Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Simultaneous mesh and access point using ath10k device
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
gsra99
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 104

PostPosted: Sun Jan 23, 2022 11:16 pm    Post subject: Simultaneous mesh and access point using ath10k device Reply with quote

I am unable to run a virtual access and mesh point simultaneously on my gentoo system with an ath10k wifi device
Code:
iw phy0 info

provides the following:
Quote:
valid interface combinations:
* #{ managed } <= 2, #{ AP, mesh point, P2P-client, P2P-GO } <= 2, #{ P2P-device } <= 1,
total <= 4, #channels <= 1
* #{ managed } <= 2, #{ P2P-client } <= 2, #{ AP, mesh point, P2P-GO } <= 1, #{ P2P-device } <= 1,
total <= 4, #channels <= 2
* #{ managed } <= 1, #{ IBSS } <= 1,
total <= 2, #channels <= 1

indicating that both an ap and mesh point are possible if using the same channel. However first running
Code:
wpa_supplicant -i ap0 -c /etc/wpa_supplicant/ap0.conf

starts the access point without errors and gives the following output.
Quote:
Successfully initialised wpa_supplicant
Using interface ap0 with hwaddr 26:5a:f3:70:71:d8 and ssid "mesh0-ap"
ap0: interface state UNINITIALIZED->ENABLED
ap0: AP-ENABLED
ap0: CTRL-EVENT-CONNECTED - Connection to 26:5a:f3:70:71:d8 completed [id=0 id_str=]

Then starting the mesh point
Code:
wpa_supplicant -i wlan0 -c /etc/wpa_supplicant/mesh0.conf
gives the following output.
Quote:
Successfully initialized wpa_supplicant
Using interface wlan0 with hwaddr 30:52:cb:3a:fe:d5 and ssid ""
wlan0: interface state UNINITIALIZED->ENABLED
wlan0: AP-ENABLED
wlan0: joining mesh 21-Mesh0
wlan0: mesh join error=-16
wlan0: Could not join mesh

When I switch the order, starting the mesh point first and then the ap, I get the following outputs.
Quote:
Successfully initialized wpa_supplicant
Using interface wlan0 with hwaddr 30:52:cb:3a:fe:d5 and ssid ""
wlan0: interface state UNINITIALIZED->ENABLED
wlan0: AP-ENABLED
wlan0: joining mesh 21-Mesh0
wlan0: CTRL-EVENT-CONNECTED - Connection to 00:00:00:00:00:00 completed [id=0 id_str=]
wlan0: MESH-GROUP-STARTED ssid="21-Mesh0" id=0

Quote:
Successfully initialized wpa_supplicant
Using interface ap0 with hwaddr 26:5a:f3:70:71:d8 and ssid "mesh0-ap"
Failed to set beacon parameters
Interface initialization failed
ap0: interface state UNINITIALIZED->DISABLED
ap0: AP-DISABLED
ap0: Unable to setup interface.
Failed to initialize AP interface
ap0: interface state DISABLED->DISABLED
ap0: AP-DISABLED
hostapd_free_hapd_data: Interface ap0 wasn't started
ap0: CTRL-EVENT-DISCONNECTED bssid=26:5a:f3:70:71:d8 reason=3 locally_generated=1

I would be grateful for any help resolving the issue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
szatox
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 27 Aug 2013
Posts: 3131

PostPosted: Mon Jan 24, 2022 5:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Huh... I thought wpa_supplicant was intended for clients.
Have you tried running AP with hostapd instead?
Also, have you checked dmesg? You're configuring hardware, so perhaps kernel has been trying to tell you something?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gsra99
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 104

PostPosted: Mon Jan 24, 2022 10:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can try hostapd but it should make no difference as wpa_supplicant has ap support now. dmesg doesn't provide anything of interest unless you're referring to the ath10k driver being loaded, in which case it is without errors. I may have to try a WDS network instead. I was trying to experiment with batman-adv but if I can't have both both a mesh point and ap running then it won't work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
szatox
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 27 Aug 2013
Posts: 3131

PostPosted: Tue Jan 25, 2022 7:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

How about more detailed log from wpa_supplicant?
Adding -d or even -dd could provide additional information. And so could showing your config files.

Also, why your AP and mesh report different mac addresses? Didn't you try to set both networks up on the same physical device?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum