new to gentoo
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
apophysis
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Sep 16, 2021 4:27 pm    Post subject: new to gentoo Reply with quote

Hi all, just wanted to introduce myself to the forums. I'm new to gentoo, but not new to linux. I've used Slackware as my main distro since around 2002 and have used RHEL at work for the past few years, as well as testing out a number of other distros in virtualbox. Since I am finishing up my Master's Degree soon, I expect to finally have the time as well as the ability to contribute to the open source community, which has been a long time personal goal. I recently finished building a Linux From Scratch instance to gain a deeper understanding of Linux as well as knock another longtime goal off the list.

I'm not exactly sure why I've decided to change my main distro. Maybe it is to reignite that initial spark from reformatting my Windows 98 drive and jumping into the unknown. I've wiped Slackware and had arch running for about a week now, but it is not what I thought it would be. I've heard of gentoo before, but after seriously researching it I think it might be the one I'm looking for. The more I read about gentoo, the more I am reminded of why I was interested in linux in the first place. I have arch installed on LVM volumes, so I've allocated some space for gentoo and will attempt to start the build today through a chroot within arch.

I tend to spend hours researching and trying to fix things myself before reaching out for help, so alternatively I'll ask for general words of wisdom here. Is there anything you wish someone told you before you started your journey into gentoo?
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman

PostPosted: Thu Sep 16, 2021 5:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome, apophysis