View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
strelok-84
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2022 8:42 pm    Post subject: KDE Systemsettings time ERROR 4 Reply with quote

Hi,

I am new to Gentoo wanted to give it a shot. Like it so far. One issue I am having and can't seem to resolve is that every time I try to change system time, it returns this error
Code:
Unable to authenticate/execute the action: 4
It doesn't seem to be Polkit related, I've written a rule to allow change without authentication and even before the password prompt window would always come up and the error would appear after authentication. I tried to monitor what happens on dbus but its the same as what is happening with my Kubuntu work machine, nothing out of the ordinary(and it works there so). If I launch systemsettings from the terminal the only message that I see is
Code:
Timedated not found, using legacy saving mode
which I think is fine because as far as I know that's something to do with systemd and I am trying OpenRC here. I've looked for any info online and all I've found were two forum posts dating back to 2010 and the info there was not really helpful. If any logs are required just tell me what to submit :D Thanks a lot for reading this far, if you could help I would be very grateful :D
alamahant
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2022 11:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome to Gentoo!
Why do you want to change the time?
Is it wrong?
Have you ever set the timezone of your system during initial config?
Plz
Post or check that
Code:

ls -l /etc/localtime

points to your timezone.
If not
Code:

rm /etc/localtime
ln -s /usr/share/zoneinfo/Europe/London /etc/localtime # please choose your own
emerge -av net-misc/ntp
ntpdate pool.ntp.org

Does this solve the issue?
strelok-84
n00b
n00b