Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED]Intel wifi 6 AX200 wireless card is not working
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
nurali
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Nov 2022
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Thu Nov 17, 2022 3:46 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED]Intel wifi 6 AX200 wireless card is not working Reply with quote

With the patiently help of NeddySeagoon,problem got solved
WIFI encrypt mode used TKIP+AES by default,change it into AES in superuser manage page can solve the problem.
Thank you all![/b]

[b]Hey everyone
I have a laptop which is Lenovo Legion R7000 2020 with a Intel Ax200
Code:
04:00.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation Wi-Fi 6 AX200 (rev 1a)

I entered the install cd(livegui also included),tried everthing I could,but the wireless connection did not work
There is part of my bash history:
Code:
gentoo /home/gentoo # rfkill unblock all
gentoo /home/gentoo # rfkill list
0: ideapad_wlan: Wireless LAN
        Soft blocked: no
        Hard blocked: no
1: ideapad_bluetooth: Bluetooth
        Soft blocked: no
        Hard blocked: no
2: hci0: Bluetooth
        Soft blocked: no
        Hard blocked: no
3: phy0: Wireless LAN
        Soft blocked: no
        Hard blocked: no
gentoo /home/gentoo # ip link set wlp4s0 up
gentoo /home/gentoo # ip link
1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN mode DEFAULT group default qlen 1000
    link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
2: eno1: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast state UP mode DEFAULT group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 00:2b:67:2c:2b:c7 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    altname enp3s0

I tried net-setup,and came out this:
Code:
gentoo /home/gentoo # dhcpcd-9.4.1 starting
DUID 00:04:97:5e:57:2d:80:5b:11:ea:80:dc:00:2b:67:2c:2b:c7
wlp4s0: waiting for carrier
timed out
dhcpcd exited

I tried wpa_supplicant,then this is showed up:
Code:
Failed to initiate sched scan

I sucsessfully installed gentoo by using archlinux iso,but after installation,I still can't use wireless network,I installed the distrobution-kernel-bin
Really need help here :cry:


Last edited by nurali on Fri Nov 25, 2022 3:31 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alamahant
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 Mar 2019
Posts: 3209

PostPosted: Thu Nov 17, 2022 5:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi
Congrats on your install!!
If
Quote:

,I installed the distrobution-kernel-bin

then everything should be very easy for you.
Have you installed
Code:

sys-kernel/linux-firmware

?
If not plz do so because you need the iwlwifi firmware also.
_________________
:)


Last edited by alamahant on Thu Nov 17, 2022 5:23 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
grknight
Developer
Developer


Joined: 20 Feb 2015
Posts: 580

PostPosted: Thu Nov 17, 2022 5:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are CONFIG_IWLWIFI=m and CONFIG_IWLMVM=m in the kernel config?
Is linux-firmware installed?
Have you looked at dmesg to see what the issue is?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nurali
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Nov 2022
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Thu Nov 17, 2022 5:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks and yes,I installed linux-firmware,even if it is re-installation,but disn't make any differents.....I tried ArchGui in the same condition,arch can find my wifi and conncent to it,Gentoo just can not.....
alamahant wrote:
Hi
Congrats on your install!!
If
Quote:

,I installed the distrobution-kernel-bin

then everything should be very easy for you.
Have you installed
Code:

sys-kernel/linux-firmware

?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alamahant
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 Mar 2019
Posts: 3209

PostPosted: Thu Nov 17, 2022 5:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What is your
Code:

uname -r

and as @grknight pointed plz look at your dmesg.
_________________
:)


Last edited by alamahant on Thu Nov 17, 2022 5:33 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nurali
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Nov 2022
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Thu Nov 17, 2022 5:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm in Live GUI nowi,t's
Code:
5.15.75-gentoo-x86_64

alamahant wrote:
What is your
Code:

uname -r
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alamahant
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 Mar 2019
Posts: 3209

PostPosted: Thu Nov 17, 2022 5:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you chrooted in your system?
You can look at your dmesg for clues and
plz post
Code:

ls /lib/modules

_________________
:)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nurali
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Nov 2022
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Thu Nov 17, 2022 5:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No,I am a new user to linu,I don't know how to do that yet,and for second question,yes,I installed linux-firmware.and dmesg | grep iwlwifi is like this:
Code:
[   74.972643] Modules linked in: fuse qrtr ns intel_rapl_msr intel_rapl_common iwlmvm snd_hda_codec_realtek snd_hda_codec_generic edac_mce_amd binfmt_misc mac80211 ledtrig_audio snd_hda_codec_hdmi snd_hda_intel snd_intel_dspcfg libarc4 kvm_amd snd_intel_sdw_acpi amdgpu snd_hda_codec nouveau kvm iwlwifi wmi_bmof snd_hda_core hid_multitouch uvcvideo iommu_v2 mxm_wmi gpu_sched i2c_algo_bit snd_hwdep snd_pcm irqbypass drm_ttm_helper btusb videobuf2_vmalloc ttm videobuf2_memops btrtl crct10dif_pclmul videobuf2_v4l2 btbcm drm_kms_helper btintel ghash_clmulni_intel videobuf2_common snd_timer ideapad_laptop snd_pci_acp5x ucsi_acpi bluetooth sparse_keymap cfg80211 videodev rapl snd_rn_pci_acp3x sp5100_tco cec snd typec_ucsi platform_profile ecdh_generic dm_multipath pcspkr serio_raw k10temp joydev drm mc soundcore snd_pci_acp3x rfkill ccp i2c_piix4 typec wmi cm32181 i2c_hid_acpi video industrialio i2c_hid acpi_cpufreq virtio_blk crc32_pclmul crc32c_intel uas nvme r8169 nvme_core

And I checked rfkill list,it's like this:
Code:
gentoo /home/gentoo # rfkill list
0: ideapad_wlan: Wireless LAN
        Soft blocked: no
        Hard blocked: no
1: ideapad_bluetooth: Bluetooth
        Soft blocked: no
        Hard blocked: no
2: hci0: Bluetooth
        Soft blocked: no
        Hard blocked: no
3: phy0: Wireless LAN
        Soft blocked: no
        Hard blocked: no

grknight wrote:
Are CONFIG_IWLWIFI=m and CONFIG_IWLMVM=m in the kernel config?
Is linux-firmware installed?
Have you looked at dmesg to see what the issue is?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alamahant
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 Mar 2019
Posts: 3209

PostPosted: Thu Nov 17, 2022 5:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

grknight wrote:
Are CONFIG_IWLWIFI=m and CONFIG_IWLMVM=m in the kernel config?
Is linux-firmware installed?
Have you looked at dmesg to see what the issue is?

If you are CHROOTed in your installation this is how you do
Code:

grep -E "CONFIG_IWLWIFI|CONFIG_IWLMVM" /usr/src/linux/.config

PLZ make sure you are chrooted and also run
Code:

grep -iE "iwlwifi|firmware" /var/log/dmesg
and
ls /lib/modules

_________________
:)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nurali
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Nov 2022
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Thu Nov 17, 2022 5:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No,I have no system on my machine now,because of that problem,I've already deleted then I can re-install it for good,this is uotputs:
Code:
gentoo /home/gentoo # ls /lib/modules/
5.15.75-gentoo-x86_64

alamahant wrote:
Are you chrooted in your system?
You can look at your dmesg for clues and
plz post
Code:

ls /lib/modules
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alamahant
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 Mar 2019
Posts: 3209

PostPosted: Thu Nov 17, 2022 5:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

