Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Stuck at loading initramfs with the two good framebuffer
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
lessblonux1
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Mar 2023
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sun Mar 19, 2023 11:19 pm    Post subject: Stuck at loading initramfs with the two good framebuffer Reply with quote

Hello everyone, happy to be here !

I have a problem in my last gentoo install. I am stuck at the infamous loading initramfs. I install the last kernel (gentoo-sources) for my install but this problem persist since at least a week so i have try several kernel in 6.1.X and in 6.2.X i have even reinstall two times but it seems i am still unable to fix the problem.
I understand this is a framebuffer issue.
I only have enable

Quote:

CONFIG_FB_VESA=y
CONFIG_FB_EFI=y


and there is no more CONFIG_FB_SIMPLE options

but even with the others removed specially

Quote:

CONFIG_SYSFB_SIMPLEFB is not set
CONFIG_XEN_FBDEV_FRONTEND is not set

things doesn't. I also try to remove

CONFIG_SYSFB

but i can't

Quote:

Symbol: SYSFB [=y] │
│ Type : bool │
│ Defined at drivers/firmware/Kconfig:229 │
│ Selects: BOOT_VESA_SUPPORT [=y] │
│ Selected by [y]: │
│ - FB_VESA [=y] && HAS_IOMEM [=y] && FB [=y]=y && X86 [=y] │
│ - FB_EFI [=y] && HAS_IOMEM [=y] && FB [=y]=y && !IA64 && EFI [=y] │
│ Selected by [n]: │
│ - SYSFB_SIMPLEFB [=n] && (X86 [=y] || EFI [=y])


I don't think it matters but i use musl, and i have a moduleless kernel.

Any help is appreciate.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pietinger
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 17 Oct 2006
Posts: 4148
Location: Bavaria

PostPosted: Mon Mar 20, 2023 1:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

lessblonux1,

Welcome to Gentoo Forums !

Maybe you are missing framebuffer console support. Please check if this is enabled:
Code:
Device Drivers --->
    Graphics support  --->
        Console display driver support  --->
            [*] Framebuffer Console support
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lessblonux1
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Mar 2023
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Mon Mar 20, 2023 1:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you very much to help.
Unfortunately i already have it.

Quote:

Symbol: FRAMEBUFFER_CONSOLE [=y] │
│ Type : bool │
│ Defined at drivers/video/console/Kconfig:73 │
│ Prompt: Framebuffer Console support │
│ Depends on: VT [=y] && FB [=y] && !UML │
│ Location: │
│ -> Device Drivers │
│ -> Graphics support │
│ -> Console display driver support │
│ -> Framebuffer Console support (FRAMEBUFFER_CONSOLE [=y])


I have pasted in two parts my kernel config if someone can see what's wrong.
https://dpaste.com/5QYT2PBKY
https://dpaste.com/GEMBQENBZ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pietinger
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 17 Oct 2006
Posts: 4148
Location: Bavaria

PostPosted: Mon Mar 20, 2023 12:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

First of all: Please check if you really boot THIS kernel ... I see some (many?) problems in your kernel configuration:

Code:
1)
CONFIG_BROKEN_ON_SMP=y
2)
CONFIG_BUILD_SALT="6.1.18-200.fc37.x86_64"
3)
CONFIG_EXPERT=y
4)
CONFIG_X86_AMD_PLATFORM_DEVICE=y
5)
CONFIG_NR_CPUS_RANGE_BEGIN=1
CONFIG_NR_CPUS_RANGE_END=1
CONFIG_NR_CPUS_DEFAULT=1
CONFIG_NR_CPUS=1
6)
CONFIG_X86_INTEL_PSTATE=y
CONFIG_X86_AMD_PSTATE=y
7)
# CONFIG_SWAP is not set
8)
# CONFIG_MODULES is not set
9)
CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE="amdgpu/dimgrey_cavefish_ce.bin amdgpu/dimgrey_cavefish_mec2.bin amdgpu/dimgrey_cavefish_me.bin amdgpu/dimgrey_cavefish_rlc.bin amdgpu/dimgrey_cavefish_smc.bin amdgpu/dimgrey_cavefish_mec.bin amdgpu/dimgrey_cavefish_ta.bin amdgpu/dimgrey_cavefish_dmcub.bin amdgpu/dimgrey_cavefish_pfp.bin amdgpu/dimgrey_cavefish_sdma.bin amdgpu/dimgrey_cavefish_sos.bin amdgpu/dimgrey_cavefish_vcn.bin  amd-ucode/microcode_amd_fam19h.bin amd/amd_sev_fam19h_model0xh.sbin"

10)
#
# Android
#
CONFIG_ANDROID_BINDER_IPC=y
CONFIG_ANDROID_BINDERFS=y
CONFIG_ANDROID_BINDER_DEVICES="binder,hwbinder,vndbinder"

11)
CONFIG_SECURITY_SMACK=y
# CONFIG_SECURITY_SMACK_BRINGUP is not set
# CONFIG_SECURITY_SMACK_NETFILTER is not set
# CONFIG_SECURITY_SMACK_APPEND_SIGNALS is not set
CONFIG_SECURITY_TOMOYO=y
CONFIG_SECURITY_TOMOYO_MAX_ACCEPT_ENTRY=2048
CONFIG_SECURITY_TOMOYO_MAX_AUDIT_LOG=1024
# CONFIG_SECURITY_TOMOYO_OMIT_USERSPACE_LOADER is not set
CONFIG_SECURITY_TOMOYO_POLICY_LOADER="/sbin/tomoyo-init"
CONFIG_SECURITY_TOMOYO_ACTIVATION_TRIGGER="/sbin/init"
# CONFIG_SECURITY_TOMOYO_INSECURE_BUILTIN_SETTING is not set
CONFIG_SECURITY_APPARMOR=y
# CONFIG_SECURITY_APPARMOR_DEBUG is not set
CONFIG_SECURITY_APPARMOR_INTROSPECT_POLICY=y
CONFIG_SECURITY_APPARMOR_HASH=y
CONFIG_SECURITY_APPARMOR_HASH_DEFAULT=y
CONFIG_SECURITY_APPARMOR_EXPORT_BINARY=y
CONFIG_SECURITY_APPARMOR_PARANOID_LOAD=y

CONFIG_DEFAULT_SECURITY_SMACK=y

CONFIG_LSM="lockdown,yama,integrity"

12)
CONFIG_KFENCE=y


1) Haha ... YES ... look at (5)
2) From where you have copied this config ?
3) Good ... I recommend it also ... BUT it has some afteraffect you have to know ...
4) Is it an AMD NOTEBOOK ?!
5) You really should change this to the number of your LOGICAL CPU cores.
6) You dont need Intel stuff in an AMD machine
7) hmm ... ok ... no swap ...
8 ) hmm ... a monolithic kernel ... mine is also a monolithic one ;-)
9) Hopefully this is correct and nothing is missing.
10) ... REALLY ? ...
11) This does not work: From all 4 LSM which do MAC (selinux,apparmor,smack,tomoyo) you can use ONLY ONE: This one must be set as default. At the moment it is smack ... do you really use smack ? You can't because it is not in CONFIG_LSM
12) Good. You are using Gentoo hardened so I think you want security. Maybe you want read more in these two wiki articles:
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/User:Pietinger/Tutorials/Manual_kernel_configuration
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/User:Pietinger/Tutorials/Kernel_Hardening_with_KSPP

I can say, it should not be a problem with framebuffer or console ... so ... maybe your kernel does panic and you dont see it. We had such a mystery problem also here: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-1161810-highlight-.html

To be honest ... I would throw away this config (there are many useless modules activated) and do a clean new one.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54237
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Mar 20, 2023 12:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lessblonux1,

Just for testing make AMDGPU a loable module.

I think what happens now, that amdgpufb is broken and gets selected before there is any console output.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lessblonux1
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Mar 2023
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Mon Mar 20, 2023 11:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@pietinger :

I have try to read and improve my kernel config into a fedora that probably why you see that.

I tought CONFIG_SMP was the option to disable Hyperthreading i was wrong it seems it was SMT and this option doesn't exist anymore ...

Yes i have a AMD notebook with CPU 5600H and Radeon 6600.
I select the firmware according to the wiki.

The android stuff was part of the options i forget to disable, i am learning the hard way ...

For the LSM i have read somewhere that they can work together, my plan was to try them one by one and if necessary/best together that's why i don't force anyone.
Agagin i learn something and i will try them one by one.

Security is indeed one of my goal to have a custom kernel that also why i enable config_expert to enforce the rnd_bits stuff like in the hardened kernel.

Thanks for the wiki page.

@NeddySeagoon

Before throwing my config away i try your idea and it seems to work partially ... i can boot untill dracut stop me because e2fsck has unsupported feature C12 so filesystems still has error ...

My question is what does that means if i want to have moduleless kernel ?

I haven't find anyone who has this e2fsck error in gentoo (but in Debian yes) see :

https://forums.debian.net/viewtopic.php?t=154055

I will try to use the latest e2fsprogs (v1.47) in testing and see what happend.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pietinger
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 17 Oct 2006
Posts: 4148
Location: Bavaria

PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2023 12:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

lessblonux1 wrote:
I tought CONFIG_SMP was the option to disable Hyperthreading i was wrong it seems it was SMT and this option doesn't exist anymore ...

It is a kernel command line paramter; with "nosmt" you can disable SMT/hyperthreading ->
https://www.kernel.org/doc/html/latest/admin-guide/kernel-parameters.html

lessblonux1 wrote:
For the LSM i have read somewhere that they can work together, my plan was to try them one by one and if necessary/best together that's why i don't force anyone.
Agagin i learn something and i will try them one by one.

All other LSM work together (yama,IMA,landlock,lockdown,loadpin,...) with ONE of the MAC LSM's. This is my line (I use apparmor and all these):
Code:
(landlock,lockdown,yama,integrity,apparmor,bpf)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54237
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2023 9:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

lessblonux1,

Can you fsck your root filesystem from the boot media?

The initrd build tools usually don't use the packages that they find on your system.
So that they have more control over the content, they usually build their own packages which bay be different versions to the ones you have installed.
Long story sort, you may need to coax the initrd build tool of your choice to use a newer ext2ftstools ... or even build your own initrd.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lessblonux1
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Mar 2023
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Thu Mar 23, 2023 5:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So ,i try to use fsck -c /dev/nvme0p2 (my root partitions) and he reports no errors even he claims filesystem was modified, and a reboot after nothing changed. I also try smartmontools but if i understand correctly this software doesn' t support nvme very well, and he reports ne errors anyway

Next as i planned, i try to reinstall with a livegui of gentoo but i was unable to have acces to a the graphic environment ( yes i have check the blake2 of my iso ).

So i find an old Fedora 32 live installer usb with an old e2fsprogs and recreate a partition table and reformat my nvme.
The installation after that was without problem untill the reboot ...

I install a kernel with amdgpu modules, then when i reboot no framebuffer problem this time but dracut could'nt find my root partition.

Quote:

dracut couldn't find the /dev/disk/UUID... this filesystem doesn't exist


I checked the uuid with blkid and it was the good in my fstab and in dracut so i am stuck again.

As i want to be sure my notebook is compatible with linux i have try succesfully to install Fedora and Artix with succes so i don't think there is a hardware problem
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54237
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Mar 23, 2023 5:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lessblonux1,

/etc/fstab cannot be used to mount the root filesystem as its located on the root filesystem which can't be read as its not mounted.
That's an infinite loop.

The way that is broken is by passing root= on the kernel command line. That allows the kernel or the initrd to find the root filesystem.
The problem is either in your initrd or in grub.cfg where the root= statement might be incorrect.

You say that root is at /dev/nvme0p2.

Boot to the grub menu. Highlight the entry you want to boot, then press 'e' for edit.
Find the the root= statement on the kernel command line.
Change it to read
Code:
root=/dev/nvme0p2


Now allow the system to boot. That's a one boot only change. The content of grub.cfg on disk is not changed.

DO you get a different error or does it boot now?

== edit ==
Code:
root=/dev/nvme0p2
looks wrong. I have a /dev/nvme0n1p2
Are you missing a "n1" is your post?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lessblonux1
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Mar 2023
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Fri Mar 24, 2023 9:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

First thanks to both of you for your help, i am really greatfull.

Yes my nvme0n1p2, is a bad typo sorry.

This allow me to boot and progress. I change the grub option to change UUID to /dev/nvmeXXX in the boot command line, and it's working

This is my new kernel config who is hopefuuly better :

https://dpaste.com/8DWQ2WW8B

Now, how can i get rid of the error with amdgpufb and the framebuffer to have a moduleless kernel ?

If i understand correctly having a custom initrd (who doesn't impact framebuffer, correct ?) is not gone change anything ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54237
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri Mar 24, 2023 9:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lessblonux1,

Your kernel has
Code:
CONFIG_GENTOO_PRINT_FIRMWARE_INFO=y

What firmware gets loaded for amdgpu?
dmesg will tell.

Your kernel provides 12 amdgpu/dimgrey_cavefish_* which looks correct ... but is that what is actually being loaded?

