View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
mich Tux's lil' helper

Joined: 29 Sep 2007 Posts: 88
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fedeliallalinea Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2003 Posts: 30329 Location: here
|
Posted: Tue Sep 19, 2023 7:49 am Post subject: |
|
|
Code: | fatal runtime error: Rust cannot catch foreign exceptions
rustc exited with signal: 6 (SIGABRT) |
Probably is an out of memory error, check your dmesg.
Rust require a lot of memory to compile, in alternative (if the problem is the memory) use dev-lang/rust-bin package. _________________ Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mich Tux's lil' helper

Joined: 29 Sep 2007 Posts: 88
|
Posted: Tue Sep 19, 2023 8:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
fedeliallalinea wrote: | Code: | fatal runtime error: Rust cannot catch foreign exceptions
rustc exited with signal: 6 (SIGABRT) |
Probably is an out of memory error, check your dmesg.
Rust require a lot of memory to compile, in alternative (if the problem is the memory) use dev-lang/rust-bin package. |
Hello, thanks for the answer: But in the pass no problem. in dmesg i found this. b43-phy0 ERROR: PHY transmission error |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mich Tux's lil' helper

Joined: 29 Sep 2007 Posts: 88
|
Posted: Tue Sep 19, 2023 10:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
mich wrote: | fedeliallalinea wrote: | Code: | fatal runtime error: Rust cannot catch foreign exceptions
rustc exited with signal: 6 (SIGABRT) |
Probably is an out of memory error, check your dmesg.
Rust require a lot of memory to compile, in alternative (if the problem is the memory) use dev-lang/rust-bin package. |
Hello, thanks for the answer: But in the pass no problem. in dmesg i found this. b43-phy0 ERROR: PHY transmission error |
In fact in dmesg didn`t find something like "out of memory" and I doinfg :emerge -1 dev-lang/rust-bin + emerge -c dev-lang/rust |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fedeliallalinea Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2003 Posts: 30329 Location: here
|
Posted: Tue Sep 19, 2023 11:13 am Post subject: |
|
|
Can you post dmesg with wgetpaste (If you have rebooted the system after the error, nothing will be seen)?
It would have been enough to give emerge -1 dev-lang/rust-bin command. _________________ Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Ionen Developer


Joined: 06 Dec 2018 Posts: 2600
|
Posted: Tue Sep 19, 2023 1:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I wonder what kind of error it gives if rather than "run out" of memory+swap, it tried to use over 4GB on x86 for a single process, and if it may be what happened here.
fwiw do try with USE=-lto (there's been some talk that maybe should just mask it on x86 for rust), albeit personally I'd just use rust-bin on x86-32 machines rather than build it either way (aka emerge -1 rust-bin && emerge -c dev-lang/rust) |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mich Tux's lil' helper

Joined: 29 Sep 2007 Posts: 88
|
Posted: Tue Sep 19, 2023 6:13 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ionen wrote: | I wonder what kind of error it gives if rather than "run out" of memory+swap, it tried to use over 4GB on x86 for a single process, and if it may be what happened here.
fwiw do try with USE=-lto (there's been some talk that maybe should just mask it on x86 for rust), albeit personally I'd just use rust-bin on x86-32 machines rather than build it either way (aka emerge -1 rust-bin && emerge -c dev-lang/rust) |
Hello,
When doing emerge -c dev-lang/rust :
Calculating dependencies... done!
>>> No packages selected for removal by depclean
>>> To see reverse dependencies, use --verbose
An now I have installed the two:
eix rust:
[U] dev-lang/rust
Available versions: (stable) 1.65.0(stable/1.65)^t 1.66.1(stable/1.66)^t ~1.67.1-r1(stable/1.67)^t ~1.68.2(stable/1.6 ^t 1.69.0-r1(stable/1.69)^t ~1.70.0(stable/1.70)^t ~1.71.0(stable/1.71)^t 1.71.1(stable/1.71)^t ~1.72.0(stable/1.72)^t
{big-endian clippy debug dist doc llvm-libunwind +lto miri nightly parallel-compiler profiler rust-analyzer rust-src rustfmt system-bootstrap system-llvm test verify-sig wasm ABI_MIPS="n32 n64 o32" ABI_S390="32 64" ABI_X86="32 64 x32" CPU_FLAGS_X86="sse2" LLVM_TARGETS="AArch64 AMDGPU ARM AVR BPF Hexagon Lanai LoongArch MSP430 Mips NVPTX PowerPC RISCV Sparc SystemZ VE WebAssembly X86 XCore"}
Installed versions: 1.69.0-r1(stable/1.69)^t(10:19:38 AM 06/24/2023)(-clippy -debug -dist -doc -llvm-libunwind -miri -nightly -parallel-compiler -profiler -rust-analyzer -rust-src -rustfmt -system-bootstrap -system-llvm -test -verify-sig -wasm ABI_MIPS="-n32 -n64 -o32" ABI_S390="-32 -64" ABI_X86="32 -64 -x32" CPU_FLAGS_X86="sse2" LLVM_TARGETS="X86 -AArch64 -AMDGPU -ARM -AVR -BPF -Hexagon -Lanai -MSP430 -Mips -NVPTX -PowerPC -RISCV -Sparc -SystemZ -WebAssembly -XCore")
Homepage: https://www.rust-lang.org/
Description: Systems programming language from Mozilla
[I] dev-lang/rust-bin
Available versions: (stable) 1.65.0-r1 1.66.1-r1 ~1.67.1-r3 ~1.68.2-r2 1.69.0-r1 ~1.70.0-r3^s ~1.71.0^s 1.71.1^s ~1.72.0^s
{big-endian clippy doc prefix rust-analyzer rust-src rustfmt verify-sig ABI_MIPS="n32 n64 o32" ABI_S390="32 64" ABI_X86="32 64 x32" CPU_FLAGS_X86="sse2"}
Installed versions: 1.71.1(stable)^s(12:33:44 PM 09/19/2023)(-big-endian -clippy -doc -prefix -rust-analyzer -rust-src -rustfmt -verify-sig ABI_MIPS="-n32 -n64 -o32" ABI_S390="-32 -64" ABI_X86="32 -64 -x32" CPU_FLAGS_X86="sse2")
Homepage: https://www.rust-lang.org/
And when doing emerge -avuDN @world, again trying to install dev-lang/rust
Thanks for the help |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mich Tux's lil' helper