5.15.75-gentoo-x86_64
is not the gentoo-kernel-bin
You are in livecd environment.
You have to either chroot or boot into your new system.
_________________
:)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nurali
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Nov 2022
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Thu Nov 17, 2022 5:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No I cant chroot into my system now,because I've deleted it,but I tried those commands in Live GUI
Code:
gentoo /home/gentoo # grep -E "CONFIG_IWLWIFI|CONFIG_IWLMVM" /usr/src/linux/.config
grep: /usr/src/linux/.config: No such file or directory
gentoo /home/gentoo # grep -iE "iwlwifi|firmware" /var/log/dmesg
[    0.160484] Spectre V2 : Enabling Speculation Barrier for firmware calls
[    0.323137] ACPI: [Firmware Bug]: BIOS _OSI(Linux) query ignored
[    0.366391] acpi PNP0A08:00: [Firmware Info]: MMCONFIG for domain 0000 [bus 00-3f] only partially covers this bridge
[    4.797074] ACPI: video: [Firmware Bug]: ACPI(PEGP) defines _DOD but not _DOS
[    5.074976] Loading firmware: regulatory.db
[    5.080477] Bluetooth: hci0: Minimum firmware build 1 week 10 2014
[    5.080480] Loading firmware: intel/ibt-20-1-3.sfi
[    5.081078] Loading firmware: regulatory.db.p7s
[    5.122393] Bluetooth: hci0: Found device firmware: intel/ibt-20-1-3.sfi
[    5.171154] iwlwifi 0000:04:00.0: enabling device (0000 -> 0002)
[    5.176235] Loading firmware: iwlwifi-cc-a0-66.ucode
[    5.186080] iwlwifi 0000:04:00.0: api flags index 2 larger than supported by driver
[    5.186097] iwlwifi 0000:04:00.0: TLV_FW_FSEQ_VERSION: FSEQ Version: 89.3.35.37
[    5.186523] iwlwifi 0000:04:00.0: loaded firmware version 66.f1c864e0.0 cc-a0-66.ucode op_mode iwlmvm
[    5.186528] Loading firmware: iwl-debug-yoyo.bin
[    5.229847] Loading firmware: amdgpu/renoir_sdma.bin
[    5.233192] Loading firmware: amdgpu/renoir_asd.bin
[    5.235091] Loading firmware: amdgpu/renoir_ta.bin
[    5.235197] Loading firmware: amdgpu/renoir_pfp.bin
[    5.238292] Loading firmware: amdgpu/renoir_me.bin
[    5.238339] Loading firmware: amdgpu/renoir_ce.bin
[    5.238354] Loading firmware: amdgpu/renoir_rlc.bin
[    5.240633] Loading firmware: amdgpu/renoir_mec.bin
[    5.242887] Loading firmware: amdgpu/renoir_dmcub.bin
[    5.244604] [drm] Loading DMUB firmware via PSP: version=0x0101001F
[    5.244609] Loading firmware: amdgpu/renoir_vcn.bin
[    5.247074] [drm] Found VCN firmware Version ENC: 1.17 DEC: 5 VEP: 0 Revision: 2
[    5.247085] amdgpu 0000:05:00.0: amdgpu: Will use PSP to load VCN firmware
[    5.304421] Loading firmware: nvidia/tu117/nvdec/scrubber.bin
[    5.307221] Loading firmware: nvidia/tu117/acr/bl.bin
[    5.310119] Loading firmware: nvidia/tu117/acr/ucode_ahesasc.bin
[    5.312558] Loading firmware: nvidia/tu117/acr/bl.bin
[    5.312570] Loading firmware: nvidia/tu117/acr/ucode_asb.bin
[    5.312602] Loading firmware: nvidia/tu117/acr/unload_bl.bin
[    5.312614] Loading firmware: nvidia/tu117/acr/ucode_unload.bin
[    5.312636] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: pmu: firmware unavailable
[    5.312688] Loading firmware: nvidia/tu117/gr/fecs_bl.bin
[    5.313230] Loading firmware: nvidia/tu117/gr/fecs_inst.bin
[    5.315008] Loading firmware: nvidia/tu117/gr/fecs_data.bin
[    5.315039] Loading firmware: nvidia/tu117/gr/fecs_sig.bin
[    5.315061] Loading firmware: nvidia/tu117/gr/gpccs_bl.bin
[    5.315585] Loading firmware: nvidia/tu117/gr/gpccs_inst.bin
[    5.315608] Loading firmware: nvidia/tu117/gr/gpccs_data.bin
[    5.315616] Loading firmware: nvidia/tu117/gr/gpccs_sig.bin
[    5.315632] Loading firmware: nvidia/tu117/gr/sw_nonctx.bin
[    5.316029] Loading firmware: nvidia/tu117/gr/sw_ctx.bin
[    5.316052] Loading firmware: nvidia/tu117/gr/sw_bundle_init.bin
[    5.318353] Loading firmware: nvidia/tu117/gr/sw_method_init.bin
[    5.318398] Loading firmware: nvidia/tu117/sec2/sig.bin
[    5.318842] Loading firmware: nvidia/tu117/sec2/image.bin
[    5.318890] Loading firmware: nvidia/tu117/sec2/desc.bin
[    5.997319] iwlwifi 0000:04:00.0: Detected Intel(R) Wi-Fi 6 AX200 160MHz, REV=0x340

The problem is the same,wherever I am in,I am using wired net in Live GUI right now
alamahant wrote:
If you are CHROOTed in your installation this is how you do
Code:

grep -E "CONFIG_IWLWIFI|CONFIG_IWLMVM" /usr/src/linux/.config

PLZ make sure you are chrooted and also run
Code:

grep -iE "iwlwifi|firmware" /var/log/dmesg
and
ls /lib/modules
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alamahant
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 Mar 2019
Posts: 3209

PostPosted: Thu Nov 17, 2022 5:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

No I cant chroot into my system now,because I've deleted it,but I tried those commands in Live GUI

If you have deleted your system then what is there to talk about?
You shouldnt have done so
If in the live cd you have NO wifi then try the Ubuntu live desktop and install again gentoo from that.
_________________
:)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nurali
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Nov 2022
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Thu Nov 17, 2022 6:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

E....I fond I can't use wifi in livecd when my first installation,I was using Minimal Install CD,then I used Arch iso to install,and arch iso was able to connact wifi,so I installed the system successfully,I thought the wifi problem will be gone after I install linux-firmware,but it did not,then I realised it's not coincidence that Gentoo's live cd can't access wifi on my pc,so I decided to delete it and do again,and I wanted to solve the problem for good,so I deleted,tried to install by using gentoo livecd,did a lot of reading,asking,but it did not get solved,so I asked the question here.The problem is the same,I can't use wifi in gentoo install cd,neither in installed system environment,if I use other distrobution's iso to install,I can use wifi during installation,but after installation done,I still can't use.So,I wanted to solve the problem that I gentoo live cd can't access wifi.Anyway thank you for your time.
alamahant wrote:
If you have deleted your system then what is there to talk about?
You shouldnt have done so
If in the live cd you have NO wifi then try the Ubuntu live desktop and install again gentoo from that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pietinger
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 17 Oct 2006
Posts: 2205
Location: Bavaria

PostPosted: Thu Nov 17, 2022 6:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nurali,

Welcome to Gentoo !

May I ask if you can use an ethernet connection between your computer and your router ?

If yes, install Gentoo again using this (for the first time). We will get your wifi working later.
If no ethernet, you mabe have a (very) new wifi we dont support right now with our minimal CD. So, you must use another distribution for booting and installing Gentoo.

Now you have to make two important choices:

1. Which init-system do you want ? systemd or OpenRC ?

2. Do you want to configure your kernel by yourself or use our kernel-bin ? (in both cases you will need libfirmware)

If you are unsure with installing Gentoo, do a trick: Notice every step you have done so far (best in a file) and give us this list if you have any problem, so we know where you are ... ;-)

Do you know how wifi works ? Have you read our Gentoo Wiki for this ? If you have ethernet, then dont hurry with wifi ... if it works with another distro, it will surely work also with Gentoo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nurali
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Nov 2022
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Thu Nov 17, 2022 6:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you :P
Yes,I can use Ethernet,I bought enough network cable today,that makes me capable to use wired connection.
Also yes,I can install it again,and I will,even you guys didn't give up on helping me,why should I?But I have to sleep now,I am from China and its midnight now.
I prefer systemd,not because it is better than others,just because I used it from I start to use linux,I got used to it.Because of my majour,I did not learn anything about computer in my whole student life,but after graduation from collage,I am doing self-studying on something,like python,c++,and linux.So I can't configure kernel by myself yet,so I will use bin kernel,but I will study on that too.
I read gentoo wiki,arch wiki all the time actually :lol:
Thank you again,I'll post everything after I finish tomorrow.(And please don't laught at my terribe English plz....lol....)
pietinger wrote:
nurali,

Welcome to Gentoo !

May I ask if you can use an ethernet connection between your computer and your router ?

If yes, install Gentoo again using this (for the first time). We will get your wifi working later.
If no ethernet, you mabe have a (very) new wifi we dont support right now with our minimal CD. So, you must use another distribution for booting and installing Gentoo.

Now you have to make two important choices:

1. Which init-system do you want ? systemd or OpenRC ?

2. Do you want to configure your kernel by yourself or use our kernel-bin ? (in both cases you will need libfirmware)

If you are unsure with installing Gentoo, do a trick: Notice every step you have done so far (best in a file) and give us this list if you have any problem, so we know where you are ... ;-)

Do you know how wifi works ? Have you read our Gentoo Wiki for this ? If you have ethernet, then dont hurry with wifi ... if it works with another distro, it will surely work also with Gentoo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Logicien
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Sep 2005
Posts: 1500
Location: Montréal

PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2022 4:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the same wifi card in a Pcie slot in a tower:
Code:
02:00.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation Wi-Fi 6 AX200 (rev 1a)

