View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Schievel
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2021 7:22 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] setting dvorak keyboard layout in GDM with openRC Reply with quote

Hi,

I am quite new to Gentoo and openrc, so please forgive me a stupid question.

It seems like those guys at the Gnome project have some issues with keyboard layouts in GDM. They also messed with the menue where you can set them an this menue is gone for now. You can only set the users keymap in gnomes settings, but not the keymap in GDM, which is system wide, since no user is logged in when GDM shows up.

Anyway, so I found this solution where you can run
Code:
localectl set-x11-keymap us,us "" dvorak,

and it will give you back the options to choose the layout with a dropdown menue in the top right corner. I tried this on my manjaro install (with systemd of course) and it works.

Since I don't have systemd on my gentoo installation but rather openrc I wonder how to set this in openrc.
What localectl effectively does (apart from some other things probably) is changing the file /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/00-keyboard.conf and putting something in there like
Code:
 Section "InputClass"
        Identifier "system-keyboard"
        MatchIsKeyboard "on"
        Option "XkbLayout" "us,us"
   Option "XkbVariant" "dvorak,"
EndSection

But this file does not exist for me. I also tried creating this file in /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc.d/30-keyboard.conf with the same contents, but no luck.

I would also be happy to just default this to dvorak with a command in some init-script of X, but I dont know which command (setxkbmap probably, but I tried it and it does nothing) and i dont know which script.

Would be great if you could help me.

Rgds

Last edited by Schievel on Tue Oct 12, 2021 7:59 am; edited 1 time in total
Schievel
n00b
n00b