Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Convert ext3 to ext2--can it be done?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
codejnki
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Aug 2002
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Mon Sep 23, 2002 11:48 pm    Post subject: Convert ext3 to ext2--can it be done? Reply with quote

I'm convinced that my preformance problems are related to ext3. During boot the kernel messages fly by as quickly as I have always seen them fly by and then as soon as it hit's mounting the file systems everything slows down to a crawl.

Is there a simple command line I can run to convert my ext3 file system to an ext2 file system? I've used ext2 for years and never ran in to a major problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
steveb
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Sep 2002
Posts: 4564

PostPosted: Mon Sep 23, 2002 11:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
umount /dev/hdaX
/sbin/tune2fs -O ^has_journal /dev/hdaX
/sbin/e2fsck -y /dev/hdaX
mount -t ext2 /dev/hdaX /mount/point
rm -f /mount/point/.journal


cheers

steve
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
codejnki
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Aug 2002
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Tue Sep 24, 2002 12:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

okay to ask my second question of the eveaning...

How would you go about doing thins on the root file system where your /sbin directory lived?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naan Yaar
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 27 Jun 2002
Posts: 1549

PostPosted: Tue Sep 24, 2002 12:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Use the install disk to boot and then do this. You root won't be mounted then.
codejnki wrote:
okay to ask my second question of the eveaning...
How would you go about doing thins on the root file system where your /sbin directory lived?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
codejnki
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Aug 2002
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Tue Sep 24, 2002 12:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Naan Yaar wrote:
Use the install disk to boot and then do this. You root won't be mounted then.

And a loud "DUH!!!" was heard in the vacinity of the Michigan/Indiana/Ohio border.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
paul138
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Aug 2002
Posts: 370
Location: Ottawa, ON

PostPosted: Tue Sep 24, 2002 2:01 pm    Post subject: BC Reply with quote

ext3 is backward compatible with ext2.

You can change the file system type in your fstab to ext2 instead of ext3 and see if that helps.
_________________
Talk is cheap because supply always exceeds demand.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
codejnki
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Aug 2002
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Tue Sep 24, 2002 3:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So if I understand this correctly, if I tell it to mount it as an ext2 instead of ext3 it basically won't do the journaling :?:
This would be very nice.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pilla
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 07 Aug 2002
Posts: 7729
Location: Underworld

PostPosted: Tue Sep 24, 2002 3:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Short answer: yes
Long answer: why do you need a longer answer??? 8)

codejnki wrote:
So if I understand this correctly, if I tell it to mount it as an ext2 instead of ext3 it basically won't do the journaling :?:
This would be very nice.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naan Yaar
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 27 Jun 2002
Posts: 1549

PostPosted: Tue Sep 24, 2002 3:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You have to be careful with this though. If you have unclean shutdowns when mounted as ext3, you would want to mount as ext3 to recover the journal and do a clean shutdown before mounting as ext2.

The slowing down to a crawl part is probably not due to journaling. Have you optimized your hdparm settings to enable DMA, etc., if applicable? This could be a reason.
codejnki wrote:
So if I understand this correctly, if I tell it to mount it as an ext2 instead of ext3 it basically won't do the journaling :?:
This would be very nice.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
paul138
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Aug 2002
Posts: 370
Location: Ottawa, ON

PostPosted: Tue Sep 24, 2002 3:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Naan Yaar wrote:
You have to be careful with this though. If you have unclean shutdowns when mounted as ext3, you would want to mount as ext3 to recover the journal and do a clean shutdown before mounting as ext2.


Correct. I recommended switching to ext2 to see if ext3 was in fact the cuprate. Maybe I should have been more clear on this.

If it's not the problem, swicth back to ext3 (via fstab) and try the hdparm stuffs.

After you've booted up, run:
/etc/init.d/hdparm start
And work with it for a while. But not until you've tested ext2 -without- this script.
_________________
Talk is cheap because supply always exceeds demand.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pilla
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 07 Aug 2002
Posts: 7729
Location: Underworld

PostPosted: Tue Sep 24, 2002 3:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I'm quite happy with my ext3 partitions. Have been using ext3 for a while, never had corruption/performance problems. I cannot see any difference in performance when compared with ext2, although I can see the advantage when I have some power interruption (which is not a problem in my notebook 8) ). Anyway, I like the journaling and I feel a *lot* better having it than sacrificing it for some small (if any) performance improvement.

How worth is your data? 8)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
codejnki
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Aug 2002
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Tue Sep 24, 2002 5:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's actually just a web browsing system for my girlfriend. She needs something to browse the web to check her bank statement and chat with people (go gaim). Other than that it's the firewall/router for when i use my laptop. I'm running the cable modem through there.

I actually turned OFF the dma stuff (i'm not exactly sure if this system supports DMA or not) and didn't notice a thing. I'm at work right now so I'll have to wait till I get home to really test it out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
codejnki
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Aug 2002
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Wed Sep 25, 2002 1:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've mounted as EXT2: still felt sluggish
ran the hdparm script: small improvement (may be just a mental thing though)
swiched from running Mozilla to the newly release Pheonix (this thing rocks) and although I still feel like it's limping along, at least there isn't the full mozilla bloat.

Patrick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pilla
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 07 Aug 2002
Posts: 7729
Location: Underworld

PostPosted: Wed Sep 25, 2002 2:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe the problem is elsewhere, like in your kernel...

Are you sure you have the correct options for your specific motherboard? Correct chipsets may improve your performance a lot.

codejnki wrote:
I've mounted as EXT2: still felt sluggish
ran the hdparm script: small improvement (may be just a mental thing though)
swiched from running Mozilla to the newly release Pheonix (this thing rocks) and although I still feel like it's limping along, at least there isn't the full mozilla bloat.

Patrick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
codejnki
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Aug 2002
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Wed Sep 25, 2002 2:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could the problem be devfs? Looking through my kernel config I've got just about all the chipset stuff compiled in. One thing that I did find is that devfs is enabled (per Gentoo's request) but it was not set to autmatically mount at boot.

Could this be causing the system come in to conflict with things?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fmalabre
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jun 2002
Posts: 376
Location: Chicago

PostPosted: Wed Sep 25, 2002 5:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Reiser fs is very fast.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum