Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
install gentoo on LSI raid1, motherbord Z10-PE-D16 WS
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
linux_os2
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Aug 2018
Posts: 223
Location: Zedelgem Belgium

PostPosted: Wed May 11, 2022 9:38 am    Post subject: install gentoo on LSI raid1, motherbord Z10-PE-D16 WS Reply with quote

hi,

system: motherbord Z10-PE-D16 WS whit 2 xeon's

enabled raid in bios.
jumper on motherboard: LSI
created and initialized a raid1 on 2 SSD's of 500 GB
booted old system from nonraid SSD partition
raid /dev/md125 synced successfully
installed systemd gentoo on /dev/md125
copied config from old system to /usr/src/linux/.config in new system.
created kernel with
genkernel --lvm --mdadm --menuconfig all --makeopts=-j40 --oldconfig
dracut with dracut.conf
Code:

hostonly="yes"
use_fstab="yes"

add_dracutmodules+=" dm mdraid "
#omit_dracutmodules+=" systemd systemd-bootchard systemd-networkd "
stdloglvl="3"
logfile="/var/log/dracut.log"

grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg on old system

booted new system

boot comes in dracut emergency mode

cat /proc/mdstat gives:
cat: /proc/mdstat: No such file or directory

then do:
modprobe md-mod

cat /proc/mdstat gives:
Personalties:
unused devices: <none>

mdadm --assemble --scan
alot of output

cat /proc/mdstat gives:
Code:
Personalties: [raid]
md125 : active (auto-red-only) raid1 sde[1] sdf[0]
md126 : inactve sde[1] (S) sdf[0] (S)
            216478 blocks super external:ddf
md127 : active raid1 sdb[0] sda[2]
            9766305792 blocks super 1.2 [2/2] [UU]
            bitmap 0/73 pages [0KB] , 65536KB chunk


then

ctrl d

boot go's further:
and login root is ok.

what did I miss

Added code tags to mdstat output -- NeddySeagoon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alamahant
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 Mar 2019
Posts: 3879

PostPosted: Sun May 15, 2022 3:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe
Code:

rc-update add mdraid boot

and in /etc/default/grub kernel line
Code:

rd.md.uuid=<uuid>  rd.md=1
GRUB_PRELOAD_MODULES="...mdraid1x......"
#### couldnt hurt

_________________
:)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
linux_os2
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Aug 2018
Posts: 223
Location: Zedelgem Belgium

PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2022 5:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

alamahant wrote:
Maybe
Code:

rc-update add mdraid boot

and in /etc/default/grub kernel line
Code:

rd.md.uuid=<uuid>  rd.md=1
GRUB_PRELOAD_MODULES="...mdraid1x......"
#### couldnt hurt

Thx

Tried already without succes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
linux_os2
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Aug 2018
Posts: 223
Location: Zedelgem Belgium

PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2022 5:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Found a solution using initramfs in stead of dracut.

added in /etc/mdadm.conf:

Code:

ARRAY /dev/md/md127 UUID=92c9dbbc-0f40-405c-a954-b0801e235346
ARRAY /dev/md/ddf0 metadata=ddf
ARRAY /dev/md125 container=/dev/md/ddf0 member=0


btw: fake raid is used to be able to boot windoze from another partition on this array.

grub:cfgv contains:

Code:

menuentry 'Gentoo GNU/Linux' --class gentoo --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-simple-454cb945-1e89-452f-9d4b-2687b59ef726' {
   load_video
   if [ "x$grub_platform" = xefi ]; then
      set gfxpayload=keep
   fi
   insmod gzio
   insmod part_gpt
   insmod ext2
   set root='hostdisk//dev/md126,gpt7'
   if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
     search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint='hostdisk//dev/md126,gpt7'  454cb945-1e89-452f-9d4b-2687b59ef726
   else
     search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 454cb945-1e89-452f-9d4b-2687b59ef726
   fi
   echo   'Loading Linux 5.15.32-gentoo-r1-x86_64 ...'
   linux   /boot/vmlinuz-5.15.32-gentoo-r1-x86_64 root=/dev/md126p7 ro rd.debug
   echo   'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
   initrd   /boot/initramfs-5.15.32-gentoo-r1-x86_64.img
}


why /dev/md126p7 has to be used is strange.

cat /prov/mdstat:

Code:

md125 : active raid1 sdc[0] sdb[2]
      9766305792 blocks super 1.2 [2/2] [UU]
      bitmap: 1/73 pages [4KB], 65536KB chunk

md126 : active raid1 sdf[1] sde[0]
      487304192 blocks super external:/md127/0 [2/2] [UU]
     
md127 : inactive sdf[1](S) sde[0](S)
      2164784 blocks super external:ddf
       
unused devices: <none>


if no /etc/mdconf is used sometimes boot device is /dev/md126p7 and sometimes /dev/md125p7
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum