Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
iso buster /iso Extracter ?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
filter69
Guest





PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2002 6:48 am    Post subject: iso buster /iso Extracter ? Reply with quote

is there any type of iso/ image reader in the gentoo dist ?

or anywhere else for that matter

Thanks Filter
Back to top
fghellar
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 10 Apr 2002
Posts: 856
Location: Porto Alegre, BR

PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2002 6:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can just mount it through the loopback device:
Code:
# mkdir myiso
# mount -t iso9660 -o loop mycd.iso myiso

IIRC, you'll need support for the loopback device compiled into the kernel.
_________________
| www.gentoo.org | www.tldp.org | www.google.com |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
filter69
Guest





PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2002 7:25 am    Post subject: where's that pesky Reply with quote

loop# dev located in the kernel i think its getting to late and my brains cooking evertthings kinda blurry :)

thanks
Back to top
kerframil
l33t
l33t


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 710
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2002 6:54 pm    Post subject: Creating ISOs Reply with quote

And you can create an ISO of your own just like this:

:arrow: dd if=/dev/cdrom of=/myimage.iso

You get an error when it can't read any more but it doesn't seem to matter!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xj220
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Thu May 09, 2002 11:17 am    Post subject: Error... Reply with quote

I get the following error when i try to mount up an .iso file ;(, (I have iso 9660 in my kernel, couse i can mount up cdrom's)

mount -t iso9660 -o loop imm-rb1-01.iso /mnt/myiso
mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/loop0, or too many mounted file systems
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
klieber
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 17 Apr 2002
Posts: 3657
Location: San Francisco, CA

PostPosted: Thu May 09, 2002 12:14 pm    Post subject: Re: Error... Reply with quote

xj220 wrote:
I get the following error when i try to mount up an .iso file ;(, (I have iso 9660 in my kernel, couse i can mount up cdrom's)



fghellar wrote:
IIRC, you'll need support for the loopback device compiled into the kernel.


--kurt
_________________
The problem with political jokes is that they get elected
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tdm
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 May 2002
Posts: 117
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat May 11, 2002 5:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the same problem as xj220, but YES I have the ISO9660 and YES I have compiled the Loopback device into the kernel:

Code:
me linux-2.4.19-gentoo-r5 # cat .config | grep "CONFIG_ISO9660*"
CONFIG_ISO9660_FS=y


Code:
me linux-2.4.19-gentoo-r5 # cat .config | grep "^CONFIG_BLK_DEV_*"
CONFIG_BLK_DEV_FD=y
CONFIG_BLK_DEV_LOOP=y
CONFIG_BLK_DEV_IDE=y
CONFIG_BLK_DEV_IDEDISK=y
CONFIG_BLK_DEV_IDECD=y
CONFIG_BLK_DEV_IDEPCI=y
CONFIG_BLK_DEV_IDEDMA_PCI=y
CONFIG_BLK_DEV_IDEDMA=y
CONFIG_BLK_DEV_ADMA=y
CONFIG_BLK_DEV_PDC202XX=y
CONFIG_BLK_DEV_VIA82CXXX=y
CONFIG_BLK_DEV_IDE_MODES=y
CONFIG_BLK_DEV_ATARAID=y
CONFIG_BLK_DEV_ATARAID_PDC=y


The error also says:
Code:
mount: wrong fs type... or too many mounted file systems


What is the max for mounted file systems?
This is what I mounted most of the time (exept for the floppy, and cdroms ofcourse):
Code:
/dev/hda8               /boot           ext3            noauto,noatime          1 1
/dev/hda9               /               ext3            noatime                 0 0
/dev/hda7               none            swap            sw                      0 0
/dev/fd0                /mnt/floppy     auto            noauto                  0 0
/dev/cdroms/cdrom0      /mnt/cdrom      iso9660         noauto,ro               0 0
/dev/cdroms/cdrom1      /mnt/cdrom1     iso9660         noauto,ro               0 0
/dev/hda10              /mnt/down       auto            noatime                 0 0
/dev/hde1               /mnt/games      auto            noatime                 0 0
/dev/hde5               /mnt/docs       auto            noatime                 0 0
/dev/hde6               /mnt/down1      auto            noatime                 0 0
/dev/hdg5              /mnt/down2      auto            noatime                 0 0
/dev/hdg6              /mnt/down3      auto            noatime                 0 0
/dev/hdg7              /mnt/down3      auto            noatime                 0 0
/dev/hdg8              /mnt/down4      auto            noatime                 0 0
proc                    /proc           proc            defaults                0 0

(Still need to re-partionate the hdg drive into 1 big partition :) )

Any idea what could be the problem?

This is the command I use to mount the iso (like already said in a post before):
Code:
# mount -t iso9660 -o loop flt-th3.bin /mnt/iso/


Patrick

Edit: And yes, the /mnt/iso dir exists :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum