View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
lord-devi
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2021 10:35 am    Post subject: 6 Monitor Multihead Display Problems Reply with quote

I've never tried to use this many monitors before, saved up for quite a while and finally have everything I need. I am trying to get a hex display setup going using Xorg+AwesomeWM 4.5~.

The problem I got surprised with and can't figure my way out of, is that each of the 2x video cards I am using to drive these displays (1080 Ti's) is on their own X Screen.

That is to say, it seems each video card is being made by nvidia-settings/xorg to be isolated from one another.

I have 3 monitors plugged into each video card. When I start X, I have 3 monitors with AwesomeWM loaded fine. And then 3 other monitors I can drag my mouse onto, but not interact with.

xrandr, when ran can only see the 3 monitors connected to the screen they are connected to.

My ideal situation would be that all 6 exist under the same AwesomeWM instance. Whether if that is all monitors being on the same Screen0, or some kind of other option I don't know about.

Can anyone help me understand what some of my options might be?

Thanks

Note: The 2 Nvidia 1080 Ti's re NOT bridged together in any form of SLI mode. (Is that a possible solution to my problem? I don't know.) No hardware bridge installed, or nvidia-settings settings set.
Ralphred
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Mon Jun 07, 2021 10:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I haven't used nvidia for a number of years, but for the last few xrandr has been overriding "traditional" xorg settings without very specific diver options.
https://download.nvidia.com/XFree86/Linux-x86_64/460.80/README/configmultxscreens.html documents the "screen" option, which in theory allows you to create an xorg.conf that obeys ServerLayout directives.