Joined: 29 Sep 2007 Posts: 88
|
Posted: Tue Sep 19, 2023 6:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
fedeliallalinea wrote: | Can you post dmesg with wgetpaste (If you have rebooted the system after the error, nothing will be seen)?
It would have been enough to give emerge -1 dev-lang/rust-bin command. |
Hello,
Here the link to dmesg: https://transfer.sh/CqfK6M4fvU/dmesg.txt
Thanks in advance |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Ionen Developer


Joined: 06 Dec 2018 Posts: 2600
|
Posted: Wed Sep 20, 2023 5:29 am Post subject: |
|
|
May want to try with -v to see what is still preventing depclean, aka emerge -pvc dev-lang/rust.
But I assume it's because of mismatching USE, check in /etc/portage for anything you set on dev-lang/rust (if any) and set it on dev-lang/rust-bin too (or maybe cleanup flags on virtual/rust if any and re-emerge that).
Alternatively could potentially be a bad package that depends directly on dev-lang/rust when it should be depending on virtual/rust, the -pvc command would show it (if all it shows is virtual/rust then it's probably flags, if it shows other packages then it could be that). |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mich Tux's lil' helper

Joined: 29 Sep 2007 Posts: 88
|
Posted: Wed Sep 20, 2023 6:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
Ionen wrote: | May want to try with -v to see what is still preventing depclean, aka emerge -pvc dev-lang/rust.
But I assume it's because of mismatching USE, check in /etc/portage for anything you set on dev-lang/rust (if any) and set it on dev-lang/rust-bin too (or maybe cleanup flags on virtual/rust if any and re-emerge that).
Alternatively could potentially be a bad package that depends directly on dev-lang/rust when it should be depending on virtual/rust, the -pvc command would show it (if all it shows is virtual/rust then it's probably flags, if it shows other packages then it could be that). |
Thanks Ionen,
here the output:
emerge -pvc dev-lang/rust
Calculating dependencies... done!
dev-lang/rust-1.69.0-r1 pulled in by:
virtual/rust-1.69.0 requires ~dev-lang/rust-1.69.0[abi_x86_32(-)]
>>> No packages selected for removal by depclean
Packages installed: 845
Packages in world: 34
Packages in system: 49
Required packages: 845
Number to remove: 0 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Ionen Developer


Joined: 06 Dec 2018 Posts: 2600
|
Posted: Wed Sep 20, 2023 6:37 am Post subject: |
|
|
Oh right, guess it's just because the virtual is outdated
emerge -1 virtual/rust too |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mich Tux's lil' helper

Joined: 29 Sep 2007 Posts: 88
|
Posted: Wed Sep 20, 2023 7:05 am Post subject: |
|
|
Ionen wrote: | Oh right, guess it's just because the virtual is outdated
emerge -1 virtual/rust too |
When I do emerge -1 virtual/rust, again try to install first dev-lang/rust-1.71.1 that is my problem!
emerge -1 virtual/rust
Calculating dependencies... done!
Dependency resolution took 15.09 s.
>>> Verifying ebuild manifests
>>> Running pre-merge checks for dev-lang/rust-1.71.1
* Checking for at least 11520 MiB disk space at "/var/tmp/portage/dev-lang/rust-1.71.1/temp" ... [ ok ]
>>> Emerging (1 of 2) dev-lang/rust-1.71.1::gentoo
* rustc-1.71.1-src.tar.xz BLAKE2B SHA512 size ... [ ok ]
* rust-1.70.0-i686-unknown-linux-gnu.tar.xz BLAKE2B SHA512 size ... [ ok ]
* Checking for at least 11520 MiB disk space at "/var/tmp/portage/dev-lang/rust-1.71.1/temp" ... [ ok ]
* Checking whether python3_12 is suitable ...
* dev-lang/python:3.12 ... [ !! ]
* Checking whether python3_11 is suitable ...
* dev-lang/python:3.11 ...
^C |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mich Tux's lil' helper

Joined: 29 Sep 2007 Posts: 88
|
Posted: Wed Sep 20, 2023 7:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
mich wrote: | Ionen wrote: | Oh right, guess it's just because the virtual is outdated
emerge -1 virtual/rust too |
When I do emerge -1 virtual/rust, again try to install first dev-lang/rust-1.71.1 that is my problem!
emerge -1 virtual/rust
Calculating dependencies... done!
Dependency resolution took 15.09 s.
>>> Verifying ebuild manifests
>>> Running pre-merge checks for dev-lang/rust-1.71.1
* Checking for at least 11520 MiB disk space at "/var/tmp/portage/dev-lang/rust-1.71.1/temp" ... [ ok ]
>>> Emerging (1 of 2) dev-lang/rust-1.71.1::gentoo
* rustc-1.71.1-src.tar.xz BLAKE2B SHA512 size ... [ ok ]
* rust-1.70.0-i686-unknown-linux-gnu.tar.xz BLAKE2B SHA512 size ... [ ok ]
* Checking for at least 11520 MiB disk space at "/var/tmp/portage/dev-lang/rust-1.71.1/temp" ... [ ok ]
* Checking whether python3_12 is suitable ...
* dev-lang/python:3.12 ... [ !! ]
* Checking whether python3_11 is suitable ...
* dev-lang/python:3.11 ...
^C |
When I do emerge -1 -a virtual/rust:
[ebuild U ] dev-lang/rust-1.71.1 [1.69.0-r1] USE="lto%* (-big-endian)" LLVM_TARGETS="-LoongArch% -VE%"
[ebuild U ] virtual/rust-1.71.1 [1.69.0] |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Ionen Developer


Joined: 06 Dec 2018 Posts: 2600
|
Posted: Wed Sep 20, 2023 7:37 am Post subject: |
|
|
Do you not have up-to-date rust-bin still installed right now? the virtual would be happy with either rust or rust-bin, but you need to have a version that matches it installed.
Edit: aka emerge -1 rust-bin virtual/rust should do it in theory unless there's still something else going on, then try to depclean dev-lang/rust again |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mich Tux's lil' helper

Joined: 29 Sep 2007 Posts: 88
|
Posted: Wed Sep 20, 2023 7:50 am Post subject: |
|
|
Ionen wrote: | Do you not have up-to-date rust-bin still installed right now? the virtual would be happy with either rust or rust-bin, but you need to have a version that matches it installed.
Edit: aka emerge -1 rust-bin virtual/rust should do it in theory unless there's still something else going on, then try to depclean dev-lang/rust again |
Here what I have:
eselect rust list
Available Rust versions:
[1] rust-1.69.0
[2] rust-bin-1.71.1 * |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mich Tux's lil' helper

Joined: 29 Sep 2007 Posts: 88
|
Posted: Wed Sep 20, 2023 8:06 am Post subject: Solved |
|
|
mich wrote: | Ionen wrote: | Do you not have up-to-date rust-bin still installed right now? the virtual would be happy with either rust or rust-bin, but you need to have a version that matches it installed.
Edit: aka emerge -1 rust-bin virtual/rust should do it in theory unless there's still something else going on, then try to depclean dev-lang/rust again |
Here what I have:
eselect rust list
Available Rust versions:
[1] rust-1.69.0
[2] rust-bin-1.71.1 * |
Finally I did emerge -C =dev-lang/rust-1.69.0-r1, and now it seems ok |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mich Tux's lil' helper

Joined: 29 Sep 2007 Posts: 88
|
Posted: Thu Sep 21, 2023 8:00 am Post subject: Re: Solved |
|
|
mich wrote: | mich wrote: | Ionen wrote: | Do you not have up-to-date rust-bin still installed right now? the virtual would be happy with either rust or rust-bin, but you need to have a version that matches it installed.
Edit: aka emerge -1 rust-bin virtual/rust should do it in theory unless there's still something else going on, then try to depclean dev-lang/rust again |
Here what I have:
eselect rust list
Available Rust versions:
[1] rust-1.69.0
[2] rust-bin-1.71.1 * |
Finally I did emerge -C =dev-lang/rust-1.69.0-r1, and now it seems ok |
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Pasketti Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Sep 2003 Posts: 109 Location: Austin, Texas
|
Posted: Thu Sep 21, 2023 4:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I was having the same problem, but it was a memory issue for me.
I'm running on a minimal Linode VM with 1G of RAM, and 2G of swap.
This is normally enough for anything I do. My needs are simple.
I created a temporary 1G swap file and tried again. Failed.
2G swap file. Failed.
It wasn't until I created a 4G swap file (for a total of 6G swap) that it finally finished. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|