Switched to profile 23.0, now can't open emacs in X[SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
sl70
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Mon Mar 25, 2024 4:38 am    Post subject: Switched to profile 23.0, now can't open emacs in X[SOLVED] Reply with quote

Hi, after I messed up my whole system by ignoring the news item about grub-install, when the profile 23.0 news came out I was very careful to follow the excellent instructions to the letter. Everything seems OK but now I can't get emacs to open in an X frame, only a tty frame (which sucks very badly). I have been using emacs in X for 30 years or thereabouts and have never had this problem.
I tried
    re-emerging emacs
    removing the cairo USE flag (when I was running the giant emerge @world step I had to add cairo for some other package, but I guess that had nothing to do with this issue)
    tried running it with emacsclient -c
    ran emacs --debug-init .emacs

probably other things I can't remember now. Nothing works.

I depend on emacs for my work using dev-lang/R as an inferior process in emacs. Without it I'm lost.

I'd very much appreciate any help.

Last edited by sl70 on Tue Mar 26, 2024 4:36 am; edited 1 time in total
kgdrenefort
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Mon Mar 25, 2024 8:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

Could you please provide an output, error message on anything to start debugging this behavior please ?

What error(s) do you see while attempting to run emacs into your X session ?

Maybe that link could help you out: https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Gentoo_Cheat_Sheet#Package_troubleshooting

Also, you said:

sl70 wrote:
(…) after I messed up my whole system by ignoring the news item about grub-install, (…)

What did happens ? Did you solved that ?

Regards,
GASPARD DE RENEFORT Kévin
sl70
Guru
Guru