View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
davidbryant
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Sat Sep 18, 2021 5:02 pm    Post subject: Weird problem with KMail Reply with quote

I have been working on KDE documentation for about two years. Recently I started playing around with "kdesrc-build". a script from KDE that allows one to build KDE programs from the master (development) branch at KDE. I suppose it might be used for other branches as well, but I haven't really tried to do that.

The kdesrc-build script builds execcutables in the ~/kde directory, so it's easy to keep the development version of stuff separate from the Gentoo packages I have installed. If I had been smart, I would have also created a second user account. But I didn't do that. So changes to configuration files, etc. that the KDE development version of KMail makes also affect my Gentoo version of KMail.

I had been having some trouble with the development version of Akonadi, the database management interface for KMail et al. I don't know exactly how this happened, but now when I run the Gentoo version od KMail I have two copies of "Local Folders" showing in the folder list. They both point to the same actual physical collection of email messages.

Has anybody ever encountered anything like this before? I can live with the extra set of "phantom" messages. But I'd like to figure out how to make them go away. I suppose if I uninstall all the KDE PIM apps and rebuild akonadi et al. from the ground up I can probably fix it. But I'd like to find an easier method, if possible.

Any suggestions are welcome. Thanks!
djdunn
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Wed Sep 22, 2021 2:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

there's probably a duplicate maildir somewhere