View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
SilkeSiy
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat Nov 20, 2021 9:38 am    Post subject: configuring custom DWM with LightDM Reply with quote

Hello everyone,

I'm new to gentoo and to linux in general so i'm not sure if im missing something silly.

let me state my goal first: i want to build dwm locally and then make lightdwm use it in a nice way (not a hacky way that might cause problem down the road).

here is what i have done:

I have gentoo with systemd, lightdm, and dwm all installed with the traditional way following the handbook and gentoo manuals.

But with DWM i have to patch things manually since not all patches are comparability with each other.

So i created a local folder called src in ~/.local/src so my setup will be that the stuff that i build in ~/.local/src will be exported to ~/.local/bin and the same for the man pages etc.

with this setup i dont have to miss around with the system files in /usr/local stuff.
~/.local/bin is added to the path using ~/.profile and i have added "source ~/.profile" in my ~/.bashrc just incase, and my /bin/sh points to bash and when i do make install for DWM i can see that it uses ~/.local/bin/dwm with the which command.

now when i go to /etc/lightdm/lightdm.conf and i change my user-session to dwm it complains that it cannot find dwm.
but when i install dwm via emerge everything works.

i tried to invisitage the issue and found out that there is dwm.desktop file in /usr/share/xessions/dwm.desktop so i replicated that in my ~/.local/share/applications/dwm.desktop and edited the dwm.desktop in my local file to point to the absolute path to ~/.local/bin/dwm and deselected dwm and depcleaned it and updated the desktop stuff with update-desktop-database

but still lightdm says it cannot find dwm when i run lightdm with --test-mode --debug.