Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Would a bridge obviate the need for lots of routes? SOLVED
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Fog_Watch
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 Jul 2006
Posts: 267
Location: Utility Muffin Research Kitchen

PostPosted: Fri Aug 20, 2021 11:38 am    Post subject: Would a bridge obviate the need for lots of routes? SOLVED Reply with quote

Hello,

I want to be able to ping B and C from A. C doesn't need to know about B. I know how to do this by putting C on a different subnet. Is there a way to achieve this though with a bridge or something on B so that I don't have to use lots of yucky route statements? Even better, how could I arrange for C to obtain its IP address from A's dhcpd?

Code:
 ,'''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''|
 |                ............                       |
 |                |Computer A|_                      |
 |                `----------' `._                   |
 |             ,-'                `-.                |
 |          ,-'                      `-._            |
 |       ,-'                             `-.         |
 | .....:......                        ,----`------  |
 | |Computer B|                        |Computer D|  |
 | `----+-----'                        `----------'  |
 |      |                                            |
 |      \                                            |
 |       |                                           |
 |       |                                           |
 | ......\.....                                      |
 | |Computer C|                                      |
 | `----------'                                      |
 "---------------------------------------------------'


Last edited by Fog_Watch on Tue Aug 24, 2021 10:28 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
szatox
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 27 Aug 2013
Posts: 3095

PostPosted: Fri Aug 20, 2021 12:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can bridge 2 B's interfaces and it will allow both, B and C to be directly accessed from A and even get addresses from A's DHCP. Bridges are transparent to the traffic, so it is indeed an easy way to configure what you described there.
Note: in this case, B should assign IP address to the bridge interface and not to any of the physical devices.

Alternatively, you can deploy a bunch of routing daemons. E.g. bird. It is in portage, and it can negotiate site-local routes via OSPF. I'm going to try this one in near future, on a slightly more complex network.
Yeah, there will be quite a few routes, but at least they will flock together :lol: reducing the total number of rules to maintain manually.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fog_Watch
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 Jul 2006
Posts: 267
Location: Utility Muffin Research Kitchen

PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2021 4:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks szatox

The following works, including dhcp:
Code:
$ rc-update show | grep -F net.
              net.br0 |      default

Code:
$ egrep -v '^#|^##' /etc/conf.d/net
config_net0="null"
config_net1="null"
bridge_br0="net0 net1"
mac_br0="1c:1b:aa:dd:cc:38"
config_br0="dhcp"
rc_net_br0_provide="net"
bridge_forward_delay_br0=0
bridge_hello_time_br0=1000

Is there a way of transferring this to /etc/dhcpcd.conf thereby not using netifrc?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
szatox
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 27 Aug 2013
Posts: 3095

PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2021 8:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't think so. Dhcpcd and brigde are 2 very different tools covering different aspects of networking.
Your config looks perfectly fine the way it is.


If you want to start dhcpcd as a service instead of as a module from netifrc, I think you could do that by setting null IP on the bridge and adding net.br0 to boot runlevel instead of default, and then dhcpcd to default runlevel.
Depending on how smart dhcpcd is with slaves, this may require masking net0 and net1 in dhcpcd config, in which case it would probably be a better idea to pull net.br0 as a dhcpcd's dependency instead of adding it to boot too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum