question on ansible
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Elleni
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2023 6:38 am    Post subject: question on ansible Reply with quote

I started playing around with ansible and was able to create my first playbook for updating yum based distros incl. showing services, where I can identify critical service(s) and ask wether update should be performed anyways and also identifying if a kernel update was performed thus a reboot is needed or not. Besides enabling mail notifications, I wonder if the following is possible and if somebody could help me on howto implement this.

I would love the same playbook would be able to determine if it is a yum based package manager involved, and if it is a apt based one do the same for those, and last but not least if its suse based do the needed updates using zypper. Any help would be greatly appreciated as I dont know yet how to proceed.

Edit - in case this fits better in other things in gentoo thanks @mod for a move there.
sMueggli
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2023 9:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am not really experienced with Ansible. Nevertheless I share my thoughts.

I am pretty sure that this is possible. You have to check some conditions inside the playbook.

Although I would write two different playbooks for yum and dpkg based distros. You will need to "organise" the inventory file so that you have a "yum" group of hosts and a "dpkg" group of hosts and run for example the "playbook_yum.yml" with the "yum" hosts group.

Both approaches have advantages and disadvantages.
Elleni
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2023 12:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote