Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
How do I proceed from here?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
splashmac
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Sep 2023
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2023 11:36 pm    Post subject: How do I proceed from here? Reply with quote

startx spits out vesa: refusing to run framebuffer or dri device present

How do I proceed? I want X to start using fbdev, vesa, or my radeon driver. Do I need to edit my xorg confs?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alexander-n8hgeg5e
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Nov 2019
Posts: 58

PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2023 11:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You mean "on dri device present" ?
If you did not create a custom xorg I'd start with
deleting the xorg and then maybe run the xserver
for testing with some debugging args like X -something
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54266
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2023 11:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

splashmac,

startx is not expected to be useful without some configuration.
It tries to run three xterms, and xclock all wrapped up in twm.
None of those are installed by default in Gentoo.

A couple of things to help us to help you.
Code:
emerge pciutils wgetpaste
if you don't have them.

Run
Code:
lspci -nnk
and post the output. That will tell us a bit about your hardware and the kernel drivers in use.
Post the content of use wgetpaste to share the content of Xorg.0.log.
Where that is depends on the user running startx.
It will tell what Xorg did or tried to do when it started.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
splashmac
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Sep 2023
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2023 2:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

lspci and xorg log here
https://bpa.st/WNHQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alexander-n8hgeg5e
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Nov 2019
Posts: 58

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2023 6:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

splashmac wrote:
lspci and xorg log here
https://bpa.st/WNHQ


Hm basically it tries to load vesa but vesa refuses to run because dri / frambuffer is available
so,... Hm,... best thing would be to have "dri"

Or maybe you only need to enable the "fbdev" driver
(in VIDEO_CARDS)
for the package x11-base/xorg-drivers
I never started an xserver with the "fbdev" driver.
Maybe the xserver refuses to start because it can't take over the
fbdev which is already taken by the console.

Is there some dri/drm kernel driver loaded?
Ok I see, the output of lspci lists no driver for your video card
so probably it's not loaded or so.
Maybe it is there but missing firmware or so,...
You can search the output of dmesg for further information
like so :
Code:
dmesg|grep -i -C5 firmware

you can try diffent words like "dri" or "drm"
if I do it with drm and -C1 it spits out even more stuff like this:
Code:

[  122.059529] nouveau 0000:05:00.0: DRM: DCB conn 03: 00002361                     
[  122.061036] nouveau 0000:05:00.0: DRM: MM: using COPY0 for buffer copies         
[  122.258306] nouveau 0000:05:00.0: [drm] Cannot find any crtc or sizes           
[  122.276693] [drm] Initialized nouveau 1.3.1 20120801 for 0000:05:00.0 on minor 0
[  122.448300] nouveau 0000:05:00.0: [drm] Cannot find any crtc or sizes           
[  124.795641] NMI watchdog: Enabled. Permanently consumes one hw-PMU counter.     

do you have x11-base/xorg-drivers installed ?

Another system with nividia gpu tells this line(and more):
Code:
[  151.418978] [drm] Initialized nouveau 1.3.1 20120801 for 0000:02:00.0 on minor 0

This tells you it loaded some "drm" driver. I think it is like "dri"
The kernel calls your graphics system like so.
Then I think you need xorg-drivers with
probably USE=libinput to have input
and any of the "VIDEO_CARDS"
This is from a machine (the one with no monitor connected but it has xorg-drivers)
I got this with "eix xorg-drivers" but you can also look into /var/db/pkg/x11-base and look out for a directory "xorg-drivers-some-version" like so: ls /var/db/pkg/x11-base/xorg-drivers-*/
Code:

[I] x11-base/xorg-drivers
     Available versions:  21.1-r2{tbz2} **9999*l {INPUT_DEVICES="elographics evdev joystick libinput synaptics vmmouse void wacom" VIDEO_CARDS="amdgpu ast dummy fbdev freedreno geode i915 intel mga nouveau nvidia omap qxl r128 radeon radeonsi siliconmotion tegra vc4 vesa via virtualbox vmware"}
     Installed versions:  21.1-r2{tbz2}(11:35:20 PM 02/11/2023)(INPUT_DEVICES="libinput -elographics -evdev -joystick -synaptics -vmmouse -void -wacom" VIDEO_CARDS="nouveau -amdgpu -ast -dummy -fbdev -freedreno -geode -i915 -intel -mga -nvidia -omap -qxl -r128 -radeon -radeonsi -siliconmotion -tegra -vc4 -vesa -via -virtualbox -vmware")
     Homepage:            https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/No_homepage
     Description:         Meta package containing deps on all xorg drivers


Then you maybe find your kernel config in /proc/config.gz (or similar)
"gz" means you need to decompress it.
so if you want to grep it you can do
Code:

zcat /proc/config.gz|grep -i -E 'drm\w*=[my]'

this tells me my kernel has the nouveau driver as a module
Code:

CONFIG_DRM=m
CONFIG_DRM_KMS_HELPER=m
CONFIG_DRM_FBDEV_EMULATION=y
CONFIG_DRM_DISPLAY_HELPER=m
CONFIG_DRM_DISPLAY_DP_HELPER=y
CONFIG_DRM_DISPLAY_HDMI_HELPER=y
CONFIG_DRM_TTM=m
CONFIG_DRM_TTM_HELPER=m
CONFIG_DRM_GEM_SHMEM_HELPER=m
CONFIG_DRM_NOUVEAU=m
CONFIG_DRM_NOUVEAU_BACKLIGHT=y
CONFIG_DRM_VKMS=m
CONFIG_DRM_VIRTIO_GPU=m
CONFIG_DRM_PANEL=y
CONFIG_DRM_BRIDGE=y
CONFIG_DRM_PANEL_BRIDGE=y
CONFIG_DRM_PANEL_ORIENTATION_QUIRKS=m
CONFIG_DRM_NOMODESET=y
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54266
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2023 11:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

splashmac,

Code:
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] RV530/M56-P [Mobility Radeon X1600] [1002:71c5]
   Subsystem: Apple Inc. MacBook Pro [106b:0080]

There should be another line there about
Code:
Kernel driver in use:


Your kernel is missing Radeon support. That will need drm support too.

