Mounting the boot partition!
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
miltoncsl
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Tue Sep 28, 2021 7:10 pm    Post subject: Mounting the boot partition! Reply with quote

Hello,

I'm new to Gentoo and I'm trying to install it on a Mac Mini PowerPC G4 late 2005! I was following the installation wiki (https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Handbook:PPC) but I encountered some difficulties!
First in section 5 [Creating file systems] when formatting the /dev/sda1 partition I get this message:

"Lived ~# mkfs.vfat -F 32 /dev/sda1

WARNING: Number of clusters is 32 bit FAT is less then suggested minimum.
mkfs.vfat: Too few blocks for viable filesystem"

Then, in the Chrooting section [1.5 - Mounting the boot partition] I get this message:

"mount /dev/sda1 /boot

mount: /boot: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/sda1, missing codepage or helper program, or other error."

What should I do to resolve these issues and be able to install Gentoo on my Apple?

Last edited by miltoncsl on Tue Sep 28, 2021 7:29 pm; edited 1 time in total
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman

PostPosted: Tue Sep 28, 2021 10:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You should use fat16 if your partition is small. Seems 32MB is the smallest FAT32 partition possible.
miltoncsl
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Wed Sep 29, 2021 12:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hello eccerr0r,

How do I do this if mac-fdisk doesn't allow me to delete partition 1 (/dev/sda1) in order to recreate it larger! When I try to do this I get the following message:

"Can't delete entry for the map itself"

It's not clear how I can create, format and mount partition 1 (/dev/sda1) for the yaboot installation!
cboldt
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Wed Sep 29, 2021 1:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You're changing filesystem type, a "mkfs" species of command.

See `man mkfs.msdos`