Pastebin dmesg if you like. We all want to know the answer :)

-- edit --

The initrd won't change anything but is that something you need at all?
Perhaps that's a question for later.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lessblonux1
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Mar 2023
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Fri Mar 24, 2023 11:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

here is my dmesg :

https://dpaste.com/BRB6R2JQ8

I still have my artix and i have this difference which, i think could be interesting :

Quote:

dmesg | grep firmwar
[ 2.118875] Spectre V2 : Enabling Restricted Speculation for firmware calls
[ 6.230218] [drm] Loading DMUB firmware via PSP: version=0x02020017
[ 6.261409] [drm] Found VCN firmware Version ENC: 1.26 DEC: 2 VEP: 0 Revision: 0
[ 6.261414] amdgpu 0000:03:00.0: amdgpu: Will use PSP to load VCN firmware
[ 8.165623] [drm] Loading DMUB firmware via PSP: version=0x01010024
[ 8.187086] [drm] Found VCN firmware Version ENC: 1.19 DEC: 5 VEP: 0 Revision: 0
[ 8.187097] amdgpu 0000:07:00.0: amdgpu: Will use PSP to load VCN firmware
[ 11.117944] platform regulatory.0: Direct firmware load for regulatory.db failed with error -2
[ 11.342001] rtw89_8852ae 0000:06:00.0: Direct firmware load for rtw89/rtw8852a_fw.bin failed with error -2
[ 11.342007] rtw89_8852ae 0000:06:00.0: failed to early request firmware: -2



i checked the rtw89 is a wifi driver (which is not important as i don't use it)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
musv
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Dec 2002
Posts: 3337
Location: de

PostPosted: Sat Mar 25, 2023 8:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I stumbled into a similar situation today.

According to AMDGPU Wiki you have to put the firmware blobs into the kernel or into the initrd in case you built amdgpu fix into the kernel and not as a module.

In my case (7900xtx):
Code:
CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE="amd-ucode/microcode_amd_fam19h.bin amdgpu/psp_13_0_0_sos.bin amdgpu/psp_13_0_0_ta.bin amdgpu/smu_13_0_0.bin amdgpu/dcn_3_2_0_dmcub.bin amdgpu/gc_11_0_0_imu.bin amdgpu/gc_11_0_0_pfp.bin amdgpu/gc_11_0_0_me.bin amdgpu/gc_11_0_0_rlc.bin amdgpu/gc_11_0_0_mec.bin amdgpu/sdma_6_0_0.bin amdgpu/vcn_4_0_0.bin amdgpu/gc_11_0_0_mes.bin amdgpu/gc_11_0_0_mes1.bin"

No idea, if everything is needed. But at least it had been loaded by the initial genkernel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54237
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Mar 25, 2023 11:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

lessblonux1,

Code:
[    0.432021] efifb: probing for efifb
[    0.432033] efifb: framebuffer at 0xfc10000000, using 8128k, total 8128k
[    0.432035] efifb: mode is 1920x1080x32, linelength=7680, pages=1
[    0.432036] efifb: scrolling: redraw
[    0.432036] efifb: Truecolor: size=8:8:8:8, shift=24:16:8:0
[    0.433543] Console: switching to colour frame buffer device 240x67


amdgpudrmfb is not in use.

Boot your Gentoo with the modular amdgpu and its dmesg will tell the firmware its loading.

Code:
[    0.462221] Loading firmware: regulatory.db
[    0.462231] platform regulatory.0: Direct firmware load for regulatory.db failed with error -2
[    0.462246] cfg80211: failed to load regulatory.db
That file is required for optimum WiFi operation. Its harmless if WiFI is not used.

Code:
[    2.804770] Loading firmware: rtl_nic/rtl8168h-2.fw
is a bug fix for your Ethernet card.


Code:
[    6.080840] r8169 0000:05:00.0 eth0: Link is Up - 1Gbps/Full - flow control rx/tx
[    6.080866] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): eth0: link becomes ready
[   21.915804] r8169 0000:05:00.0 eth0: Link is Down
[   29.421485] elogind-daemon[1550]: New session 1 of user test.
[   36.009171] Generic FE-GE Realtek PHY r8169-0-500:00: Downshift occurred from negotiated speed 1Gbps to actual speed 100Mbps, check cabling!

Something is broken. It started at 1G ...

Post your
Code:
lspci -nnk
output, lets start there.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lessblonux1
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Mar 2023
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sat Mar 25, 2023 5:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@ musv i have done that if you look my kernel config post 4 or 11. My firmware "family" is dimgrey fish but they are there with the amd microcode.