As its an Apple, does it BIOS boot or is it EFI?

Show us (on pastebins) all of dmesg and the output of
Code:
emerge --info

If you know how to fix your kernel go ahead and do it, if not pastebin your entire kernel config file.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
splashmac
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Sep 2023
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2023 6:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

vesa: Refusing to run, Framebuffer or dri device present line in Xorg log, wouldn't that mean I have to disable Framebuffer in the kernel or dri in the kernel? But if I do have framebuffer and dri in the kernel and vesa is trying to load shouldn't I change the driver from vesa to something else?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54266
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Dec 21, 2023 1:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

splashmac,

You can't use VESA on an EFI system. It needs BIOS support and EFI is missing that.
You need drm and radeon in the kernel to get started.

Everything is a framebuffer now. even the 24x80 VGA ' text' console.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
splashmac
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Sep 2023
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Thu Dec 21, 2023 9:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

KERNEL Disable legacy framebuffer support and enable basic console FB support
Device Drivers --->
Graphics support --->
Frame Buffer Devices --->
<*> Support for frame buffer devices --->
## (Disable all drivers, including VGA, Intel, NVIDIA, and ATI, except EFI-based Framebuffer Support, only if you are using UEFI)

## (Further down, enable basic console support. KMS uses this.)
Console display driver support --->
<*> Framebuffer Console Support

Doesn't this contradict itself by disabling all drivers including ATI when later you need to enable ATI radeon driver? And can I use the UEFI framebuffer and not use radeon? My radeon is spitting out dots and garbled screen. If I need nomodeset in my refind_linux.conf to not have garbled screen is there an issue with monitor settings?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alexander-n8hgeg5e
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Nov 2019
Posts: 58

PostPosted: Fri Dec 29, 2023 7:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hm, I don't know that much about framebuffers in the linux kernel but usually it's ok to enable stuff
while not using it.
I would try to enable everything that could be missing. Then when the kernel is working, you can remove the things you don't need.
Keep your current kernel as backup in case you need it to boot the system.
If your system boots up and you get no display at all then you could use a serial cable
or ssh into it.
Maybe try to enable "drm/dri" things and the 3d accelerated driver for the radeon card.
Then don't forget to compile the xorg-drivers package with the corresponding
flags.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54266
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri Dec 29, 2023 6:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

splashmac,

There are a lot of hardware specific framebuffer dlivers in the framebuffer menu that are only useful with last millennium GPUs.
They mostly interfere with the operation of the GPU, so must be off.

The exceptions are
VESA, which an only be used on BIAS systems or with BIOS booting.
EFI, which is tied to EFI firmware
and Simple Frame Buffer, which is so simple that in only draws on an existing framebuffer. It has no setup commands.

All the modern Direct Render Manager (DRM) kernel drivers also provide framebuffers at no extra charge. There are the console drivers you should use.

At startup the kernel will normally use EFI/VESA. Neither of these driver try to take over and 'own' the GPU, which is why the others need to be off.
If the GPU is already owned, the DRM framebuffer cannot start.

When all is well, the DRM framebuffer takes over from EFI/VESA. When this switchover occurs, if the DRM framebuffer is broken, console output is lost.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alexander-n8hgeg5e
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Nov 2019
Posts: 58

PostPosted: Sun Dec 31, 2023 12:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
splashmac,

There are a lot of hardware specific framebuffer dlivers in the framebuffer menu that are only useful with last millennium GPUs.
They mostly interfere with the operation of the GPU, so must be off.

The exceptions are
VESA, which an only be used on BIAS systems or with BIOS booting.
EFI, which is tied to EFI firmware
and Simple Frame Buffer, which is so simple that in only draws on an existing framebuffer. It has no setup commands.

All the modern Direct Render Manager (DRM) kernel drivers also provide framebuffers at no extra charge. There are the console drivers you should use.

At startup the kernel will normally use EFI/VESA. Neither of these driver try to take over and 'own' the GPU, which is why the others need to be off.
If the GPU is already owned, the DRM framebuffer cannot start.

When all is well, the DRM framebuffer takes over from EFI/VESA. When this switchover occurs, if the DRM framebuffer is broken, console output is lost.

Thats good to know.
Once I wanted to unload my DRM driver (it was the nouveau driver)
And I had to tell the "vtconsole" to use a dummy frame buffer.
I think this is only possible if you don't need the vtconsole and you are logged in with ssh
or serial cable or something like this. Because if I got it right, "vtconsole" is what allows you to switch
with Alt-FKey through the terminals and is essentially your terminal on your local screen.
It worked like this: (logged in via ssh !)
Code:

echo 0 > /sys/class/vtconsole/vtcon0/bind

and this is how it looks in the sys tree:
Code:

ls  /sys/class/vtconsole

gives
Code:

vtcon0  vtcon1

and
Code:

cat /sys/class/vtconsole/vtcon0/name

gives
Code:

(M) frame buffer device

and
Code:

cat /sys/class/vtconsole/vtcon1/name

gives
Code:

(M) dummy device
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54266
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Dec 31, 2023 12:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

alexander-n8hgeg5e,

For the avoidance of doubt the step
Code:
echo 0 > /sys/class/vtconsole/vtcon0/bind
detaches the console.
That makes it hard to read until its reattached somewhere else.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum