Debugging src_compile phase in app-backup/znapzend ebuild
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
transpetaflops
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2023 12:39 am    Post subject: Debugging src_compile phase in app-backup/znapzend ebuild Reply with quote

Good evening all. I'm not an ebuild developer but I can usually hack my way forward by studying examples, reading error messages and adjust accordingly. But now I've hit a snag and I'm in dire need of some knowledge transfer.

BACKGROUND:
Well known MRTG developer Tobi Oetiker has a utility to automate ZFS snapshots and replication, which I have used with success in FreeBSD. https://github.com/oetiker/znapzend
An ebuild exists in the tgerczei overlay but has been abandoned for several years and it's stuck at EAPI 5. https://git.gerczei.eu/tgerczei/gentoo-overlay/src/branch/master/app-backup/znapzend
I've been trying for days to migrate it to EAPI 7 and have had partial success.

CURRENT PROGRESS:
The only things I've had to do so far is to add a depend for sys-block/mbuffer (not strictly necessary), adjusted the syntax for the patches and also regenerated the patches (it was only a matter of updating the version number of znapzend).
Pastebin of my diff: https://pastebin.com/raw/5wHQ6Jw0

ebuild znapzend-0.21.1.ebuild clean - WORKS
ebuild znapzend-0.21.1.ebuild prepare - WORKS
ebuild znapzend-0.21.1.ebuild configure - WORKS
ebuild znapzend-0.21.1.ebuild compile - FAILS