My lspci -nnk :

Code:

lspci -nnk
00:00.0 Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Renoir/Cezanne Root Complex [1022:1630]
   Subsystem: Lenovo Renoir/Cezanne Root Complex [17aa:3828]
00:00.2 IOMMU [0806]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Renoir/Cezanne IOMMU [1022:1631]
   Subsystem: Lenovo Renoir/Cezanne IOMMU [17aa:3825]
00:01.0 Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Renoir PCIe Dummy Host Bridge [1022:1632]
00:01.1 PCI bridge [0604]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Renoir PCIe GPP Bridge [1022:1633]
   Subsystem: Lenovo Renoir PCIe GPP Bridge [17aa:3907]
   Kernel driver in use: pcieport
00:01.2 PCI bridge [0604]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Renoir/Cezanne PCIe GPP Bridge [1022:1634]
   Subsystem: Lenovo Renoir/Cezanne PCIe GPP Bridge [17aa:3907]
   Kernel driver in use: pcieport
00:02.0 Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Renoir PCIe Dummy Host Bridge [1022:1632]
00:02.1 PCI bridge [0604]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Renoir/Cezanne PCIe GPP Bridge [1022:1634]
   Subsystem: Lenovo Renoir/Cezanne PCIe GPP Bridge [17aa:3907]
   Kernel driver in use: pcieport
00:02.2 PCI bridge [0604]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Renoir/Cezanne PCIe GPP Bridge [1022:1634]
   Subsystem: Lenovo Renoir/Cezanne PCIe GPP Bridge [17aa:3907]
   Kernel driver in use: pcieport
00:08.0 Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Renoir PCIe Dummy Host Bridge [1022:1632]
00:08.1 PCI bridge [0604]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Renoir Internal PCIe GPP Bridge to Bus [1022:1635]
   Subsystem: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Renoir Internal PCIe GPP Bridge to Bus [1022:1635]
   Kernel driver in use: pcieport
00:08.2 PCI bridge [0604]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Renoir Internal PCIe GPP Bridge to Bus [1022:1635]
   Subsystem: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Renoir Internal PCIe GPP Bridge to Bus [1022:1635]
   Kernel driver in use: pcieport
00:14.0 SMBus [0c05]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] FCH SMBus Controller [1022:790b] (rev 51)
   Subsystem: Lenovo FCH SMBus Controller [17aa:3856]
00:14.3 ISA bridge [0601]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] FCH LPC Bridge [1022:790e] (rev 51)
   Subsystem: Lenovo FCH LPC Bridge [17aa:384e]
00:18.0 Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Cezanne Data Fabric; Function 0 [1022:166a]
00:18.1 Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Cezanne Data Fabric; Function 1 [1022:166b]
00:18.2 Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Cezanne Data Fabric; Function 2 [1022:166c]
00:18.3 Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Cezanne Data Fabric; Function 3 [1022:166d]
00:18.4 Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Cezanne Data Fabric; Function 4 [1022:166e]
00:18.5 Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Cezanne Data Fabric; Function 5 [1022:166f]
00:18.6 Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Cezanne Data Fabric; Function 6 [1022:1670]
00:18.7 Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Cezanne Data Fabric; Function 7 [1022:1671]
01:00.0 PCI bridge [0604]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Navi 10 XL Upstream Port of PCI Express Switch [1002:1478] (rev c3)
   Kernel driver in use: pcieport
02:00.0 PCI bridge [0604]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Navi 10 XL Downstream Port of PCI Express Switch [1002:1479]
   Subsystem: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Navi 10 XL Downstream Port of PCI Express Switch [1002:1479]
   Kernel driver in use: pcieport
03:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Navi 23 [Radeon RX 6600/6600 XT/6600M] [1002:73ff] (rev c3)
   DeviceName: Realtek RTL8111E Ethernet LOM
   Subsystem: Lenovo Navi 23 [Radeon RX 6600/6600 XT/6600M] [17aa:3ab1]
03:00.1 Audio device [0403]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Navi 21/23 HDMI/DP Audio Controller [1002:ab28]
   Subsystem: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Navi 21/23 HDMI/DP Audio Controller [1002:ab28]
   Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
04:00.0 Non-Volatile memory controller [0108]: SK hynix Gold P31/PC711 NVMe Solid State Drive [1c5c:174a]
   Subsystem: SK hynix Gold P31/PC711 NVMe Solid State Drive [1c5c:174a]
   Kernel driver in use: nvme
05:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller [10ec:8168] (rev 15)
   Subsystem: Lenovo RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller [17aa:392d]
   Kernel driver in use: r8169
06:00.0 Network controller [0280]: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8852AE 802.11ax PCIe Wireless Network Adapter [10ec:8852]
   Subsystem: Lenovo RTL8852AE 802.11ax PCIe Wireless Network Adapter [17aa:4852]
07:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Cezanne [Radeon Vega Series / Radeon Vega Mobile Series] [1002:1638] (rev c5)
   Subsystem: Lenovo Cezanne [Radeon Vega Series / Radeon Vega Mobile Series] [17aa:3ab1]
07:00.2 Encryption controller [1080]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 17h (Models 10h-1fh) Platform Security Processor [1022:15df]
   Subsystem: Lenovo Family 17h (Models 10h-1fh) Platform Security Processor [17aa:383f]
   Kernel driver in use: ccp
07:00.3 USB controller [0c03]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Renoir/Cezanne USB 3.1 [1022:1639]
   Subsystem: Lenovo Renoir/Cezanne USB 3.1 [17aa:384d]
   Kernel driver in use: xhci_hcd
07:00.4 USB controller [0c03]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Renoir/Cezanne USB 3.1 [1022:1639]
   Subsystem: Lenovo Renoir/Cezanne USB 3.1 [17aa:384f]
   Kernel driver in use: xhci_hcd
07:00.5 Multimedia controller [0480]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] ACP/ACP3X/ACP6x Audio Coprocessor [1022:15e2] (rev 01)
   Subsystem: Lenovo ACP/ACP3X/ACP6x Audio Coprocessor [17aa:3841]
07:00.6 Audio device [0403]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 17h/19h HD Audio Controller [1022:15e3]
   Subsystem: Lenovo Family 17h/19h HD Audio Controller [17aa:382b]
   Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
08:00.0 SATA controller [0106]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] FCH SATA Controller [AHCI mode] [1022:7901] (rev 81)
   Subsystem: Lenovo FCH SATA Controller [AHCI mode] [17aa:3858]
   Kernel driver in use: ahci
08:00.1 SATA controller [0106]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] FCH SATA Controller [AHCI mode] [1022:7901] (rev 81)
   Subsystem: Lenovo FCH SATA Controller [AHCI mode] [17aa:3858]
   Kernel driver in use: ahci


@ NeddySeagoon :

i don't know if this is strange or not but my ethernet works well.
To be sure i am clear the dmesg i post come from my gentoo with amdgpu as module, if it wasn't i could be able to boot ^^.

Thanks again for the help as it seems a very complicated problem

quote tags changed to code tags to preserve formatting -- NeddySeagoon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54237
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Mar 25, 2023 5:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lessblonux1,

Code:
03:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Navi 23 [Radeon RX 6600/6600 XT/6600M] [1002:73ff] (rev c3)
...
07:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Cezanne [Radeon Vega Series / Radeon Vega Mobile Series] [1002:1638] (rev c5)


You have two AMD video cards.
The Navi 23 card needs amdgpu/dimgrey_cavefish_* firmware, as you say.
The Cezanne card needs amdgpu/green_sardine_* firmware.

Which video card do you expect the console to appear on and why?

Do you want to use both cards later ?

The dmesg you posted shows no attempt to load the amdgpu driver at all.
Notice that dmesg does not show any driver in use for either card.

If you
Code:
modprobe amdgpu
you may lose the console. Are you able to ssh into the system from another box so you can recover?
If not,
Code:
shutdown -h now
not echoed to the screen, is the way out.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lessblonux1
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Mar 2023
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sat Mar 25, 2023 6:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i didn't expect one video card in particular, my uefi allow me two choice in this matter : hybrid or dedicated gpu.

i though, wrongfully it appears, that in hybrid mode the chipset graphic who would be chosen. so i clearly need to add the sardine firmware in my kernel (with the ethernet fix) am i correct ?

EDIT : i forget to say that even with my current situation i am able to boot and load an destop environment with some fallback driver probably
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54237
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Mar 25, 2023 8:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lessblonux1,

I have not seen a dual AMD hybrid arrangement before.

Hybrid usually means that the low power GPU, here Cezanne, is always active and the dedicated GPU helps out with the rendering.
To use both GPUs like that, you need to provide all the firmware.

The console will only use the low power GPU.

If you choose "Dedicated" in the firmware, it may just work as you have the firmware for the Navi 23 installed.
Then you use only that GPU.

Like I say, this is new ground for me.
Intel/nVidia goes back a long way. Intel/AMD is around too. AMD/AMD like this is new.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum