Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
dracut does not have /dev/disk with u-boot (solved)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
hedmo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 29 Aug 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: sweden

PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2022 4:52 pm    Post subject: dracut does not have /dev/disk with u-boot (solved) Reply with quote

hi all .

i have a odd problem. At the moment i am using . kexec and all works fine with the initramfs and kernel boot . but when i switch to u-boot it drops me to
dracut shell . when i check dmesg i get :
Code:

dracut warning: /dev/disk/by-uuid/xxxx does not exist


is there a way to change this for dracut to use root=/dev/mmcblk1p3

regards hedmo


Last edited by hedmo on Fri Jan 28, 2022 5:07 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alamahant
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 Mar 2019
Posts: 3879

PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2022 5:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I guess dracut reads /etc/fstab and /etc/default/grub(maybe) so just avoid uuid in these files.
Use either plain partition naming or partuuid.
_________________
:)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
grknight
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 20 Feb 2015
Posts: 1659

PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2022 5:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

/dev/disk/by-uuid/ is populated by udev which dracut incorporates into its initramfs.

Most likely, this mmc device is still being discovered by the kernel and registered by the initramfs' udev.

The first thing to try is increasing the time of rd.retry (default 30 seconds) on the kernel command-line so it can be discovered. e.g. rd.retry=180
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54234
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2022 5:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hedmo,

/dev/disk/by-* symlinks are created by udev, when it gets round to it.

They are not safe to use in the initrd as udev has to start and settle.
Do you have udev in your initrd?
If yes, are the links there when you get dropped into the shell?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hedmo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 29 Aug 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: sweden

PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2022 6:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
hedmo,

/dev/disk/by-* symlinks are created by udev, when it gets round to it.

They are not safe to use in the initrd as udev has to start and settle.
Do you have udev in your initrd?
If yes, are the links there when you get dropped into the shell?


NeddySeagoon

when dracut loads it does not find /dev/disk and when i check i the shell it is not there .

grknight wrote:

/dev/disk/by-uuid/ is populated by udev which dracut incorporates into its initramfs.

Most likely, this mmc device is still being discovered by the kernel and registered by the initramfs' udev.

The first thing to try is increasing the time of rd.retry (default 30 seconds) on the kernel command-line so it can be discovered. e.g. rd.retry=180


can be that . the last thing before the warning is :
Code:

mmc2: new SDIO card at address 0001


regards hedmo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54234
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2022 8:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hedmo,

When you go into the shell do you see the /dev entries for your mmc devices.

As you mentioned mmc2, you must have mmc1 and mmc0 too.
They need not be storage devices as SDIO interfaces are used for other things too.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hedmo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 29 Aug 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: sweden

PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2022 8:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
hedmo,

When you go into the shell do you see the /dev entries for your mmc devices.

As you mentioned mmc2, you must have mmc1 and mmc0 too.
They need not be storage devices as SDIO interfaces are used for other things too.


NeddySeagoon

Yes i have :
Code:

mmc0 is internal storage
mmc1 is sd = Gentoo
mmc2 is wifi


I have /dev/mmcblk1 (Gentoo) . But dont know how to skroll in a terminal



Regards hedmo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54234
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Jan 20, 2022 6:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hedmo,

Console scrolling support was removed from the kernel some time ago.
Now you need to use screen or tmux.

If its command output you want to scroll, pipe it through less.
If less is missing, busybox has the 'more' command.
More only allows forward scrolling.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hedmo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 29 Aug 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: sweden

PostPosted: Sat Jan 22, 2022 6:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i did add :

Code:

rd.retry=180


to the command line . but it did not work .i fstab i dont have uuid but /dev/mmcblk1p3 as root .


NeddySeagoon

i dont think i need to scroll . i see that the card is found in dmesg.

regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hedmo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 29 Aug 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: sweden

PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2022 8:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

even if i use :

Code:

dracut --add-fstab /etc/fstab --hostonly --force '' 5.16.0-rc6-next-20211224


dracut still want to use udev. i even removed /dev/disk and /dev/block when i created the ramdisk and still it wont boot the ramdisk.

is there a way to use genkernel ?. genkernel wont drop me to a shell but it behaves the same .

regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alamahant
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 Mar 2019
Posts: 3879

PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2022 4:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Two thoughts:
In fstab and /etc/default/grub try using PARTUUID.
and in dracut.conf
Code:

omit_dracutmodules+=" udev-rules "

Plz retain the spacing and recreate initramfs.
_________________
:)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hedmo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 29 Aug 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: sweden

PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2022 5:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

alamahant wrote:
Two thoughts:
In fstab and /etc/default/grub try using PARTUUID.
and in dracut.conf
Code:

omit_dracutmodules+=" udev-rules "

Plz retain the spacing and recreate initramfs.


alamahant

thank you so much . you dont know how i have been struggling with this :D .
i know about the spaces :wink: .

best regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum