[SOLVED] Inaccurate Smart data on SSD
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Troopo
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Sun Jun 13, 2021 10:54 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] Inaccurate Smart data on SSD Reply with quote

Hi,

This is going to sound strange but i have an SSD which i've been using since 2012 and the power on hours in the smart data doesn't make any sense:

Code:

9 Power_On_Hours          0x0032   100   100   001    Old_age   Always       -       34421

It's about 3 years but i've had it close to 10 now so i'm wondering what could cause this data to be erased or lost and how much can i trust the other values.

Any other ideas how to check? or get more info?

The only thing i can think of is i did update the FW version because of a bug they had with it, could that have erased the data?

Last edited by Troopo on Wed Jun 16, 2021 7:04 pm; edited 1 time in total
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman

PostPosted: Sun Jun 13, 2021 11:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This data is apparently corruptible for some drives. One of my SSDs has nearly a million power on hours on it due to corruption. Likewise I've had it for about a decade. SSD still works just fine but it reached well past its "working lifetime" according to onboard SMART. My others are pretty much spot on to how many hours I think they should be.

Really just depends on the firmware and how it deals with corruption if anything at all.
Troopo
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Mon Jun 14, 2021 9:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eccerr0r wrote:
This data is apparently corruptible for some drives. One of my SSDs has nearly a million power on hours on it due to corruption. Likewise I've had it for about a decade. SSD still works just fine but it reached well past its "working lifetime" according to onboard SMART. My others are pretty much spot on to how many hours I think they should be.