Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] monero fails to execute (Illegal instruction)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Anon-E-moose
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 6097
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Sat Aug 14, 2021 8:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sdauth, what intel (core 2) chip do you have?
_________________
PRIME x570-pro, 3700x, 6.1 zen kernel
gcc 13, profile 17.0 (custom bare multilib), openrc, wayland
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 6097
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Sat Aug 14, 2021 8:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
-- Performing Test _maes_cxx
-- Performing Test _maes_cxx - Success
-- Setting CXX flag -maes
-- Performing Test _maes_c
-- Performing Test _maes_c - Success
-- Setting C flag -maes
...
-- AES support explicitly disabled


It does try and see if it's available and claims success, but does honor turning off AES.

I have a feeling the tests, are being done with march=native vs march=core2 and thus they succeed.

Edit to add: I looked to see what debian was doing and they pass these
Code:
-DARCH=default -DNO_AES=ON -DBUILD_TESTS=ON -DPYTHON_EXECUTABLE=/usr/bin/python3


You might set aes like the above and see if it improves things.

Cmake does need to pass -DNO_AES as a define, because it's used inside some of the crypto code to decide what to generate.
_________________
PRIME x570-pro, 3700x, 6.1 zen kernel
gcc 13, profile 17.0 (custom bare multilib), openrc, wayland
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sdauth
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Sep 2018
Posts: 569
Location: Ásgarðr

PostPosted: Sat Aug 14, 2021 9:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anon-E-moose wrote:
sdauth, what intel (core 2) chip do you have?


It's a P8600 clocked at 2.4Ghz, old stuff :o

Anon-E-moose wrote:
I have a feeling the tests, are being done with march=native vs march=core2 and thus they succeed.

Indeed.

Anon-E-moose wrote:
Edit to add: I looked to see what debian was doing and they pass these
Code:
-DARCH=default -DNO_AES=ON -DBUILD_TESTS=ON -DPYTHON_EXECUTABLE=/usr/bin/python3


You might set aes like the above and see if it improves things.

Cmake does need to pass -DNO_AES as a define, because it's used inside some of the crypto code to decide what to generate.


For now, without -DNO_AES, it works. (although, slow af since the blockhain is stored on an old hdd.. maybe it will trigger something.. still sync'ing currently, we'll see if it crashed tomorrow !)
So, debian is using -DNO_AES=ON... Interesting, for all their x86_64 build I assume ? Anyway, it makes sense to add it anyway since after all my P8600 doesn't have aes instruction.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 6097
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Sat Aug 14, 2021 10:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sdauth wrote:
Anon-E-moose wrote:
sdauth, what intel (core 2) chip do you have?


It's a P8600 clocked at 2.4Ghz, old stuff :o


Definitely no AES instruction on that chip.

I did read a comment in that it seems cmake is kind of stupid and if it sees x86_64 it makes lots of assumptions (like aes :roll: )
this was noticed by people building on the x86 pc for the arm arch.

And it will be slow running on that cpu, as the crypto stuff now has to use routines instead of the aes call.
_________________
PRIME x570-pro, 3700x, 6.1 zen kernel
gcc 13, profile 17.0 (custom bare multilib), openrc, wayland
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 9677
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Sat Aug 14, 2021 11:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hope it's not THAT slow, not like you're mining with monero ... isn't it just a wallet?

Building webkit-gtk without SSE2... now there's a speed compromised build...
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K/Radeon R7 250/24GB DDR3/256GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sam_
Developer
Developer


Joined: 14 Aug 2020
Posts: 1678

PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2021 3:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

sdauth wrote:
Anon-E-moose wrote:
sdauth, what intel (core 2) chip do you have?


It's a P8600 clocked at 2.4Ghz, old stuff :o

Anon-E-moose wrote:
I have a feeling the tests, are being done with march=native vs march=core2 and thus they succeed.

Indeed.

Anon-E-moose wrote:
Edit to add: I looked to see what debian was doing and they pass these
Code:
-DARCH=default -DNO_AES=ON -DBUILD_TESTS=ON -DPYTHON_EXECUTABLE=/usr/bin/python3


You might set aes like the above and see if it improves things.

Cmake does need to pass -DNO_AES as a define, because it's used inside some of the crypto code to decide what to generate.


For now, without -DNO_AES, it works. (although, slow af since the blockhain is stored on an old hdd.. maybe it will trigger something.. still sync'ing currently, we'll see if it crashed tomorrow !)
So, debian is using -DNO_AES=ON... Interesting, for all their x86_64 build I assume ? Anyway, it makes sense to add it anyway since after all my P8600 doesn't have aes instruction.


I'd file a bug for the overlay if you haven't already and link to this thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Main Man
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Nov 2014
Posts: 1165
Location: /run/user/1000

PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2021 12:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You're actually mining Monero ?
I thought you just needed this for wallet and such.
Mining Monero isn't worth it, even with the strongest cpu.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sdauth
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Sep 2018
Posts: 569
Location: Ásgarðr

PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2021 1:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eccerr0r wrote:
hope it's not THAT slow, not like you're mining with monero ... isn't it just a wallet?


The Main Man wrote:
You're actually mining Monero ?
I thought you just needed this for wallet and such.
Mining Monero isn't worth it, even with the strongest cpu.


No I'm not mining, it is just the wallet with the whole blockchain stored on a hard drive. But with that 12 years old CPU and 10 years old HDD (@5400rpm :o ).. synchronizing the blockchain is still a gigantic pain (I also have LUKS on top of that lol), even with --block-sync-size 20 passed to the daemon startup flag; so I would not touch any mining stuff at all with that kind of setup.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Main Man
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Nov 2014
Posts: 1165
Location: /run/user/1000

PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2021 1:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I get it, nice :)

I like Monero, my favorite coin.

I actually used the same app (cli) to create wallet, but I compiled it manually, without ebuild.
Tried to mine it for a while with xmr-stak on few machines, even with one core2 , to see how it goes on each, I think it actually worked on core2 but was very slow obviously.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum