Systemd-boot error even when using GRUB, cannot boot
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
neoissad
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Wed Mar 27, 2024 7:43 pm    Post subject: Systemd-boot error even when using GRUB, cannot boot Reply with quote

I am trying to use UKI with GRUB and gentoo-kernel-bin. systemd-boot is not installed to my efi directory. However, after updating systemd-utils with boot and kernel-install, I can no longer boot, and get the error

Code:
systemd-boot: Assertion 'device' failed at ../systemd-stable-254.8/src/boot/efi/part-discovery.c:251@partition\_open, halting

Here is my relevant package.use:

Code:
sys-kernel/installkernel grub dracut uki
sys-apps/systemd-utils boot kernel-install

I am using OpenRC and UEFI. I'm pretty new to Gentoo, any help would be appreciated!
kimchi_sg
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Thu Mar 28, 2024 12:55 am    Post subject: Re: Systemd-boot error even when using GRUB, cannot boot Reply with quote

neoissad wrote:
I am trying to use UKI with GRUB and gentoo-kernel-bin. systemd-boot is not installed to my efi directory. However, after updating systemd-utils with boot and kernel-install, I can no longer boot, and get the error

Which do you want to use, GRUB or systemd-boot?

They are mutually exclusive.

If you want to use GRUB, remove USE=boot from systemd-utils and remove USE=systemd from installkernel.
neoissad
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Mar 28, 2024 3:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm trying to use GRUB. I removed the USE=boot from systemd-utils. My current use flags for installkernel and systemd-utils are
Code:
sys-kernel/installkernel dracut grub
sys-apps/systemd-utils acl kmod python_single_target_python3_11 tmpfiles udev abi_x86_32

After rerunning `emerge --config gentoo-kernel-bin`, unmounting drives, and rebooting, I still get the same error.
AndrewAmmerlaan
Developer
Developer