I use it as a 5 GHz client so I disable all other hardware modes in the parameters of the iwlwifi module in /etc/modprobe.d/modprobe.conf with some other options:
Code:
options iwlwifi 11n_disable=1 bt_coex_active=1 disable_11ac=0 disable_11ax=1 enable_ini=0 fw_restart=0 led_mode=3 power_level=1 power_save=0 swcrypto=0 uapsd_disable=1

_________________
Paul


Last edited by Logicien on Fri Nov 18, 2022 4:30 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nurali
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Nov 2022
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2022 4:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am rebuilding the whole system,I'll try that later,thanks man :D
Logicien wrote:
I have the same wifi card in a Pcie slot in a tower:
Code:
02:00.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation Wi-Fi 6 AX200 (rev 1a)

I use it as a 5 GHz client so I disable all other hardware modes in the parameters of the iwlwifi module in /etc/modprobe.d/modprobe.conf with some other options:
Code:
options iwlwifi bt_coex_active=1 disable_11ac=1 disable_11ax=1 enable_ini=0 fw_restart=0 led_mode=3 power_level=1 power_save=0 swcrypto=0 uapsd_disable=1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Logicien
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Sep 2005
Posts: 1500
Location: Montréal

PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2022 4:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Remember that it is configure to work only if your Intel wifi connect to a 5Ghz band. This configuration must be change for the 2.4 GHz band or the 6Ghz band. Last change
Code:
options iwlmvm power_scheme=1
options iwlwifi 11n_disable=1 bt_coex_active=1 disable_11ac=0 disable_11ax=1 enable_ini=0 fw_restart=0 led_mode=3 power_level=1 power_save=0 swcrypto=0 uapsd_disable=1

_________________
Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nurali
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Nov 2022
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Thu Nov 24, 2022 7:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pietinger wrote:
nurali,

Welcome to Gentoo !

May I ask if you can use an ethernet connection between your computer and your router ?

If yes, install Gentoo again using this (for the first time). We will get your wifi working later.
If no ethernet, you mabe have a (very) new wifi we dont support right now with our minimal CD. So, you must use another distribution for booting and installing Gentoo.

Now you have to make two important choices:

1. Which init-system do you want ? systemd or OpenRC ?

2. Do you want to configure your kernel by yourself or use our kernel-bin ? (in both cases you will need libfirmware)

If you are unsure with installing Gentoo, do a trick: Notice every step you have done so far (best in a file) and give us this list if you have any problem, so we know where you are ... ;-)

Do you know how wifi works ? Have you read our Gentoo Wiki for this ? If you have ethernet, then dont hurry with wifi ... if it works with another distro, it will surely work also with Gentoo.

Hey,sorry to take so long time to reply again,I was busy these days,and I found the exact problem.
I read an artcle about my PC,and it said I need to download intel firmware and extract it into /lib/firmware,I did that,also run
Code:
modprobe iwlwifi
afterthat,then I found the nm-applet listed my neighbours wifi,so I did compare it with my family wifi,then I found this:
1.I can link open & shared wifi directly,and they can be found by networkmanager
2.wpa-psk & wpa2-psk:networkmanager can find them,but can not make connection,it says "authorication failed"
3.wpa/wpa2 psk hybird:networkmanager can not find them at all
I tried changing my security protocols to open,and I can use wifi,but I don't think it is a good idea to leave it open/share.....So,am I missing something?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 51543
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Nov 24, 2022 11:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

nurali,

The WiFi probably uses tkip, which has been depreciated for many years an its not secure any more.

Notice that the use flag is off on wpa_suplicant.
Code:
$ eix wpa_supplicant
[I] net-wireless/wpa_supplicant
     Available versions:  2.10-r1{tbz2} **9999*l {ap broadcom-sta +crda dbus eap-sim eapol-test fasteap +fils +hs2-0 macsec +mbo +mesh p2p privsep ps3 qt5 readline selinux smartcard tdls tkip uncommon-eap-types wep wimax wps}
     Installed versions:  2.10-r1{tbz2}(17:15:16 20/03/22)(crda fils hs2-0 mbo mesh readline -ap -broadcom-sta -dbus -eap-sim -eapol-test -fasteap -macsec -p2p -privsep -ps3 -qt5 -selinux -smartcard -tdls -tkip -uncommon-eap-types -wep -wimax -wps)
You need to add USE=tkip to whatever deals with your wifi security.

You choose if its better than open to have a false sense of security.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nurali
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Nov 2022
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Thu Nov 24, 2022 12:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
nurali,

The WiFi probably uses tkip, which has been depreciated for many years an its not secure any more.

Notice that the use flag is off on wpa_suplicant.
Code:
$ eix wpa_supplicant
[I] net-wireless/wpa_supplicant
     Available versions:  2.10-r1{tbz2} **9999*l {ap broadcom-sta +crda dbus eap-sim eapol-test fasteap +fils +hs2-0 macsec +mbo +mesh p2p privsep ps3 qt5 readline selinux smartcard tdls tkip uncommon-eap-types wep wimax wps}
     Installed versions:  2.10-r1{tbz2}(17:15:16 20/03/22)(crda fils hs2-0 mbo mesh readline -ap -broadcom-sta -dbus -eap-sim -eapol-test -fasteap -macsec -p2p -privsep -ps3 -qt5 -selinux -smartcard -tdls -tkip -uncommon-eap-types -wep -wimax -wps)
You need to add USE=tkip to whatever deals with your wifi security.

You choose if its better than open to have a false sense of security.
Thanks for that,I will try,but I have an examination to finish recent days,so I maybe few days later,I'll post you the result,thanks again
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 51543
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Nov 24, 2022 1:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nurali,

You are unlikely to fix gentoo by reinstalling. It's just an opportunity to make a different mistake. Chroot back into your install and fix it.

For your Intel wifi 6 AX200 wireless card not appearing in
Code:
ifconfig -a
There are only three possible causes
1. The kernel configuration
2. The Firmware
3. The firmware loading but that's a special case of kernel configuration.

User space is not involved until the interface exists.

Once the interface exists but will not start, that's a different and separate gentoo learning opportunity.

Good luck with your exams.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nurali
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Nov 2022
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Thu Nov 24, 2022 1:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:

For your Intel wifi 6 AX200 wireless card not appearing in
Code:
ifconfig -a
There are only three possible causes
1. The kernel configuration
2. The Firmware
3. The firmware loading but that's a special case of kernel configuration.

User space is not involved until the interface exists.

Once the interface exists but will not start, that's a different and separate gentoo learning opportunity.

Good luck with your exams.
No,it is appearing in
Code:
ifconfig -a
And it is also appearing in
Code:
ip link
Appearing by a ID "wlp4s0",but I can not make it turn into UP mode by trying
Code:
ip link set wlp4s0 up

I downloaded firmware from
https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/support/articles/000005511/wireless.html
Then I ran
Code:
tar -xf <firmware.tgz>
cd <firmware>
sudo cp * /lib/firmware
sudo modprobe iwlwifi

Then I saw ny neighbours wifi showed up on nm-applet,I carefully watched everyting on it and I found it is a "wpa2-psk" encrypted wifi.
After that I tried everymode on my wifi,I found this:
1.I can make connect with open & shared wifi directly,and they can be found by networkmanager
2.wpa-psk & wpa2-psk:networkmanager can find them,but can not make connection,it says "authorication failed"
3.wpa/wpa2 psk hybird:networkmanager can not find them at all
It is not about device not showing up at all,my friend
And thanks for good wish ;-)
I have to say that the forum environment is really good,I hope I can help other people one day like you're doing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 51543
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Nov 24, 2022 3:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nurali,

I misunderstood your problem. Sorry about that.

In general, WiFi cannot be started by
Code:
ip link set wlp4s0 up
It will 'up' the interface but WiFI needs much more to make it work.
Starting WiFi is a two step process.

First the radio link must be established. There are two steps to that.
Authentication and Association. I don't remember the order but dmesg will show it.
I use wpa_supplicant for managing those steps. There are other tools today and there are some GUIs that are a wrapper around wpa_supplicant too.
Somehow, it needs a wpa_supplicant.conf to be created to control all this.
Essentially, wpa_supplicant needs to know the SSID of the network it is to connect to, the password, the encryption and how the key is shared. Other tools need the same information.
Recently, tkip is no longer supported by default.

Your messages in dmesg about Authentication and Association. would be good to see. They need to be from your own kernel though.
Code:
dmesg > /dmesg.txt
will save all of dmesg to the file /dmesg.txt. Share that on a pastebin site please.
If you don't have networking from your gentoo yet, after /dmesg.txt is created, start with your boot media, mount your root filesystem at /mnt/gentoo, then the file will be /mnt/gentoo/dmesg.txt

Once Authentication and Association works, your WiFi behaves as a wired interface and all the usual tools work to complete the set up.

There no hurry here. Exams come first.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum