Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Flatpak & appimage problem
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
RIA77
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Feb 2016
Posts: 342

PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2023 11:48 pm    Post subject: Flatpak & appimage problem Reply with quote

Hello!
What is necessary dependencies for appimages ? I have several appimages that run without any problems on other distributions. But not on Gentoo.
Installed Librewolf with flatpak.

root otput of "flatpak list"
Code:
LibreWolf      io.gitlab.librewolf-community  109.0-1 stable      user
Freedesktop P… org.freedesktop.Platform       22.08.5 22.08       user
Mesa           …eedesktop.Platform.GL.default 22.3.2  22.08       user
Mesa (Extra)   …eedesktop.Platform.GL.default 22.3.2  22.08-extra user
ffmpeg-full    …edesktop.Platform.ffmpeg-full         22.08       user
openh264       …freedesktop.Platform.openh264 2.1.0   2.2.0       user

No Librewolf in menu.
"Flatpak list" from terminal of regular user, no any otput.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wless123
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Aug 2021
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2023 2:54 pm    Post subject: Re: Flatpak & appimage problem Reply with quote

RIA77 wrote:
Hello!
What is necessary dependencies for appimages ? I have several appimages that run without any problems on other distributions. But not on Gentoo.
Installed Librewolf with flatpak.

root otput of "flatpak list"
Code:
LibreWolf      io.gitlab.librewolf-community  109.0-1 stable      user
Freedesktop P… org.freedesktop.Platform       22.08.5 22.08       user
Mesa           …eedesktop.Platform.GL.default 22.3.2  22.08       user
Mesa (Extra)   …eedesktop.Platform.GL.default 22.3.2  22.08-extra user
ffmpeg-full    …edesktop.Platform.ffmpeg-full         22.08       user
openh264       …freedesktop.Platform.openh264 2.1.0   2.2.0       user

No Librewolf in menu.
"Flatpak list" from terminal of regular user, no any otput.


Hey,
there's a differnect between appimage https://appimage.org/ and a flatpak version of an app https://www.flatpak.org/ but i think you know that already.

For both it is important that the user who wants to use them has the right to access the files and the app which means:

if you install a flatpak app as user root => only root and all who can access root's home can access those apps/files.

You want to install them as your main user or as system app.


Same goes for appimages while you need to set the execute bit like described in the link above.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RIA77
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Feb 2016
Posts: 342

PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2023 11:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, I know that.
Problem is why is flatpak not showing as regular user ?
On flatpak list is showing "user" and ond regular user "flatpak list" there is nothing ?
I know about appimages, I have been using them regulary on other distributions.
Checked and marked as executable.
On other distributions appimage failed to load because I didn't have fuse2 as dependency.
Is it same problem on Gentoo ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wless123
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Aug 2021
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2023 9:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

For flatpak it is as simple as i said:

Quote:

You want to install them as your main user or as system app.


A) INSTALL as user

So if your main user is ria77 then:
1) login as user ria77
2) open a shell

Code:

flatpak remote-add --if-not-exists --user flathub https://flathub.org/repo/flathub.flatpakrepo
flatpak install librewolf --user
flatpak list


DO NOT install it as user root or with sudo or sth.

B) INSTALL as system app

as root run install without the "--user" flag like
Code:
flatpak install librewolf


after installation you can run "flatpak list" again.



Quote:

On other distributions appimage failed to load because I didn't have fuse2 as dependency.
Is it same problem on Gentoo ?


Generally: yes appimage requires fuse. Read more about it here: https://docs.appimage.org/user-guide/troubleshooting/index.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Section_8
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 May 2004
Posts: 627

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2023 12:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Info on flatpak in Gentoo: https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Flatpak and appimage: https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/AppImage
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RIA77
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Feb 2016
Posts: 342

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2023 2:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Flatpak solved. In case someone is interested, I didn't add flathub for user, but only for root. So flathub needs to be added for user as well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RIA77
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Feb 2016
Posts: 342

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2023 3:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have installed fuse. But appimages won't work.

Code:
./LibreWolf.x86_64.AppImage
XPCOMGlueLoad error for file /tmp/.mount_LibreWl3CuKS/libxul.so:
/tmp/.mount_LibreWl3CuKS/libxul.so: undefined symbol: gdk_wayland_window_get_wl_surface
Couldn't load XPCOM.


I have been using XFCE and Xorg.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wless123
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Aug 2021
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2023 8:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

RIA77 wrote:
I have installed fuse. But appimages won't work.

Code:
./LibreWolf.x86_64.AppImage
XPCOMGlueLoad error for file /tmp/.mount_LibreWl3CuKS/libxul.so:
/tmp/.mount_LibreWl3CuKS/libxul.so: undefined symbol: gdk_wayland_window_get_wl_surface
Couldn't load XPCOM.


I have been using XFCE and Xorg.


That's not an easy one since firefox itself has a lot of requirements. You can look at the ebuild of firefox to get the idea. It's located at
Code:
/var/db/repos/gentoo/www-client/firefox-bin/firefox-bin-109.0.ebuild
.

My first idea is that gtk+ isn't compiled with the use flag "wayland" but there might be more to do.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RIA77
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Feb 2016
Posts: 342

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2023 10:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Problem is that not single one appimage works, and I have not one of them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wless123
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Aug 2021
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2023 2:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

RIA77 wrote:
Problem is that not single one appimage works, and I have not one of them.


Problem is: to solve issues it is necessary to have information to get it done. You're just making small talk and expect others to find out what the issue might be. Like telling the doctor weather is fine when he asks you for symptoms.

Back on topic: all app images have the same error?

I recommend to close this thread and open a new one with a specific error message and some info about the image and what you have done to solve it till now. Further the subject should be more specific like

Quote:
AppImage librewolf - undefined symbol: gdk_wayland_window_get_wl_surface
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum