[SOLVED] Clearing suspicion of malware having been installed
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Darkyyo
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2022 4:23 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] Clearing suspicion of malware having been installed Reply with quote

This is a bit of a relatively silly issue, but I am unable to log in to any of my sensitive accounts until it is resolved. I'm fairly new to Linux, and while I know that isn't an excuse for not knowing better about e-security, I've just realized I've clicked on a phishing link a few days ago. I'll admit: the urgency got to me. However, I didn't even get to the "login-details-harvesting" stage; a blank/broken page was all that was displayed. This leads me to believe the link was repurposed to be infectious as people spread the word of its original nature, and that I was thus still affected.

Again, I'm not completely sure. I did notice a slight increase in my CPU usage a minute after, but this is no longer the case and could've been a placebo (OpenJDK running at the time does this sometimes). Someone who touched on this issue jokingly called it a RAT link, which may not be too far from the truth. I mean, I am well aware malware for the community targeted needs to bypass both written and visual forms of authentication to be effective.

I did what seemed best: I ran a full ClamAV scan (which gave me this reportedly false positive) and changed the most sensitive passwords input while unaware of being a possible victim, from a separate device. Local semi-professional advice tells me I should also look into closing any suspicious/unnecessary ports and startup processes, though I'm not too sure about how I'd correctly go on to do so. I'm even thinking of reinstalling just in case, but that already seems like too much work, and so far, no damage has been done.