroot sh -c eclipse # or
dchroot sh -lc eclipse

_________________
clue = if 0 == 0 then clue else error "The poster didn't have any clue when he posted this."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
twgray
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Mar 2004
Posts: 67
Location: The Woodlands, TX

PostPosted: Fri Mar 19, 2004 9:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

After setting up a 32-bit chroot, following the Gentoo/AMD64 Installation Technotes, including mounting the /tmp directory in order to have access to the already running x-server unix sockets, how do I actually run an x-client? I'm assuming that I am sitting in a terminal, ctrl-alt-F1-F6, and that I have chrooted with:

linux32 chroot /mnt/32-bit /bin/bash --login

Now, how do I access, let's say, the kde desktop?
_________________
You live, you learn. Well, at least you live.
--Douglas Adams
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
malte
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Mar 2004
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Fri Mar 19, 2004 10:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You need to run xhost +local: first.

/Malte
_________________
This is a signature.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
twgray
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Mar 2004
Posts: 67
Location: The Woodlands, TX

PostPosted: Sat Mar 20, 2004 3:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, but then what is the procedure after entering xhost +, or xhost +localhost?
_________________
You live, you learn. Well, at least you live.
--Douglas Adams
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
malte
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Mar 2004
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sat Mar 20, 2004 2:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Twgray, if you have run xhost-blah, and mount -o bind /tmp /mnt/gentoo32/tmp (or where you have your 32-bit chroot) you should be able to run x applications transparently.

/Malte
_________________
This is a signature.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64 All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum