Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Dolphin won't work with my Windows system
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
davidbryant
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 Jun 2020
Posts: 137
Location: Canyon Lake, Texas

PostPosted: Sun May 02, 2021 1:39 am    Post subject: Dolphin won't work with my Windows system Reply with quote

This problem seems to be specific to Gentoo. I have multiple Linux distros installed on my hard drive, but only Gentoo has this problem. Also, this problem appears similar to https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-1131120-highlight-dolphin.html, but I don't see where that one solves my problem. Maybe I'm missing something.

If I run Dolphin and try to open the main Windows partition, I receive an error message:
Code:
An error occurred while accessing 'Home', the system responded. The requested operation has failed.
Error mounting /dev/nvme0n1p3 at run/media/OS - wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on
/dev/nvme0n1p3, missing codepage or helper program, or other error.

I can mount the device from a terminal window, and view its contents.
Code:
localhost /run/media/david # mkdir OS
localhost /run/media/david # mount /dev/nvme0n1p3 /run/media/david/OS
localhost /run/media/david # cd OS
localhost /run/media/david/OS # ls -a
 .               dell                      hiberfil.sys   PerfLogs               Recovery                     Users
 ..              dell.sdr                  Intel          ProgramData            Recovery.txt                 Windows
'$Recycle.Bin'  'Documents and Settings'   OneDriveTemp  'Program Files'         swapfile.sys                 Windows.old
'$WinREAgent'    DumpStack.log.tmp         pagefile.sys  'Program Files (x86)'  'System Volume Information'
localhost /run/media/david/OS # cd ..

If I do that, Dolphin changes its tune.
Code:
Could not enter folder /run/media/david/OS.

Still no soap. If I run Dolphin as root (via /bin/su - root && dbus-launch dolphin) I get the same error message about "Error mounting /dev/nvme0n1pr ..." But if I use a terminal window to mount the device at /run/media/david/OS, Dolphin can read the Windows directories. And I can copy files to my home directory, etc. So it looks like the problem is associated with root privileges, somehow. I do have a work around. But it seems odd.

I gathered a lttle more information, following hints in the forum post mentioned above. Here is some output from "blkid".

Code:
localhost /run/media/david # blkid | grep nvme0 | sort
/dev/nvme0n1p1: LABEL="ESP" UUID="78E4-453C" BLOCK_SIZE="512" TYPE="vfat" PARTLABEL="EFI system partition" PARTUUID="faf1f2dc-ebef-40e7-a83d-bf2cd5ed8c8a"
/dev/nvme0n1p2: PARTLABEL="Microsoft reserved partition" PARTUUID="cc62b82f-6ef6-45db-8369-09861fffd3bc"
/dev/nvme0n1p3: LABEL="OS" BLOCK_SIZE="512" UUID="508A1E108A1DF2E8" TYPE="ntfs" PARTLABEL="Basic data partition" PARTUUID="f332aa7e-84b7-434d-abec-1ffe27b6a6fb"
/dev/nvme0n1p4: LABEL="WINRETOOLS" BLOCK_SIZE="512" UUID="AA306FBD306F8F5F" TYPE="ntfs" PARTUUID="cc123a5a-1696-4cdb-b292-b608283d5961"
/dev/nvme0n1p5: LABEL="Image" BLOCK_SIZE="512" UUID="E262BAA062BA793D" TYPE="ntfs" PARTUUID="395d0f4d-bc3c-4278-a941-04904a1e0357"
/dev/nvme0n1p6: LABEL="DELLSUPPORT" BLOCK_SIZE="512" UUID="5CAA2966AA293E40" TYPE="ntfs" PARTUUID="f42c3f7e-c76c-49b7-b2ae-b21bb2c9ede3"

Here are some of my kernel configuration options.

Code:
localhost /run/media/david # grep -i ntfs /usr/src/linux/.config
CONFIG_NTFS_FS=y
# CONFIG_NTFS_DEBUG is not set
CONFIG_NTFS_RW=y

Any suggestions? Thanks!
_________________
David Bryant
Canyon Lake, Texas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alamahant
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 Mar 2019
Posts: 3879

PostPosted: Sun May 02, 2021 9:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi
Code:

emerge -av ntfs3g
mount -t ntfs3g <> <>

_________________
:)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
davidbryant
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 Jun 2020
Posts: 137
Location: Canyon Lake, Texas

PostPosted: Sun May 02, 2021 1:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

alamahant wrote:
Hi
Code:

emerge -av ntfs3g
mount -t ntfs3g <> <>


That fixed it. I didn't need to use the "mount" trick. Thanks!
_________________
David Bryant
Canyon Lake, Texas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum